Trade Publications
Trade journals, magazines, and newspapers are excellent sources for the latest business news and trends, and can sometimes be the only source for private company information.
Trade journals in particular focus on one industry and provide in-depth information on trends, new products and other topics of interest to people working in that industry.
Trade Publications in Library Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (1971+) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world
Tips: Select "Trade Journals" under "Source Type".
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Tips: Select "Trade Publication" under "Publication Type".
Trade Publications in Open Web
- Often a Google search with a relevant keyword or two and a term like "association" or "magazine" can turn up some good results.
- A Guide for Industry News and Trade Magazines
Credit to Ms. Robert Tipton, Business Librarian at Rutgers University, who has complied this industry news sources and trade magazine titles guide. The sources and titles are organized by two digit NAICS sector numbers.