Primo: The UCF Libraries Catalog
Primo Search is the default tab on the Libraries' homepage that allows researchers to locate books, multimedia (e.g., DVDs, CDs, streaming videos), journal titles, and other materials owned by the UCF Libraries.
Simple Search:
- To locate UCF materials only, change on the drop-down menu labeled "Available Now: Online and On Shelf," to "Library Catalog."
- "Everything in Primo" searches the statewide catalog for all Florida publicly-supported university and college libraries (e.g., University of Florida, Florida International University).
- Primo is not recommended as a tool for locating journal articles, as it encompasses roughly only 50% of the UCF Libraries' journal databases; instead, use a subject-specific database to identify journal articles on a topic.
- Use keywords or any words to search for topics. Try using two or three of the most significant words from the topic for which you are searching. A keyword search will find all occurrences of a word in a library catalog or a database. What follows are some examples of keyword searches:
- music wom#n [finds: music AND woman or women, occurrences of all words]
- child* [finds: child, child's, children, children's]
- music theory [finds: both words, with "and" implied between words]
- "music theory" [finds: phrase; must enclose with quotations]
- city OR cities [finds: either word – must type OR in uppercase]
- city NOT cities [finds: city only – must type NOT in uppercase]
Advanced Search:
- To locate UCF materials only, choose the radio button labeled "UCF Library Catalog."
- Allows specification of Title, Author/Creator, Subject, ISBN, ISSN, and Call Number fields which are not available in Simple Search.
- Limiters or filters also may be used, such as Material Type and/or Language to further refine the search. The Material Type filter is especially useful for locating scores, video/film, sound recordings, and government documents.
- Subject searching requires use of Library of Congress Subject Headings. The following headings suggest the range of topics that may be pursued:
- Animation (Cinematography)
- Antisemitism in motion pictures
- Computer animation
- Digital media
- Documentary films
- Film adaptations
- Film noir
- Games and technology
- Homosexuality in motion pictures
- Horror films
- Independent filmmakers
- Monster films
- Motion picture actors and actresses
- Motion picture authorship
- Motion picture industry
- Motion picture music
- Motion picture plays
- Motion picture sequels
- Motion picture studios
- Motion pictures – Production and direction
- Realism in motion pictures
- Simulation games
- Video games
- Violence in motion pictures
- Virtual reality
ARC: Automated Retrieval Center
Over 80% of the UCF Libraries materials (e.g., books, DVDs, Blu-rays) have been transferred into the Automatic Retrieval Center, or ARC for short. The ARC is located behind the Hitt Library and it is not accessible to patrons. All materials in this guide that have been designated "Main Library ARC General Collection" are in the ARC. Therefore, materials located in the ARC need to be requested. Here's an overview of how that process works.
Note in the examples above that every title says "Available at UCF ARC Main..." To initiate a request, click on the title look for the "Sign in to see request options" on the record page. For example:
We can see from this record that the item is in place and available to be requested by clicking the sign in option where you'll enter your NID and your NID password. Once you do that, you'll be directed to a page to complete your request:
The final step is to select a pickup location from the menu:
Then submit your request. Requests placed during hours of operation are generally filled in 15-20 minutes. You'll receive an email notification once your book is ready and it will be held at the location you selected for one week.
For more information about the ARC, see this guide, which includes a video of the ARC in action.
Film and Digital Media Call Numbers
Most materials in the UCF Libraries are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Most titles dealing with film and motion pictures will be found in the PN 1993-1999 ranges. Titles on the topic of digital media production are usually locatetd in the QA 76.76 range, while the social aspects of digital media, gaming, and the like will found in the HM 851 range.
Other Catalogs of Interest
https://books.google.com
Searchable by keyword for the full text of some books, magazines, and newspapers.
A catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world. It is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with millions of records for books, periodicals, and other materials in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge. It includes RLIN (Research Libraries Information Network) catalogs and the Union List of Periodicals.