The following journals are devoted exclusively to film studies. Please note, however, that many other journals not listed here will contain articles about film; thus, the need to consult a
periodical database or
index.
The official magazine of the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC), each issue contains detailed articles on film production.
"...provides the first cohesive international peer-reviewed publishing platform for animation that unites contributions from a wide range of research agendas and creative practice" (publisher's description). Addresses all animation made using all known (and yet to be developed) techniques — from 16th century optical devices to contemporary digital media — revealing its implications on other forms of time-based media expression past, present, and future. Covers animation, film and media studies, cultural studies, critical theory, architecture, art and design, computer sciences, games studies and visual culture.
A double-blind peer-reviewed journal presenting, analyzing, and exploring how animation is created and shown.
Published under the auspices of the Society of Cinema Studies, each quarterly issue features scholarly articles on the history and aesthetics of film.
A peer-reviewed journal that addresses the creative, social, political and pedagogical issues raised by the advent of new media technologies. Topics include: video games, mobile media/content, Internet studies, digital/new media art, virtual reality, new media products, cinema, and gender and technology.
A peer-reviewed journal devoted to the creative arts and digital technologies. It carries articles of interest to those involved in the practical task of making or using software for creative purposes, and involves such disciplines as fine art, graphic design, illustration, photography, printmaking, sculpture, 3D design, product design, textile and fashion design, film making, animation, games design, music, dance, drama, creative writing, poetry, interior design, architecture, and urban design. Also addresses technology-oriented disciplines such as artificial intelligence, computer-supported collaborative work, GPS systems, human-computer interaction, virtual and augmented reality.
Articles cover film history, major U.S. actors and directors, and new mainstream and independent productions.
Film Criticism
Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1993 .F4183 (1989-2013/2014)
An academic journal dealing with the theoretical and aesthetic aspects of cinema.
A journal devoted to avant-garde, independent, and experimental film. Ceased publication in 1996.
Publishes essay-length articles, primarily by European scholars, on cinematographic history.
Film Journal International
Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1993 .F613 (1991+)
An excellent source of industry news, box office data, production updates, and technical information on new technologies.
Film Quarterly
Main Library Microfilm PN 1993 .H457 (1958/1959-1962/1963)
Regularly runs lengthy film reviews and interviews with major figures in the film industry.
Film Review
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .F625 (1973-1976, 1991+)
Britain's longest-running monthly film magazine features detailed coverage of upcoming releases, reviews of new releases, and interviews with people in the industry.
The magazine of independent filmmaking, each issue contains interviews with independent directors, articles on production techniques, and coverage of the independent film festival scene
An international, peer reviewed journal dedicated to theoretical and historical work on the diverse and current trends in media and film scholarship.
http://www.indiewire.com
Another online source for independent filmmaking.
Draws on research from the rapidly developing interface between new technologies and performance arts. Topics include cultural mediatization, live performance with interactive systems, and motion capture technologies, among many others.
"This peer-reviewed journal explores the digital media landscape, with an emphasis on structures, institutions, markets and governance, publishing content ranging from critical work on technology, industry and regulatory convergence, to emerging wider socio-cultural and political questions such as the application of online networks, the rise of cloud computing and the Internet of Things" (publisher's description).
Features scholarship on the history, aesthetics, and criticism of film.
Journal of Gaming and Virtual Worlds (2009+)
Publishes articles related to theoretical and applied, empirical, critical, rhetorical, creative, economic and professional approaches to the study of electronic games across platforms and genres as well as lucid and serious online environments.
Journal of Popular Culture
Main Library ARC General Collection AP 2 .J6 (193/1974-1996/1997)
A peer-reviewed journal that publishes academic essays on all aspects of popular or mass culture. The Journal is the official publication of the Popular Culture Association.
A scholarly journal dealing with U.S. popular movies from a variety of socio-cultural perspectives.
Explores the nature of writing for the moving image in the broadest sense, highlighting current academic thinking around scriptwriting whilst also reflecting on this with an international perspective and outlook" (publisher's description).
Literature Film Quarterly
Main Library Microfilm PN 1995.3 .L57 (1973-1989)
Main Library General Collection PN 1995.3 .L57 (1990+)
Focuses on problems of adapting and transforming fiction and drama into film. It also has covered film genre, theory, and criticism and has featured interviews with screenwriters and directors.
An international journal that provides an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change. Recent articles have addressed such topics as the digital divide, digital storytelling, and teenagers' use of cell phones.
"Publishes peer-reviewed research on the theory, history, aesthetics, and politics of expressive screen culture. Committed to a broad definition of film and television studies, NRFTS welcomes articles on digital, sound, video, and web-based media" (publisher's description).
A monthly publication of the British Film Institute (BFI), with feature articles on new releases, retrospectives of major film directors, and film history.
https://press.etc.cmu.edu/publications/etc-press/journal_series/todigra
According to the publisher's description, "... a quarterly, international, open access, refereed, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to research on and practice in all aspects of games. ToDiGRA captures the wide variety of research within the game studies community combining, for example, humane science with sociology, technology with design, and empirics with theory."
Variety
Main Library Microfilm PN 2000 .V3 (1978-2012)
Contains extensive information on the entertainment business, especially film, television, and theatre. Many reviews of theatre, film, and television.
https://www.awn.com/vfxworld
Animation World Networks' publication dedicated to the diverse fields of visual effects, 3D animation, and computer graphics. Provides targeted, in-depth perspective and insight into these dynamic industries through an entertaining and informative assembly of viewpoints, tutorials, and imagery.
An interdisciplinary scholarly bringing together articles from a range of subjects, including anthropology, communication studies, discourse studies and semiotics, media and cultural studies, sociology, and the disciplines dealing with history, theory and practice of visual design. Includes articles on still and moving images; graphic design and typography; visual phenomena such as fashion, professional vision, posture and interaction; the built and landscaped environment; and the role of the visual in relation to language, music, sound and action.
Wide Angle
Main Library General Collection (1990-1999)
Main Library Microfilm PN 1993 .W48 (1976-1984, 1988-1989)
A quarterly academic journal "devoted to investigating historical questions that illuminate the understanding of film and other media" (publisher's note). Ceased publication in 1999.