New Books - Sport Tourism and Management
Stadia Naming Rights in Sport by
This book is an accessible, practical, and systematic guide to stadium naming rights sponsorship within sport, designed to help practitioners and students gain a better understanding of how naming rights work and the benefits that sport and corporate organisations may get from this kind of arrangement. The book explains the key principles underpinning naming rights deals and sports sponsorship in non-specialist language for readers with little prior knowledge of the subject. Drawing on examples and case studies of naming rights sponsorships in international markets, across both professional and amateur sport, the book examines key practical issues such as how naming rights differ from other types of sponsorship, why brands should sign a naming rights deal, and how organisations can maximise their return on naming rights sponsorship. Concise, informative, and practice-focused, this book offers essential insights for all sport management practitioners, for any marketing executives considering sport sponsorship, and for any students or researchers with an interest in sport marketing, sport management, marketing, or events and facilities management.
Publication Date: 2022-05-24
Sport and Tourism: Strategies to Develop Tourist Destinations by
The links between high profile sports events and tourism are increasingly apparent, yet comparatively little attention has been paid to lower profile sports-related travel. Developing this type of travel provides clear economic and social impacts - employment opportunities, investment, development, the foundation of new infrastructure and the improvement and reinforcement of local communities. Sport and Tourismoffers a comprehensive analysis of how and why interorganizational cooperation between sports and tourism occurs to develop tourist destinations. Considering new strategies and crisis management programs, the chapter authors cover a range of sports from football and cycling to winter sports and hiking in countries around the world, such as China, Croatia, Greece, India, Italy, Malaysia, Portugal, UK and Slovakia. In confronting growing concerns around environmental, social and economic issues facing sports and tourism, this collection presents different perspectives to develop new plans for future needs and problems. Sport and Tourism provides an opportunity to stimulate academic research on the relationship between sport and tourism with multidisciplinary approaches. Furthermore, this work encourages discussion among international scholars on how to stimulate cooperation strategies on sport and tourism to develop tourist destinations.
Publication Date: 2023-07-05
Research Handbook on Sport and COVID-19 by
This timely Research Handbook examines sport-related research and analysis pertaining to how the sport industry has been impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic. Taking stock of the changes over the course of the pandemic, it also provides key insights into how the sport industry and its stakeholders might move forward in post-pandemic times. Organized into six parts, the first half of the book explores the areas of sport management, sport communication, and sport marketing, while the final three parts analyze sport events, sport stakeholders, and sport and society. Expert international contributors delve into a wide array of topics related to the sport industry including athletes, clubs, leagues, and brand and sport management to illuminate how the pandemic has influenced these aspects of sport. Offering a comprehensive analysis of how Covid-19 has affected the sport industry, this Research Handbook will be a key resource for business and management scholars and advanced students with a particular interest in sport, health, and well-being. Its use of global case studies will also be beneficial for sport managers and practitioners in this field.
Call Number: GV713.P434 2022
Managing Global Sport Events : Logistics and Coordination by
Managing Global Sport Events: Logistics and Coordination provides a critical look behind the scenes of these large-scale sport events by combining the previously separate but inextricably bound areas of sport, logistics and coordination management.
Publication Date: 2022-10-19
Small Scale Sport Tourism Events and Local Sustainable Development by
This book outlines the impacts of small scale sport tourism events on local sustainable development in different countries. Using half marathons organized in small and medium sized cities as an example, the chapters are robust case studies, applying a unified methodology in order to provide a clear overview of the sport tourism system in each country.
Publication Date: 2021-04-11
Winter Tourism : trends and challenges by
This book is an essential reference for exploring these trends and the different approaches that are employed in the European Alpine region, North America, Scandinavia, and Eastern Europe. It: showcases best case examples and good practice regarding environmental management in ski areas; discusses current trends and adaption strategies in winter tourism, with reference to skiers' preferences; and analyses future challenges for the market.
Call Number: G155.A1 W525 2019
Golf Business and Management: a global introduction by
This book is essential reading for students of any golf-related degree course or professional accreditation program and will also be of interest to those studying or working in sport business, sport management and sport tourism. Underpinned by up-to-date literature, golf researchers will also find the book a useful starting point.
Publication Date: 2017-07-20
Advances in Sports Economics by
The data that professional sport generates, which is almost unparalleled in any other industry, provides a wealth of information for the economist to analyse. Sport offers economists the opportunity to study the behaviour, choices and outcomes of the decisions of players, referees, regulators and governments. Advances in Sports Economics is a collection of newly commissioned essays that examine a wide range of different sports, including baseball, basketball, cricket, football, horse racing, rugby, tennis and Gaelic games. The contributors consider economic issues such as incentives, rule changes, labour markets, competition structure, gambling, gender equality, match official behaviour, superstar players, funding and sports infrastructure as well as interogating the methods and theories used in sports economics. The essays showcase how the application of economic analysis can provide us with a better understanding of the mechanics of professional sport.
Call Number: GV716.A38 2022
Sport Mega-Events, Security and COVID-19 by
This book examines contemporary issues of security at sports mega-events (SMEs). It focuses on the 2020 UEFA European Football Championship (Euro 2020) - subsequently postponed to 2021 - the third biggest SME in the global sporting calendar and a unique multi-city, multi-country event that took place in the eye of the COVID-19 storm. Drawing on stakeholder interviews, policy documents, media sources and existing research, the book explores the constructions, meanings, and perceptions of security in the efforts to secure this football mega-event. It argues that Euro 2020 is a powerful case through which to better understand wider security governance and security-related processes in present-day societies, which are increasingly preoccupied with notions of 'security', 'safety' and 'risk'. It assesses the precautionary logic and transnational knowledge transfer processes that guide security constructions surrounding SMEs in an uncertain and threat-conscious world, and captures the dramatic moments in which COVID-19 transitioned into a security threat with severe impacts on the world of football and well beyond. Sport Mega-Events, Security and COVID-19 advances existing debates in the sociology of football and sport, offering a critical understanding of security and safety in the modern world, and giving an insight into the changing 'new normalities' of security between 9/11 and the COVID-19 pandemic through the lens of global sport. This is a fascinating reading for anybody with a professional or academic interest in sport management, event management, football, security studies, policing, risk and crisis management, the sociology of sport, the sociology of surveillance, or political science.
Publication Date: 2022-04-07
Research Handbook on Gender and Diversity in Sport Management by
This groundbreaking Research Handbook adeptly navigates how gender and diversity are addressed in sport management. Offering insight into practices and processes that work to exclude certain groups and practices, and favour others, it highlights how gendered ways of organizing sport are experienced and may be sustained, disrupted, and challenged. Leading international scholars employ theoretical frameworks to comprehensively set out how individuals or groups engaged in leading and managing sport are situated in the social world and engage in managerial practices. Providing a wealth of conceptual analyses, the authors of the various chapters explore diverse feminist theories, perspectives, and methodologies to expertly examine gender-based marginalization in sport management at local and international levels. Expert contributors reveal how women negotiate and navigate gender and intersecting identity categories in sport organizations. Presenting a wide variety of feminist perspectives on sport management, sport organizations, and coaching, this Research Handbook will prove a valuable resource to researchers and undergraduate and postgraduate students in the fields of sport management and sport sociology. It will also be essential reading for policy makers working in sport organizations.
Call Number: GV 713.R474 2024
