In addition to the following books, dissertations, and websites pertaining to Florida film and digital media production, also check the various
databases and indexes for journal articles on the topic.
https://www.orlandoweekly.com/orlando/25-scary-movies-filmed-in-florida-you-should-be-watching-this-fall/Slideshow/30944899
A feature article from the October 25, 2016, edition of Orlando Weekly listing 25 horror flicks shot in the Sunshine State, many of which were filmed wholly or in part in central Florida.
Crime Fiction and Film in the Sunshine State: Florida Noir
Main Library ARC General Collection PS 374 .D4 C74 1997
Includes a chapter on Florida film noir from Key Largo to Body Heat and the first comprehensive bibliography of mysteries set in the state.
The Disney Animation Renaissance: Behind the Glass at the Florida Studio
Main Library New Books NC 1766 .U52 L5456 2023
"Walt Disney Feature Animation Florida opened in Orlando at the dawn of the Disney Renaissance. As a member of the crew, Mary E. Lescher witnessed the small studio's rise and fall during a transformative era in company and movie history. Her in-depth interviews with fellow artists, administrators, and support personnel reveal the human dimension of a technological revolution: the dramatic shift from hand-drawn cel animation to the digital format that eclipsed it in less than a decade" (publisher's description).
Filming Florida: Images of the Sunshine State, 3d ed.
Main Library Florida Documents SS.D2:F45
A list of films produced between 1917 and the 1980s that have been donated to the Florida State Archives. Most were produced by the Florida Development Commission, but also contains features by WFSU-TV, the state highway patrol, the Florida Department of Natural Resources, and a number of individuals and corporations. The print edition, published in 1998, has a detailed index (topic/subject, individual, location) that is not available in the online version.
A 1980 Florida State University dissertation written by Richard Alan Nelson. Includes a comprehensive listing of motion picture production companies active in Florida during the silent years, and a photographic section with representative illustrations documenting early moviemaking in the state. The work (which is based largely on trade accounts, newspaper reports, archival collections, and interviews) also features a detailed bibliography, glossary of terms, and index.
https://myfloridahistory.org/frontiers/television/episode/28
A brief history of filmmaking in Florida from the television program Florida Frontiers, produced by the Florida Historical Society.
Florida on Film: The Essential Guide to Sunshine State Cinema & Locations
Main Library General Collection PN 1993.5 .U73 D65 2007
Lists "...more than 80 films shot in Florida by theme, covering each movie with a plot synopsis, cast and credits list, and a discussion of the filmʼs importance" (publisher's description).
Florida's Filmography
https://filminflorida.com/floridafilmography/
A list of films, television programs, commercials, documentaries, and digital media/video games produced in Florida. The film and television lists are arranged alphabetically by decade. This site is maintained by FloridaCommerce, a state agency.
A 2019 UCF dissertation written by David Morton, adjunct instructor in the Department of History, detailing the history of the film industry in Florida.
Silent Films in St. Augustine
Main Library General Collection PN 1993.5 .U73 G73 2017
Documents the forgotten history of early movie-making in St. Augustine.
Sunshine in the Dark: Florida in the Movies
Main Library General Collection PN 1993.5 .U73 F47 2006
Identifies more than 300 films about Florida — many of them shot on location in the state — to analyze how filmmakers from the Marx Brothers and John Huston to Oliver Stone and Francis Ford Coppola have portrayed the state and its people.