Microfilm and Microfiche: 1940-1949

The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.

"In addition to e-text, users may also view original page facsimiles of many of these documents by clicking the View Image button within a document"

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions is an annotated collection of the fundamental instruments recording the historical development of constitutional government in each state in the Union. For example, the Florida section includes the Treaty of Amity (1819); Act of March 3, 1821; territorial acts; and Florida Constitutions, 1838-1968.

• General Collection KF 4530 .S94

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions, Second Series provides a substantial number of additional documents dealing with constitutional development, but not directly or exclusively relevant to a single state, starting with Privileges and Prerogatives granted to Christopher Columbus (1492) and ending with Bakke v. University of California Regents (June 28, 1979).

• General Collection KF 4530 .S942

• Microfilm E 169.1 .A47 (all reels were withdrawn due to damage)
• 643 reels (all reels were withdrawn due to damage)
• 471-page guide -- Reference E 169.1 .A47

American Culture Series, 1493-1875. -- Early American books and pamphlets. ACS I is a single complete unit of about 250 titles arranged in chronological order, 1493-1806, on 26 reels. ACS II consists of more than 5,500 titles arranged in categories repeated in 20 units on reels 27-643. The ACS II units are not chronological; each of the units may contain books or pamphlets published between 1604 and 1951. The ACS II categories include

• Art & Architecture (274 titles)
• History (1,574 titles)
• Literature & Languages (903 titles)
• Music (45 titles)
• Philosophy, Psychology & Religion (472 titles)
• Economics (578 titles)
• Education (135 titles)
• Journalism (58 titles)
• Politics & Law (311 titles)
• Military & Naval History & Science (293 titles)
• Anthropology & Sociology (240 titles)
• Sciences--astronomy, botany, chemistry, geography, geology, mathematics, medicine, physics, & zoology (683 titles).

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and PCMI Library Collection.

• Reference E 173 .A793
• 21 volumes

Provides the history of America through letters, documents, speeches, etc - beginning with a letter home from Columbus in 1493 and ending with part of an article by Scott Buchanan, philosopher, educator, and writer on politics, published in the Center Magazine in 1968.

• Reference E 178.5 .A48
• 7 volumes

"The intent ...is to tell the history of America through pictures made at the time the history was being made."

• Microfiche (call number varies)
• 990 titles on microfiche
• 107-page guide -- F591.W47 Guide

1,012 books and documents, primarily of the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, on the American West.

Search the UCF library catalog by the series title "Western Americana" or by individual titles to identify unique call numbers.

• Microfilm/Microfiche HQ 1121 .G47
• 2 volume guide -- Reference HQ 1121 .G47

International coverage. Includes 4,311 monographs and 265 serials on 17,500 microfiche and 241 reels of microfilm.

• Microfiche AC 1 .P25

Full text reproductions on ultrafiche of works from American civilization, literature, humanities, science & technology, and social sciences. No guide is available, but the individual titles are included in the UCF library catalog.

Browse the UCF library catalog by call number

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and American Culture Series.

Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, including:

• British Foreign Office:
• Japan Correspondence, 1856-1923
• Despatches from U.S. Consuls in China, Siam, Java, Netherlands East Indies, Philippine Islands, Vietnam
• Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Correspondence, 1846-1949 (China, Japan, Korea)
• Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in China (1849-1931) and in Japan (1855-1912)

British Politics & Society, including:

• British Cabinet Papers, 1880-1906
• Home Office Papers & Records, Registered Papers, Disturbances Entry Books, Domestic Entry Books, Post Office Correspondence, Domestic Correspondence from 1773 to 1861
• Papers of
• Charles James Fox, 1749-1806
• Sir Robert Peel (Prime Minister, 1834-5, 1841-5 & 1845-6)
• John Cam Hobhouse, 1809-1869
• Rare Radical & Labour Periodicals of Great Britain
• Working Class Autobiographies
• Whitechapel Murders Papers: Letters Relating to the "Jack the Ripper" Killings

British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture, including:

• British Playbills, 1754-1882
• Drury Lane Theatre Archive; Manuscript Plays & Correspondence
• King's Theatre Haymarket Archive
• Popular Literature in 18th & 19th Century Britain
• Wandering Minstrels Archive
• Royal Philharmonic Society Archive & Music Manuscripts

Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization & Conquest, including:

• Colonial African Newspapers
• Despatches from U.S. Consuls in British Africa, British West Africa, Cape Colony, Cape Verde Islands, Congo, Dakar, Gaboon, Gambia, Liberia, Madagascar, Mozambique, Portuguese Africa, St. Helena, Sierra Leone, The Transvaal, Zanzibar
• International Population Census, Africa
• Personal Narratives & Reminiscences of the Exploration of Africa
• Selected Colonial Office Files, Foreign Office Files, and India Office Files on Africa
• Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912: Africa
• Yale Divinity School Periodicals on Africa

European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection

• 3,250+ works by 1,250+ authors in English (more than 1,000 titles by women)
• 3,658 works in French (more than 500 by women)
• 2,654 works in German

Photography: The World through the Lens, including:

• History of Photography
• Photographs from British Admiralty Office, British Colonial Office, Victoria & Albert Museum, Royal Archives
• British Journal of Photography & Annual, 1854-1914
• Early Rare Photographic Books from the Northwestern Museum of Science & Industry Collection
• Albums from David Octavius Hill & Robert Adamson, 1843-1848
• Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period

Science, Technology & Medicine: 1780-1925, including:

• American Medical Periodicals
• Astronomy & Astrophysics
• Civil Engineering
• Color Theory & Practice
• Electricity & Electromagnetism
• Evolution & the Origin of Species
• Mathematics
• Scientific & Technical Periodicals from the Royal Society of London's Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900

Women: Transnational Networks, including:

• British Birth Control Material at the British Library of Political & Economic Sciences: 1800-1947
• Diaries of Elizabeth Fry, 1797-1845
• Elizabeth Cady Stanton
• Quaker Women's Diaries: 18th-19th Centuries

• General Collection D 2 .A7
• Latest 5 editions in Reference D 2 .A7
• Internet Library of Early Journals provides free online full-text for volumes from 1758-1778

"Contents vary. 19th- and early-20th-century volumes are strong in biographical information in the obituary sections. Recent volumes have few obituary notices. Includes survey articles on the year's developments in the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth, and other countries of the world; international organizations; and chapters on religion, science, law, the arts, economics, etc. Includes some public documents, and many abstracts of political speeches. Gives English affairs with more fullness than those of other countries." [ALA Guide to Reference Books, 11th ed.]

The UCF Library has several microfiche sets providing full text of documents from the U.S. Government, including:

• CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index, 1833-1969
• American Statistics Index (1984+)

See also: Congressional Publications: Finding Aids

• CIS U.S. Serial Set Index / American State Papers, 1789-1969
• CIS Index of Congressional Publications & Legislative Histories (1970+)
• The index for the microfiche is available in ProQuest Congressional
• Online versions

• Microfilm HB 3711 .R42
• 7 reels
• 7-page guide -- Reference HB 3711 .R42

Collection of books and government documents on depressions and monetary situations in the United States

"The Confidential Print comprises diplomatic dispatches and other papers...it is important to note that British diplomats used a wide variety of contemporary sources—newspapers, speeches, government documents, political pamphlets and manifestos, economic statistics, census reports, personal interviews, and formal and informal discussions with the leaders of their host countries—as the factual bases for their dispatches and reports. These sources were not only used and quoted but were frequently translated and included as addenda in the Confidential Print."

• Series A: Russia, Soviet Union & Finland (1859-1950)
• Series C: North America (1837-1950)
• Series D: Latin America (1845-1950)
• Series G: Africa (1848-1950)

Other series not available at UCF:

• Series B: The Near & Middle East
• Series E: Asia
• Series F: Europe
• Series H: The First World War, 1914-1918
• Series I: The Paris Peace Conference of 1919
• Series J: The League of Nations, 1918-1941
• Series K: Economic Affairs, Cultural Propaganda, & the Reform of the Foreign Office, 1910-1939
• Series L: World War II & General
• Series M: International Organizations, Commonwealth Affairs & General

• Microfilm HE 2791 .G775
• 25 reels
• 23-page guide -- Reference HE 2791 .G775

Most of the material is concerned with the period prior to 1923.

• Series A: Board of Directors' minutes and corporate histories
• series B: labor
• series C: settlement and development.

• Microfilm HE 2791 .N587
• Microfilm HE 2791 .N857
• 25 reels
• 22-page guide -- Reference HE 2791 .N587

Most of the material is concerned with the period prior to 1923.

• Series A: Board of Directors' minutes and corporate histories
• series B: labor
• series C: settlement and development.

• Microfilm E 93 .I46
• 136 reels
• 233-page guide -- Reference E 93 .I46

• Microfilm E 51 .U5...
• 42 reels
• 127-page guide -- Refererence E 51 .U5 Guide
• Part 1. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulletins, 1887-1971 (Reels 1-27)
• Part 2. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Annual reports, 1879-1931 (Reels 28-42)

Some volumes are available in the U. S. Congressional Serial Set.

Some print and microfiche volumes are also available in the UCF Library:

• U.S. Documents SI 2.1:
• Special Collections E 51 .U55 (1903/04, 1912/13)
• Microfiche E 51 .U55 (1879/80-1930/31)
• Microfiche AC 1 .P25 no.838-840 ( 1899-1910)

List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology with Index to Authors and Titles -- Reference GN 550 .S58 Guide

Other online sources for the Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology:

• 1879-1930 (Bibliothèque nationale de France)
• 1885/86 (University of Georgia)
• 1897/98 pt.1 (University of Georgia)

• Microfiche LB 1050 .W469
• Guide -- Reference LB 1050 .W469

Provides a retrospective compilation of reading research documents from key journals, books, research reports, and monographs published between 1884 and 1980. The full text documents are available in the UCF Library on microfiche. An author/subject guide is available in the Reference Collection. Author/subject index cards in the drawers preceding the microfiche also provide abstracts.

• 8-page guide-- Reference E 93 .U6773 Guide -- for the three following sets:
  • South Dakota Emergency Relief Administration
    Survey of Indian Reservations, 1935.
    • Microfilm E 78 .S63 S7
    • 3 reels
  • United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Indian Affairs
    Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the United States. 1928-1943
    • Microfilm E 93 .U6773
    • 8 reels
  • United States. Superintendent for the Five Civilized Tribes
    Reports of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes. 1894-1920
    • Microfilm E 78 .I5 U85
    • 3 reels

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.

• Part 1: Minutes of National Conventions, Publications, and President's Office Correspondence
• Part 2: President's Office Files, 1958-1968

The National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, Inc. (NACWC) is the oldest African American secular organization in existence today. The NACWC series provides researchers access for the first time to the records of this crucial social movement. This collection documents the founding of the organization and the role that it has played in the political, economic, and social development of the modern African American community, as well as its involvement in national and international reform movements.

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 2" for online access.

The Arthur W. Mitchell Papers, 1898-1968 comprise a collection of some 73,000 pages within ProQuest History Vault's module Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2. Held by the Chicago History Museum Research Center of the Chicago Historical Society, the correspondence and collected professional papers span a period of 70 years, with particular emphasis on the period 1935-1943 during which Mitchell was the first Black American elected as a Democrat to the U.S. Congress. The collection documents the activities and insights of the Congressman who was a keen chronicler of the changing role of Black Americans in society and on a handful of key civil rights issues, among them: anti-lynching legislation, abolishment of Jim Crow laws that permitted racial segregation in interstate transportation, and increased employment opportunities for Black Americans tied to Franklin Roosevelt's New Deal and the entry of the U.S. into World War II.

• Special Collections -- Rare HX 15 .V35 no....
• Finding Aid

An assemblage of political pamphlets on socialism & communism. Many of the titles may be unique to UCF.

Search the UCF library catalog by series title "van sickle leftist" or by individual titles to identify unique call numbers.

• Microfilm DP 269 .A1718 1987
• 57 reels
• 686-page guide -- Reference DP 269 .A1718 1987

2,225 numbered items from the Herbert Rutledge Southworth pamphlet collection, providing primary materials documenting the Spanish Republican period (1931-1939), the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939), and the post-War era of Franco's rule (1939-1975). The collection's greatest strengths are the Civil War itself and the immediate post-War years of the 1940s.

• Microfilm HN 53 .N375
• 91 reels
• 4-volume guide -- Reference HN 53 .N375
• part 1
• part 2
• part 3
• series A (1913-1940)
• series B (1940-1950)
• part 1 : meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, & special reports, 1909-1950
• part 2 : personal correspondence of selected NAACP officials, 1919-1939
• part 3 : the campaign for educational equality; Legal Department & Central Office records, 1913-1950

Online guides to the following parts not available at UCF are available at the UPA Microform Collection link below:

• part 1 : meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, & special reports
• supplement 1 (1951-1955)
• supplement 2 (1956-1960)
• supplement 3 (1961-1965)
• supplement 4 (1966-1970)
• part 3 : the campaign for educational equality;
• series C (1951-1955) - Legal Department & Central Office records
• series D (1956-1965) - General Office Files
• part 4 : the voting rights campaign, 1916-1965
• (1916-1950)
• supplement 1 (1956-1965)
• part 5 : the campaign against residential segregation, 1914-1965
• (1914-1955)
• supplement 1 (1956-1965)
• part 6 : the Scottsboro Case, 1931-1950
• part 7 : the Anti-Lynching Campaign, 1912-1955
• series A (1912-1953) - Anti-Lynching Investigative Files
• series B (1916-1955) - Anti-Lynching Legislation & Publicity Files
• part 8 : discrimination in the criminal justice system; Legal Department & Central Office records, 1910-1955
• series A (1910-1939)
• series B (1940-1955)
• part 9 : discrimination in the U.S. Armed Forces, 1918-1955
• series A (1918-1955) - General Office Files, Armed Forces Affairs
• series B (1940-1950) - Armed Forces Legal Files
• series C (1940-1950) - the Veterans Affairs Committee
• part 10 : peonage, labor, & the New Deal, 1913-1939
• part 11 : special subject files, 1912-1939
• part 12 : selected branch files, 1913-1939
• series A - The South
• series B - The Northeast
• series C - The Midwest
• series D - The West
• part 13 : the NAACP & labor, 1940-1955
• series A - subject files on labor conditions & employment discrimination
• series B - cooperation with organized labor
• series C - Legal Department files on labor
• supplement (1956-1965)
• part 14 : race relations in the international arena, 1940-1955
• part 15 : segregation & discrimination: complaints & responses, 1940-1955
• series A - Legal Department files
• series B - administrative files
• part 16 : Board of Directors correspondence & committee materials, 1919-1955
• series A (1919-1939)
• series B (1940-1955)
• supplement 1 (1956-1965)
• supplement 2 (1966-1970)
• part 17 : national staff files, 1940-1955 & supplement, 1956-1965
• part 18 : special subjects, 1940-1955
• series A - Legal Department files
• series B - general office files: abolition of government agencies - Jews
• series C - general office files: Justice Department White Supremacy
• part 19 : youth file
• series A (1919-1939)
• series B (1940-1955) - American-Jewish Congress - Motion Picture Project
• series C (1940-1955) - NAACP - Youth Builders
• series D (1956-1965)
• part 20 : white resistance & reprisals, 1956-1965
• part 21 : NAACP relations with the modern civil rights movement
• part 22 : Legal Department administrative files, 1956-1965
• part 23 : Legal Department case files
• series A (1956-1965) - The South
• supplement (1960-1972)
• section 1 - Alabama, Arkansas, & Florida
• section 2 - Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, & Virginia
• section 3 - Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, & Texas
• series B (1956-1965) - The Northeast
• supplement (1960-1972)
• section 1 - Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Main, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania & Rhode Island
• section 2 - New York
• series C (1956-1965) - The Mid & Far West
• supplement (1960-1972)
• section 1 - Ohio
• section 2 - Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, West Virginia, & Wisconsin
• part 24 : special subjects, 1956-1965
• series A - Africa - films
• series B - foreign affairs - leagues & organizations
• series C - life memberships - Zangrando
• part 25 : branch department files
• series A (1941-1955) - regional files & special reports
• series B (1956-1965) - regional files & special reports
• series C - branch newsletters & printed matter
• series D (1956-1965) - branch department general subject files
• part 26 : selected branch files, 1940-1955
• series A - The South
• series B - The Northeast
• series C - The Midwest
• series D - The West
• part 27 : selected branch files, 1956-1965
• series A - The South
• series B - The Northeast
• series C - The Midwest
• series D - The West
• part 28 : special subject files, 1966-1970
• series A - Africa-Poor People's Campaign
• series B - Powell, Adam Clayton-White Supremacy
• part 29 : branch department files
• series A - field staff files, 1965-1972
• series B - branch newsletters, annual branch activities reports & selected branch department subject files, 1966-1972
• series C - branch newsletters & printed matter, 1966-1971
• series D - branch department general subject files, 1966-1970
• part 30 : general office subject files, 1966-1972
• series A - subject files

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records" for online access.

Subject files of Judge William Hastie, Civilian Aide to the Secretary of War.

William Henry Hastie, perhaps best known as the first African American federal trial judge, served the government in many capacities throughout his career. From 1940 to 1943, Judge Hastie served as civilian aide to Secretary of War Henry L. Stimson, specifically tasked to address any issues arising with African Americans in the military.

Subject Files of Judge William Hastie, Civilian Aide to the Secretary of War, chronicles Hastie's duties and daily interactions with African Americans attempting to overcome the systematic discrimination present in the government. The majority of Hastie's files contain personal correspondence from young African American men and their families seeking the opportunity to serve the government and assist the war effort. With the assistance of Truman K. Gibson and James C. Evans, Judge Hastie sought to provide young African American men with equal access to the military. The files show the frustrations associated with continued racial discrimination and segregation in the 1940s but also provide evidence of a growing movement for civil rights.

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.

As an organizer, strategist, and pioneer in the use of Gandhian tactics, Bayard Rustin (1910-1987) was one of the most influential black protest leaders of the twentieth century. Although he deliberately maintained a low profile throughout his fifty years of social activism, his skill at conceiving and planning protest demonstrations and his perceptive analysis of movement trends earned him the respect of wide sectors of the civil rights (and pacifist) movements. Moreover, his role as a behind-the-scenes adviser to both A. Philip Randolph and Martin Luther King Jr., allowed him to help shape the course of the post-World War II civil rights struggle.

In this arrangement there are four separate series of material: (1) Alphabetical Subject File; (2) Chronological Subject File; (3) Articles, Essays, Symposia Remarks, and Speeches; and (4) General Correspondence File.

• Microfilm F 1234 .C6...
• Microfilm F1235 .C6...
• 289 reels
• 10-volume guide
• Internal Affairs, 1940-1963
  • 1940-1944
    • pt 1 guide
    • pt 2 guide
  • 1945-1949
    • pt 1 guide
    • pt 2 guide
  • 1950-1954 guide
  • 1955-1959 guide
  • 1960-1963 guide
• Foreign Affairs, 1950-1963
  • 1950-1954 guide
  • 1955-1959 guide
  • 1960-1963 guide
• subject-numeric files, February 1963-1966, part 1, political, governmental & national defense affairs [not available at UCF] - guide

• Microfilm F 1414.2 .L328 1981
• 10 reels
• 56-page guide -- Reference F 1414.2 .L328 1981

"Latin American coverage contains 369 reports, some as brief as two pages, but including 54 that range upward of 50 pages each. These reports are not contained in the State Department's foreign relations series, the armed forces' official histories, or any subscription service of declassified documents."

• Microfilm HV 8144 .F43 F357 1988
• 4 reels
• 17-page guide -- Reference HV 8144 .F43 F357 1988

"The National Security Electronic Surveillance Card File originated in 1941 as the Symbol Number Sensitive Source Index. Kept at FBI headquarters, this was a card file that indicated next to a "symbol number" the specific source of field reports originating from informers, wiretaps, bugs, mail covers or intercepts, and break-ins.

The FBI has released from the inactive files approximately 700 cards identifying targeted organizations together with the start and end dates of the surveillance. It has deleted the symbol numbers and any geographic locations from the released cards and has not released cards showing individuals as subjects. Thus the absence of a card cannot be interpreted to mean there was no such surveillance of an organization or its officers. There are no cards, for instance, on the Communist Party. But from the cards released, the researcher can trace in other sources the FBI's uses of the information. The cards also serve to suggest the agency's priorities and tactics.

J. Edgar Hoover never intended that historians should see documentation of the FBI's "black bag jobs," as they were called before being renamed "surreptitious entries." But after his death in 1972, his elaborate systems for preserving deniability broke down. Justice Department attorneys in 1975 discovered a large cache of records in the office safe of Thomas Malone, special agent in charge in New York City, who had failed to comply with the director's orders for the destruction of such material every six months.

The Surreptitious Entries File (FBI 62-117166) reproduced here includes the released files of the Malone safe along with the records of the Justice Department inquiries of 1975-1980 that led to the discovery and use of the files in litigation (originally FBI 66-1860). The most prominent subjects of the documents were the Socialist Workers Party and the Weather Underground, both dating from the early 1970s."

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 2" for online access.

• Microfilm E 185.5 .C88
• 25 reels
• 77-page guide -- Reference E 185.5 .C88

"Papers that trace the history of CORE as a local and national organization and document its role in the civil rights struggles of this time period. The period covered most thoroughly is 1959 - 1964. The papers in the main collection are arranged in series according to the offices and departments by which they were designated when sent to the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. Each series is arranged alphabetically by subject and each subject is arranged chronologically. The "Addendum" is a microfilm edition of the CORE papers held at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change, Inc. in Atlanta."

The main collection is 49 reels. UCF only had the 25 reel Addendum, but that microfilm is no longer available. The full collection is available online.

• Congress of Racial Equality Papers...
  • 1941-1967
  • Addendum, 1944-1968
  • Chicago Chapter, 1946-1966
  • Part 1: Western Regional Office, 1962-1965
  • Part 2: Southern Regional Office, 1959-1966
  • Part 3: Scholarship, Educational and Defense Fund for Racial Equality, 1960-1976
    • Series A: Administrative Files
    • Series B: Leadership Development Files
    • Series C: Legal Department Files

• 186 reels
• 138-page guide -- Reference Z 688 .L4 J64 1999 guide

"Predominant throughout are primary sources, with secondary sources consisting mainly of research institutes' working papers and other similar types of scholarship. Strengths include politics, government, socioeconomic conditions, agriculture, solidarity groups, human & civil rights, racial groups, women & gender issues, culture, church & religion, and environment & ecology."

• Caribbean. 1959-1991. 5 reels -- Microfilm F 2183 .C37 1997
• Central America. 1964-1992. 16 reels -- Microfilm F 1436 .C46 1997
• Latin America. 47 reels -- Microfilm F 1414 .L38 1997
• Argentina. 1944-1991. 10 reels -- Microfilm F 2849 .A75 1997
• Chile. 1959-1990. 50 reels -- Microfilm F 3099 .C54 1997
• Cuba. 1956-1994. 24 reels -- Microfilm F 1788 .C8242 1997
• Mexico. 1947-1992. 16 reels -- Microfilm F 1226 .M48 1998
• Peru. 1961-1991. 7 reels -- Microfilm F 3448.2 .P48 1998
• Puerto Rico. 1957-1991. 8 reels -- Microfilm F 1976 .P83 1998
• Venezuela. 1964-1983. 3 reels -- Microfilm F 2321 .V45 1998

• Microfilm DC 398 .C6...
• Microfilm DC 404 .C6...
• 102 reels
• 4-volume guides
  • 1945-1949 Internal Affairs
    • pt 1 guide
    • pt 2 guide
  • 1950-1954 Internal Affairs
    • pt 1 guide
    • pt 2 guide (UCF does not have 1950-1954 pt 2)
  • 1945-1949 Foreign Affairs guide
  • 1950-1954 Foreign Affairs guide
  • 1955-1959 Foreign Affairs guide (UCF does not have 1955-1959)

• Microfilm DS 126.4 .L32
• Microfilm DS 126.5 .L32...
• 55 reels
• 2 volume guides
• (missing reel 10 of 1950-1954 internal affairs)
• online guides [UCF only has microfilm for internal & foreign affairs, 1945-1954]
• Internal & Foreign Affairs, 1945-1949 - guide
• Internal Affairs
• 1950-1954 - guide
• 1955-1959 - guide
• Foreign Affairs
• 1950-1954 - guide
• 1955-1959 - guide
• Internal & Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963 - guide
• subject-numeric files
• 1963-1966, part 1 - political, governmental, & national defense affairs - guide
• 1967-1969, part 1 - guide
• Palestine: United Nations activities, 1945-1949 - guide

• Microfilm F 2849 .C6 1987
• Microfilm F 2849.2 .C6 1987
• 109 reels
• 4-volume guide
  • 1945-1949 Internal Affairs
    • pt 1 guide
    • pt 2 guide
  • 1945-1949 Foreign Affairs guide
  • 1950-1954 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide (UCF does not have 1950-1954 microfilm)
  • 1955-1959 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide

• Microfilm F 1787.5 .C6...
• Microfilm F 1787.5 .C66 1999
• 148 reels
• 5-volume guide
• 1945-1949 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
• 1950-1954 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
• 1955-1959 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
• 1960-Jan. 1963 Internal Affairs guide (paper copy missing)
• 1960-Jan. 1963 Foreign Affairs guide (paper copy missing)
• subject-numeric files, 2/63-1966, part 1 guide [microfilm not available at UCF]

• Microfilm D 557.7 .S783 1991
• 3 reels
• 10-page guide -- Reference D 557.7 .S783 1991
• Vol. 1 - The Enemy
• Vol. 2 - South Vietnam
• Vol. 3 - U.S. foreign policy and Vietnam, 1945-1975
• Vol. 4 - U.S. domestic factors influencing Vietnam war policy making
• Vol. 5 - Planning the war
• Vol. 6 - Conduct of the war
• Vol. 7 - The soldier
• Vol. 8 - Results of the war
• Vol. 9 - Omnibus executive summary

• Microfilm F 1414 .L46 1982
• 5 reels
• 22-page guide -- Reference F 1414 .L46 1982

• 1910-1929, no remaining microfilm reels available -- Microfilm E 183.8 .T8 R436 1961 -- see CD-ROMs
  (reels 78-86 damaged & discarded, Sep 2014; reels 87-88 damaged & discarded, 2023)
• 1930-1944, reels 1-33, 35-36 -- Microfilm DR 590 .R44 1982
  (reel 34 damaged & discarded, 2023)
• 1945-1949, reels 1-6 -- Microfilm DR 590 .R447 1983
  (reels 7-8 damaged & discarded, 2023)

Related online content:

• Reference Microfiche HG 4961 .M7245
• Reference Microfiche HG 4961 .M67

"Published annually and updated weekly through a series of news reports, Moody's® various manuals [currently] provide information on over 25,000 U.S. and non-U.S. corporate entities and over 17,000 municipal and government securities."

• Moody's Analyses of Public Utilities & Industrials (1914-1919)
• Moody's Manual of Industrial Securities (1920-1943) [title varies]

The UCF Library no longer has bound volumes of the various Moody's Manuals from the mid 1940's forward. The name changed from Moody's to Mergent's in 1999. Recent information was also available electronically through the library's subscription to Mergent Online, but the subscription was cancelled due to budget cuts.

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Parts 1 and 2" for online access.

• Microfilm PN 4882.5 .S35
• 54 reels
• 55-page guide -- Reference PN 4882.5 .S35

Barnett founded and directed the Associated Negro Press.

UCF Library has microfilm for part of Series B (1945-1955) and part of Series C (1956-1964). The full collection is available online, including Series A (1928-1944).

• part 2 - Associated Negro Press organizational files, 1920-1966 - guide
• part 3 - subject files on Black Americans, 1918-1967 - guide
  • Series A, Agriculture, 1923-1966
  • Series B, Colleges & Universities, 1918-1966
  • Series C, Economic Conditions, 1918-1966
  • Series D, Entertainers, Artists & Authors, 1928-1965
  • Series E, Medicine, 1927-1965
  • Series F, Military, 1925-1965
  • Series G, Philanthropic & Social Organizations, 1925-1966
  • Series H, Politics & Law, 1920-1966
  • Series I, Race Relations, 1923-1965
  • Series J, Religion, 1924-1966
  • Series K, Claude A. Barnett, Personal & Financial, 1920-1967

Series 2: Africa and Other Foreign Interests, 1925-1966 -- contains approximately 46,000 pages of material on Africa through the perspective of American editor Claude Barnett, the founder of the Associated Negro Press (ANP). The focus of most of the collection material is on political, social, and economic developments in Africa, with an emphasis on the newly gained independence of countries that were former European colonies.

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.

• Microfilm E 185.97 .B34 B3...
• 32 reels
• 2-volume guide -- Reference E 185.97 .B34 B3...
• part 1 - Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, biographical materials, & files on the National Youth Administration and women's organizations, 1918-1955
  • 19 reels (only microfilm reels 14-18 are still available)
  • guide
• Bethune-Cookman College collection, 1922-1955: the administrative records of Mary McLeod Bethune as president of Bethune-Cookman College
  • 13 reels (microfilm is no longer available)
  • guide

Other online guides to materials can be found at the below link to UPA Microform Collection guides.

• part 2 - correspondence files, 1914-1955
• part 3 - subject files, 1939-1955
• part 4 - administration of Bethune-Cookman College & the Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation, 1915-1955

• Microfilm
• 17 reels
• 35-page guide -- Reference HV 8144 .F43 J6 1990

"This file, of which approximately 17,000 pages have been released and are included in this collection (from a 17,700 total), was one of two secret files Hoover maintained in his office. (The other was destroyed soon after his death in 1972.) Hoover's office files contain important policy documents pertaining to wiretapping, bugging, break-ins, and authorizations to investigate subversive activities. Other documents provide insights into the relationship between the FBI director and several Presidents, as well as other prominent Americans. Chronologically, the file is strongest in the 1940s and 1950s."

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.

Series A, Holdings of the Chicago Historical Society

• Part 1: Records of the BSCP, 1925-1969
• Part 2: Records of the Ladies Auxiliary of the BSCP, 1931-1968
• Part 3: Records of the BSCP Relations with the Pullman Company, 1925-1968

• Microfilm E 183.8 .T8 R436 1982
• 2 reels
• no guide

• See separate entries below for Cuba, El Salvador, Honduras, & Nicaragua.

"Diplomatic post records are those kept at the embassies or legations rather than in Washington, as are the State Department's central files. For many countries in the years before 1945, the post records, if they have survived, are the researcher's preferred source. They contain the incoming messages from Washington, retained copies of outgoing dispatches, and--where diplomatic representatives were acting with some independence--much more locally gathered information and background material on decision making."

• Microfilm E 183.8 .C9 C66 1985
• 124 reels
• 2-volume guide -- Reference E 183.8 .C9 C66 1985
• Part 1 (1930-1939)
• Part 2 (1940-1945)

"Cuban post records for 1930-1945 offer extensive documentation of that country during the Depression and World War II. The Sumner Welles mission of 1933 and subsequent diplomatic issues are covered as well as the first administration of Fulgencio Batista."

• Microfilm F 1486 .C6 1984
• 28 reels
• 51-page guide -- Reference F 1486 .C6 1984

"El Salvador during the same troubled years saw the regime of General Maximiliano Hernandez Martinez with his suppression of opposition groups, suspension of many civil liberties, and limited success in agrarian and labor reform before his overthrow in 1944."

• Microfilm F 1506 .C6 1983
• 42 reels
• 62-page guide -- Reference F 1506 .C6 1983

"Honduran post records trace the manner in which General Tiburcio Carias Andino gained the presidency in 1932 after years of unrest and quickly assumed dictatorial powers. There is also material on the supporting role of the United Fruit Company throughout this period."

• Microfilm F 1527 .C66 1984
• 38 reels
• 49-page guide -- Reference F 1527 .C66 1984

"The end of a long occupation by U.S. marines came to Nicaragua in 1933, but in 1937 began the presidential entrenchment of the head of the Guardia Nacional, Anastasio Somoza, who would last until his assassination in 1956. Why and in what ways Somoza benefited from official U.S. backing is well documented in this collection."

• Microfilm F 1566.5 .C6...
• Microfilm F 1566.5 .C7732 1990
• 84 reels
• 4-volume guide
  • 1930-1939 Internal Affairs guide
  • 1930-1939 Foreign Affairs guide
  • 1940-1944 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
  • 1945-1949 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide

• Microfiche HV 5015 .R86

Contains approximately 19,000 full-text documents of the materials abstracted in the Classified Abstract Archive of the Alcohol Literature, the Quarterly Journal of Studies on Alcohol and the Journal of Studies on Alcohol. To identify more recent material, the Alcohol Studies Database contains citations (not full text) of over 80,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987.

The UCF Library has the complete collection:

• sect.A, ca. 1935-1950 (documents 1-5700)
• sect.B, 1951-1965 (documents 5701-11500)
• sect.C, 1966-1976 (documents 11501-16110;340001-371146)

• Microfilm D 757.1 .G47
• 4 reels
• index on reel 1
• 8-page guide -- Reference D 757.1 .G47

"A definitive study of the German Army High Command before and during World War II prepared by a group of former German generals and their staffs under the guidance of the U .S. Army, Historical Division. In individual reports, the generals disclose their roles in the war, from secret mobilization plans of 1938 to Blitzkrieg strikes into Eastern Europe and from internal power struggles with the Wehrmacht High Command to tactical problems caused by Hitler's assumption of military control. All reports have been translated into English."

• Microfilm E 743.5 .U65
• 9 reels
• 8-page guide -- Reference E 743.5 .U65

• U.S. Documents Microfiche AE 2.106/3:

Paper volumes for the current year are available on the US Documents Ready Reference shelves. Title 3, containing Presidential Proclamations & Executive Orders, is available in paper for 1986+.