American Memory Historical Collections (Library of Congress) (1490+)
The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.
History Resource Center: U.S. (1492+)
"In addition to e-text, users may also view original page facsimiles of many of these documents by clicking the View Image button within a document"
Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions (1492-1979)
Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions is an annotated collection of the fundamental instruments recording the historical development of constitutional government in each state in the Union. For example, the Florida section includes the Treaty of Amity (1819); Act of March 3, 1821; territorial acts; and Florida Constitutions, 1838-1968.
- General Collection KF 4530 .S94
Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions, Second Series provides a substantial number of additional documents dealing with constitutional development, but not directly or exclusively relevant to a single state, starting with Privileges and Prerogatives granted to Christopher Columbus (1492) and ending with Bakke v. University of California Regents (June 28, 1979).
- General Collection KF 4530 .S942
American Culture Series (1493-1951)
- American culture series, 1493-1875 : a cumulative guide to the microfilm collection : American culture series I & II, years 1-20:with author, title, subject, and reel number indexesCall Number: UCF Main Reference -- E169.1.A47 1975 Guidech2ck availability
UCF Libraries does not have the 643 reels of microfilm of the American Culture Series. Individual titles from the series may be available in databases such as HathiTrust and Sabin Americana.
- Microfilm E 169.1 .A47 (all reels were withdrawn due to damage)
- 643 reels (all reels were withdrawn due to damage)
- 471-page guide -- Reference E 169.1 .A47
American Culture Series, 1493-1875. -- Early American books and pamphlets. ACS I is a single complete unit of about 250 titles arranged in chronological order, 1493-1806, on 26 reels. ACS II consists of more than 5,500 titles arranged in categories repeated in 20 units on reels 27-643. The ACS II units are not chronological; each of the units may contain books or pamphlets published between 1604 and 1951. The ACS II categories include
- Art & Architecture (274 titles)
- History (1,574 titles)
- Literature & Languages (903 titles)
- Music (45 titles)
- Philosophy, Psychology & Religion (472 titles)
- Economics (578 titles)
- Education (135 titles)
- Journalism (58 titles)
- Politics & Law (311 titles)
- Military & Naval History & Science (293 titles)
- Anthropology & Sociology (240 titles)
- Sciences--astronomy, botany, chemistry, geography, geology, mathematics, medicine, physics, & zoology (683 titles).
See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and PCMI Library Collection.
Annals of America (1493-1968)
- Reference E 173 .A793
- 21 volumes
Provides the history of America through letters, documents, speeches, etc - beginning with a letter home from Columbus in 1493 and ending with part of an article by Scott Buchanan, philosopher, educator, and writer on politics, published in the Center Magazine in 1968.
Album of American History (1493-1982)
- Reference E 178.5 .A48
- 7 volumes
"The intent ...is to tell the history of America through pictures made at the time the history was being made."
Western Americana (1528-1951)
- Microfiche (call number varies)
- 990 titles on microfiche
- 107-page guide -- F591.W47 Guide
1,012 books and documents, primarily of the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, on the American West.
Search the UCF library catalog by the series title "Western Americana" or by individual titles to identify unique call numbers.
- Western Americana : an annotated bibliography to the microfiche collection of 1012 books and documents of the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuryCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- F591 .W47 Guide
PCMI Library Collection (1692-1967)
- Microfiche AC 1 .P25
Full text reproductions on ultrafiche of works from American civilization, literature, humanities, science & technology, and social sciences. No guide is available, but the individual titles are included in the UCF library catalog.
Browse the UCF library catalog by call number
See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and American Culture Series.
Annual Register of world events; a review of the year (1758+)
- General Collection D 2 .A7
- Latest 5 editions in Reference D 2 .A7
- Internet Library of Early Journals provides free online full-text for volumes from 1758-1778
"Contents vary. 19th- and early-20th-century volumes are strong in biographical information in the obituary sections. Recent volumes have few obituary notices. Includes survey articles on the year's developments in the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth, and other countries of the world; international organizations; and chapters on religion, science, law, the arts, economics, etc. Includes some public documents, and many abstracts of political speeches. Gives English affairs with more fullness than those of other countries." [ALA Guide to Reference Books, 11th ed.]
United States Government Publications (1789+)
The UCF Library has several microfiche sets providing full text of documents from the U.S. Government, including:
- CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index, 1833-1969
- American Statistics Index (1984+)
See also: Congressional Publications: Finding Aids
- ProQuest Congressional (1789+) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
access to vast and varied information published by and about Congress, including full text of almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward. - Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides some full text & indexes all types of statistical publications:
- American Statistics Index (ASI) (1974+)
- Statistical Reference Index (SRI) (1980+)
- Index to International Statistics (IIS) (1983+)
American State Papers (1789-1838) and U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817+)
- CIS U.S. Serial Set Index / American State Papers, 1789-1969
- CIS Index of Congressional Publications & Legislative Histories (1970+)
- The index for the microfiche is available in ProQuest Congressional
- Online versions
- ProQuest Congressional (1789+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
access to vast and varied information published by and about Congress, including full text of almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Turkey (1910-1949)
- Turkey: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1802-1949Records of the Department of State Relating to:
- Internal Affairs of Turkey, 1910-1949
- Political Relations Between the United States and Turkey, 1910-1929
- Political Relations Between Turkey and Other States, 1910-1929
Notes from the Turkish Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1867-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in:
- Alexandretta, Turkey, 1896-1906
- Constantinoplee, Turkey, 1820-1906
- Ezerum, Turkey, 1895-1904
- Harput, Turkey, 1895-1906
- Sivas, Turkey, 1886-1906
- Smyrna, Turkey, 1802-1906
- Trebizond, Turkey, 1904-1906
- 1910-1929, no remaining microfilm reels available -- Microfilm E 183.8 .T8 R436 1961 -- see CD-ROMs
(reels 78-86 damaged & discarded, Sep 2014; reels 87-88 damaged & discarded, 2023) - 1930-1944, reels 1-33, 35-36 -- Microfilm DR 590 .R44 1982
(reel 34 damaged & discarded, 2023) - 1945-1949, reels 1-6 -- Microfilm DR 590 .R447 1983
(reels 7-8 damaged & discarded, 2023)
- Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Turkey, 1910-1929Call Number: UCF Main Library CD-ROM Collection -- E 183.8.T8.R436
- Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Turkey, 1930-1944Call Number: UCF Main Library Microfilm -- DR590 .R44 1982ch4ck availability
v.1-33, 35-36 - Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Turkey, 1945-1949Call Number: UCF Main Library Microfilm -- DR590 .R447 1983ch4ck availability
v.1-6
Related online content:
- Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files"This collection of State Department documents provides access to unique primary source materials on the political, economic and social development of Turkey during a period of democratization in the 1950s.
The official image of Turkish society promoted by the ruling elite since the 1920s is one of relative homogeneity. This image has been enshrined in successive constitutions of the republic in which it is stated that "the Turkish state, with its territory and nation, is an indivisible entity." In reality, however, Turkish society is a mosaic of diverse and at times contending ethnic and linguistic groups.
The result of Atatürk's secularist reforms was the creation of two cultures: a secularized and westernized elite culture and a mass culture based on traditional religious values. Prior to 1950, the elite's attitude toward traditional culture tended to be contemptuous in general and specifically hostile toward religious expression. Since 1950, however, the elite generally has become more tolerant of religion, or at least of orthodox Sunni Islam, and various political parties have attempted to conciliate religious interests, albeit within the framework of Atatürk's institutional secularism." - Turkey, Greece, and the Balkan States: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1944"The documents in this collection on Turkey, Greece, and the Balkans are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C. Contained here is the Greco-Turkish Convention signed at Ankara, 10 June 1930. Most of the archive is in French and Turkish.
The historical background to this archive has deep roots in the nineteenth century. It may be framed in the larger context of the "Near Eastern Question," the long decline of the Ottoman Empire, and the rivalries of the Great Powers in the eastern Mediterranean. The Greco–Turkish War of 1897 that began with clashes across the Greco–Turkish border, which at the time ran between Thessaly and Ottoman-held Macedonia, ended in a victory for Turkey. Also part of this history are the First Balkan War and the Second Balkan War, which preceded the outbreak of the Great War of 1914-1918. The Conference at Lausanne of 1923 was one of many peace settlements following the war.
After more than two months of complex negotiations, Turkey and Greece concluded the first phase of the peace conference at Lausanne by signing, on 30 January 1923, the Convention on the Exchange of Greek and Turkish nationals in their respective countries. The signing of this agreement marked a turning point for both nations. With the Exchange, both countries experienced a major transformation in their populations and found themselves confronting a huge issue --a refugee problem of massive size. Nearly one year after the conclusion of the Lausanne Conference and in accordance with the Exchange Convention, some 700,000 people were reduced to refugee status; the agreement also confirmed the refugee status of an additional one million people displaced since the Balkan Wars of 1912-1913. For Greece and Turkey, the decade of 1923-1933 was an era of national reconstruction; and the thousands of homeless refugees were at the center of this reconstruction.
The repercussions of the 1930 Greek-Turkish rapprochement aimed to settle some of the problems that Greece and Turkey had to deal with after the Lausanne Treaty. Against this background the interwar era witnessed the rise of a nationalist state in Turkey, as elsewhere in Eastern Europe." - Greece: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1963This archive focuses on Greece in the Cold War era in the aftermath of the Greek Civil War, which took a heavy toll, in the late 1940s.
- World War II, Occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files"The Axis occupation of Greece during World War II began in April 1941 after the German and Italian invasion of Greece was carried out together with Bulgarian forces. The occupation lasted until the German withdrawal from the mainland in October 1944. The occupation brought about terrible hardships for the Greek civilian population. Over 300,000 civilians died in Athens alone from starvation, tens of thousands more through reprisals; minorities, particularly Jews, were deported to concentration camps; and, in the Bulgarian and German occupied areas, ethnic cleansing attempted to eradicate generations of Greek residents. The country's economy was ruined and the food situation desperate. When liberation came in October 1944, Greece was in a state of crisis, which soon led to the outbreak of civil war. The Greek Civil War was fought from 1946 to 1949 between the pro-Western Greek governmental army and the Communist Democratic Army of Greece. It was the result of a highly polarized struggle between leftists and rightists which started in 1943 and targeted the power vacuum that the German-Italian occupation during World War II had created."
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (1806-1979)
- Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (Cornell University)"The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science."
Recessions, Depressions, and Economic Panics in American History : Collection of Sources (1815-1974)
- Microfilm HB 3711 .R42
- 7 reels
- 7-page guide -- Reference HB 3711 .R42
Collection of books and government documents on depressions and monetary situations in the United States
Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (1825-1980)
- Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (HEARTH) (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window"HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance."
Foreign Relations of the United States (1861+)
- Foreign Relations of the United States (1861+)Call Number: US Documents S 1.1:Online version 1861-1960 (University of Wisconsin)
Online version 1961+ (U.S. State Department) (includes some earlier volumes)
"presents the official documentary historical record of major foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity of the United States Government. The series documents the facts and events that contributed to the formulation of policies and includes evidence of supporting and alternative views to the policy positions ultimately adopted."
This bound set of more than 350 volumes is available in the UCF Library and is still being published, but has a delay in publication of approximately 30-35 years. - Toward "Thorough, Accurate, and Reliable": A History of the Foreign Relations of the United States Series"traces the evolution of the Foreign Relations of the United States documentary history series from its antecedents in the early republic through the implementation of its current mandate, the 1991 Foreign Relations statute. This book traces how policymakers and an expanding array of stakeholders translated values like “security,” “legitimacy,” and “transparency” into practice as they debated how to balance the government’s pursuit of security with its commitment to openness. Determining the “people’s right to know” has fueled lively discussion for over two centuries, and this work provides important, historically informed perspectives valuable to policymakers and engaged citizens as that conversation continues."
Indian Rights Association. Papers, 1868-1968
- Microfilm E 93 .I46
- 136 reels
- 233-page guide -- Reference E 93 .I46
Smithsonian Publications Relating to the North American Indian (1879-1971)
- Microfilm E 51 .U5...
- 42 reels
- 127-page guide -- Refererence E 51 .U5 Guide
- Part 1. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulletins, 1887-1971 (Reels 1-27)
- Part 2. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Annual reports, 1879-1931 (Reels 28-42)
Some volumes are available in the U. S. Congressional Serial Set.
Some print and microfiche volumes are also available in the UCF Library:
- U.S. Documents SI 2.1:
- Special Collections E 51 .U55 (1903/04, 1912/13)
- Microfiche E 51 .U55 (1879/80-1930/31)
- Microfiche AC 1 .P25 no.838-840 ( 1899-1910)
List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology with Index to Authors and Titles -- Reference GN 550 .S58 Guide
Other online sources for the Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology:
- 1879-1930 (Bibliothèque nationale de France)
- 1885/86 (University of Georgia)
- 1897/98 pt.1 (University of Georgia)
William S. Gray Research Collection in Reading (1884-1980)
- Microfiche LB 1050 .W469
- Guide -- Reference LB 1050 .W469
Provides a retrospective compilation of reading research documents from key journals, books, research reports, and monographs published between 1884 and 1980. The full text documents are available in the UCF Library on microfiche. An author/subject guide is available in the Reference Collection. Author/subject index cards in the drawers preceding the microfiche also provide abstracts.
- William S. Gray research collection in reading. IndexCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- LB1050 .W469 Guide
Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.
- Part 1: Minutes of National Conventions, Publications, and President's Office Correspondence
- Part 2: President's Office Files, 1958-1968
The National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, Inc. (NACWC) is the oldest African American secular organization in existence today. The NACWC series provides researchers access for the first time to the records of this crucial social movement. This collection documents the founding of the organization and the role that it has played in the political, economic, and social development of the modern African American community, as well as its involvement in national and international reform movements.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arthur W. Mitchell Papers, 1898-1968
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 2" for online access.
The Arthur W. Mitchell Papers, 1898-1968 comprise a collection of some 73,000 pages within ProQuest History Vault's module Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2. Held by the Chicago History Museum Research Center of the Chicago Historical Society, the correspondence and collected professional papers span a period of 70 years, with particular emphasis on the period 1935-1943 during which Mitchell was the first Black American elected as a Democrat to the U.S. Congress. The collection documents the activities and insights of the Congressman who was a keen chronicler of the changing role of Black Americans in society and on a handful of key civil rights issues, among them: anti-lynching legislation, abolishment of Jim Crow laws that permitted racial segregation in interstate transportation, and increased employment opportunities for Black Americans tied to Franklin Roosevelt's New Deal and the entry of the U.S. into World War II.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Van Sickle Leftist Pamphlet Collection (1900-1993)
- Special Collections -- Rare HX 15 .V35 no....
- Finding Aid
An assemblage of political pamphlets on socialism & communism. Many of the titles may be unique to UCF.
Search the UCF library catalog by series title "van sickle leftist" or by individual titles to identify unique call numbers.
The Spanish Civil War Collection (1902-1981)
- Microfilm DP 269 .A1718 1987
- 57 reels
- 686-page guide -- Reference DP 269 .A1718 1987
2,225 numbered items from the Herbert Rutledge Southworth pamphlet collection, providing primary materials documenting the Spanish Republican period (1931-1939), the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939), and the post-War era of Franco's rule (1939-1975). The collection's greatest strengths are the Civil War itself and the immediate post-War years of the 1940s.
Papers of the NAACP (1909-1950)
- Microfilm HN 53 .N375
- 91 reels
- 4-volume guide -- Reference HN 53 .N375
- part 1 : meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, & special reports, 1909-1950
- part 2 : personal correspondence of selected NAACP officials, 1919-1939
- part 3 : the campaign for educational equality; Legal Department & Central Office records, 1913-1950
Online guides to the following parts not available at UCF are available at the UPA Microform Collection link below:
- part 1 : meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, & special reports
- supplement 1 (1951-1955)
- supplement 2 (1956-1960)
- supplement 3 (1961-1965)
- supplement 4 (1966-1970)
- part 3 : the campaign for educational equality;
- series C (1951-1955) - Legal Department & Central Office records
- series D (1956-1965) - General Office Files
- part 4 : the voting rights campaign, 1916-1965
- (1916-1950)
- supplement 1 (1956-1965)
- part 5 : the campaign against residential segregation, 1914-1965
- (1914-1955)
- supplement 1 (1956-1965)
- part 6 : the Scottsboro Case, 1931-1950
- part 7 : the Anti-Lynching Campaign, 1912-1955
- series A (1912-1953) - Anti-Lynching Investigative Files
- series B (1916-1955) - Anti-Lynching Legislation & Publicity Files
- part 8 : discrimination in the criminal justice system; Legal Department & Central Office records, 1910-1955
- series A (1910-1939)
- series B (1940-1955)
- part 9 : discrimination in the U.S. Armed Forces, 1918-1955
- series A (1918-1955) - General Office Files, Armed Forces Affairs
- series B (1940-1950) - Armed Forces Legal Files
- series C (1940-1950) - the Veterans Affairs Committee
- part 10 : peonage, labor, & the New Deal, 1913-1939
- part 11 : special subject files, 1912-1939
- part 12 : selected branch files, 1913-1939
- series A - The South
- series B - The Northeast
- series C - The Midwest
- series D - The West
- part 13 : the NAACP & labor, 1940-1955
- series A - subject files on labor conditions & employment discrimination
- series B - cooperation with organized labor
- series C - Legal Department files on labor
- supplement (1956-1965)
- part 14 : race relations in the international arena, 1940-1955
- part 15 : segregation & discrimination: complaints & responses, 1940-1955
- series A - Legal Department files
- series B - administrative files
- part 16 : Board of Directors correspondence & committee materials, 1919-1955
- series A (1919-1939)
- series B (1940-1955)
- supplement 1 (1956-1965)
- supplement 2 (1966-1970)
- part 17 : national staff files, 1940-1955 & supplement, 1956-1965
- part 18 : special subjects, 1940-1955
- series A - Legal Department files
- series B - general office files: abolition of government agencies - Jews
- series C - general office files: Justice Department White Supremacy
- part 19 : youth file
- series A (1919-1939)
- series B (1940-1955) - American-Jewish Congress - Motion Picture Project
- series C (1940-1955) - NAACP - Youth Builders
- series D (1956-1965)
- part 20 : white resistance & reprisals, 1956-1965
- part 21 : NAACP relations with the modern civil rights movement
- part 22 : Legal Department administrative files, 1956-1965
- part 23 : Legal Department case files
- series A (1956-1965) - The South
- supplement (1960-1972)
- section 1 - Alabama, Arkansas, & Florida
- section 2 - Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, & Virginia
- section 3 - Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, & Texas
- series B (1956-1965) - The Northeast
- supplement (1960-1972)
- section 1 - Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Main, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania & Rhode Island
- section 2 - New York
- series C (1956-1965) - The Mid & Far West
- supplement (1960-1972)
- section 1 - Ohio
- section 2 - Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, West Virginia, & Wisconsin
- part 24 : special subjects, 1956-1965
- series A - Africa - films
- series B - foreign affairs - leagues & organizations
- series C - life memberships - Zangrando
- part 25 : branch department files
- series A (1941-1955) - regional files & special reports
- series B (1956-1965) - regional files & special reports
- series C - branch newsletters & printed matter
- series D (1956-1965) - branch department general subject files
- part 26 : selected branch files, 1940-1955
- series A - The South
- series B - The Northeast
- series C - The Midwest
- series D - The West
- part 27 : selected branch files, 1956-1965
- series A - The South
- series B - The Northeast
- series C - The Midwest
- series D - The West
- part 28 : special subject files, 1966-1970
- series A - Africa-Poor People's Campaign
- series B - Powell, Adam Clayton-White Supremacy
- part 29 : branch department files
- series A - field staff files, 1965-1972
- series B - branch newsletters, annual branch activities reports & selected branch department subject files, 1966-1972
- series C - branch newsletters & printed matter, 1966-1971
- series D - branch department general subject files, 1966-1970
- part 30 : general office subject files, 1966-1972
- series A - subject files
- UPA Microform Collection Guides (ProQuest)online versions of the printed guides to the microfilm
Moody's Manuals on Microfiche (1914+)
- Reference Microfiche HG 4961 .M7245
- Reference Microfiche HG 4961 .M67
"Published annually and updated weekly through a series of news reports, Moody's® various manuals [currently] provide information on over 25,000 U.S. and non-U.S. corporate entities and over 17,000 municipal and government securities."
- Moody's Analyses of Public Utilities & Industrials (1914-1919)
- Moody's Manual of Industrial Securities (1920-1943) [title varies]
The UCF Library no longer has bound volumes of the various Moody's Manuals from the mid 1940's forward. The name changed from Moody's to Mergent's in 1999. Recent information was also available electronically through the library's subscription to Mergent Online, but the subscription was cancelled due to budget cuts.
Claude A. Barnett Papers, 1918-1967
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Parts 1 and 2" for online access.
- Microfilm PN 4882.5 .S35
- 54 reels
- 55-page guide -- Reference PN 4882.5 .S35
Barnett founded and directed the Associated Negro Press.
UCF Library has microfilm for part of Series B (1945-1955) and part of Series C (1956-1964). The full collection is available online, including Series A (1928-1944).
- part 2 - Associated Negro Press organizational files, 1920-1966 - guide
- part 3 - subject files on Black Americans, 1918-1967 - guide
- Series A, Agriculture, 1923-1966
- Series B, Colleges & Universities, 1918-1966
- Series C, Economic Conditions, 1918-1966
- Series D, Entertainers, Artists & Authors, 1928-1965
- Series E, Medicine, 1927-1965
- Series F, Military, 1925-1965
- Series G, Philanthropic & Social Organizations, 1925-1966
- Series H, Politics & Law, 1920-1966
- Series I, Race Relations, 1923-1965
- Series J, Religion, 1924-1966
- Series K, Claude A. Barnett, Personal & Financial, 1920-1967
Series 2: Africa and Other Foreign Interests, 1925-1966 -- contains approximately 46,000 pages of material on Africa through the perspective of American editor Claude Barnett, the founder of the Associated Negro Press (ANP). The focus of most of the collection material is on political, social, and economic developments in Africa, with an emphasis on the newly gained independence of countries that were former European colonies.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mary McLeod Bethune Papers (1918-1955)
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.
- Microfilm E 185.97 .B34 B3...
- 32 reels
- 2-volume guide -- Reference E 185.97 .B34 B3...
- part 1 - Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, biographical materials, & files on the National Youth Administration and women's organizations, 1918-1955
- 19 reels (only microfilm reels 14-18 are still available)
- guide
- Bethune-Cookman College collection, 1922-1955: the administrative records of Mary McLeod Bethune as president of Bethune-Cookman College
- 13 reels (microfilm is no longer available)
- guide
Other online guides to materials can be found at the below link to UPA Microform Collection guides.
- part 2 - correspondence files, 1914-1955
- part 3 - subject files, 1939-1955
- part 4 - administration of Bethune-Cookman College & the Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation, 1915-1955
- UPA Microform Collection Guides (ProQuest)online versions of the printed guides to the microfilm
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The United States & Castro's Cuba, 1950-1970, the Paterson Collection (1950-1970)
- Microfilm E 183.8 .C9 U55 1998
- 22 reels
- 9-page guide on reel 1
Records of the American Committee on Africa, 1952-1985
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.
- Part 1: ACOA Executive Committee Minutes and National Office Memoranda, 1952-1975
- Part 2: Correspondence and Subject Files on South Africa, 1952-1985
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Civil Rights during the Eisenhower Administration, 1953-1961
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records" for online access.
The emphasis of the collection is on the desegregation of public schools, especially in the South after the Supreme Court's Brown v. Board of Education decision of May 17, 1954. The collection, however, contains substantial material on other realms of racial discrimination, including the segregation of restaurants and other public facilities, sit-ins by students protesting this policy, the Montgomery, Alabama, bus boycott started by Rosa Parks and championed by Martin Luther King Jr. in 1955, discrimination in employment (including federal civilian departments and the armed services), discrimination in housing, and acts of violence against black citizens. The collection also contains documents on discrimination affecting other groups, including Indians, Jews, and Asians, as well as documentation of the efforts by states and localities to obtain federal funding for greatly needed school facilities construction.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The John F. Kennedy 1960 Campaign (1953-1960)
- Microfilm E 837.7 .J641
- 22 reels
- part 1 - polls, issues & strategy - 39-page guide
- part 2 - speeches, press conferences, & debates - 79-page guide
FBI File: Malcolm X (1953-1980)
- Microfilm E 185.97 .L5 F23 1996
- 10 reels
- 36-page guide -- Reference E 185.97 .L5 F23 1996
Excerpts from the files are also available in the book, Malcolm X: The FBI File, by Clayborne Carson [BP223.Z8.L5794 1991]
Artificial Intelligence Technical Reports (1954-1985)
- Microfiche Q 334.5...
- Index Q 334.5...
Report (Carnegie-Mellon University) -- UCF holdings
Memo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Artificial Intelligence Laboratory) -- UCF holdings
Artificial intelligence technical reports : Yale University, 1975-1985 -- UCF holdings
Artificial intelligence technical reports. Knowledge Systems Laboratory, Stanford University -- UCF holdings
Civil Rights Movement and the Federal Government, 1954-1973
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records" for online access.
- Records of the Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division, 1958-1973
- Records of the Interstate Commerce Commission on Discrimination in Transportation, 1961-1970
- Records of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
- Police-Community Relations in Urban Areas, 1954-1966
- School Desegregation in the South, 1965-1966
- Special Projects, 1960-1970
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.
Part 1: Records of the President's Office -- Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. served as president of the SCLC from its founding in 1957 until his assassination in April 1968. This edition consists of the President's Office records during Dr. King's tenure as well as a small number of public statements made by him between 1954 and 1957. The President's Office File consists of two series of records: Series I, Correspondence, 1958-1968 and Series II, Manuscripts and Appointment Calendars, 1954-1969.
Part 2: Records of the Executive Director and Treasurer -- Between 1957 and 1970 the SCLC had five executive directors. The records of four of these are preserved in the SCLC collection: John L. Tilley (1957-1959), Ella J. Baker (1958-1960), Wyatt T. Walker (1960-1964), and Andrew Young (1965-1967).
Part 3: Records of the Public Relations Department -- provide a good overview of the entire SCLC history from about 1960 when the department was established to disseminate information on Dr. King and the organization. Regular press releases and newsletters document all of the major episodes of the SCLC up through 1966. The records also provide much pertinent biographical material on King, including documentation of the mass media's growing interest in the SCLC leader. In addition, the Public Relations Department files hold an incomplete set of records of SCLC annual conventions and board of directors meetings dating from 1959.
Part 4: Records of the Program Department -- offer some of the most outstanding research opportunities in the SCLC collection. They include a wealth of primary material from the front lines of the civil rights movement, including field reports, survey materials, and correspondence.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Centers of the Southern Struggle, FBI Files, 1955-1976
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records" for online access.
FBI Files on Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis.
The available FBI locale-oriented files, especially locales that were not the sites of FBI field offices (e.g., Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, and Selma), quickly reveal the extent to which FBI awareness of and interest in black activism was almost totally reactive in the South of the 1950s and 1960s. The FBI reaction was frequently to the onset of visible public action or appeals for change in the form of protest marches or demonstrations against racially discriminatory municipal officials and agencies.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972
- Microfilm E 185.61 .S916 1981 (no longer available)
- 73 reels
- 132-page guide -- Reference E 185.61 .S916 1981
"Microfilm edition of the papers of the SNCC in the Library and Archives of the Martin Luther King, Jr., Center for Nonviolent Change, Atlanta, Ga."
The microfilm is no longer available. See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 2" for online access.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
continuation of earlier material from left column
FBI Confidential Files: J. Edgar Hoover Official & Confidential File (1921-1974)
- Microfilm
- 17 reels
- 35-page guide -- Reference HV 8144 .F43 J6 1990
"This file, of which approximately 17,000 pages have been released and are included in this collection (from a 17,700 total), was one of two secret files Hoover maintained in his office. (The other was destroyed soon after his death in 1972.) Hoover's office files contain important policy documents pertaining to wiretapping, bugging, break-ins, and authorizations to investigate subversive activities. Other documents provide insights into the relationship between the FBI director and several Presidents, as well as other prominent Americans. Chronologically, the file is strongest in the 1940s and 1950s."
Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, 1925-1969
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.
Series A, Holdings of the Chicago Historical Society
- Part 1: Records of the BSCP, 1925-1969
- Part 2: Records of the Ladies Auxiliary of the BSCP, 1931-1968
- Part 3: Records of the BSCP Relations with the Pullman Company, 1925-1968
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies. Raymond G. McCarthy Memorial Collection of the Alcohol Literature (1935-1976)
- Microfiche HV 5015 .R86
Contains approximately 19,000 full-text documents of the materials abstracted in the Classified Abstract Archive of the Alcohol Literature, the Quarterly Journal of Studies on Alcohol and the Journal of Studies on Alcohol. To identify more recent material, the Alcohol Studies Database contains citations (not full text) of over 80,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987.
The UCF Library has the complete collection:
- sect.A, ca. 1935-1950 (documents 1-5700)
- sect.B, 1951-1965 (documents 5701-11500)
- sect.C, 1966-1976 (documents 11501-16110;340001-371146)
FBI File on the House Committee on Un-American Activities (1938-1978)
- Microfilm E 743.5 .U65
- 9 reels
- 8-page guide -- Reference E 743.5 .U65
Code of Federal Regulations (1938+)
- U.S. Documents Microfiche AE 2.106/3:
Paper volumes for the current year are available on the US Documents Ready Reference shelves. Title 3, containing Presidential Proclamations & Executive Orders, is available in paper for 1986+.
Bayard Rustin Papers, 1940-1987
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.
As an organizer, strategist, and pioneer in the use of Gandhian tactics, Bayard Rustin (1910-1987) was one of the most influential black protest leaders of the twentieth century. Although he deliberately maintained a low profile throughout his fifty years of social activism, his skill at conceiving and planning protest demonstrations and his perceptive analysis of movement trends earned him the respect of wide sectors of the civil rights (and pacifist) movements. Moreover, his role as a behind-the-scenes adviser to both A. Philip Randolph and Martin Luther King Jr., allowed him to help shape the course of the post-World War II civil rights struggle.
In this arrangement there are four separate series of material: (1) Alphabetical Subject File; (2) Chronological Subject File; (3) Articles, Essays, Symposia Remarks, and Speeches; and (4) General Correspondence File.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1940-1963)
- Microfilm F 1234 .C6...
- Microfilm F1235 .C6...
- 289 reels
- 10-volume guide
- Internal Affairs, 1940-1963
- Foreign Affairs, 1950-1963
- subject-numeric files, February 1963-1966, part 1, political, governmental & national defense affairs [not available at UCF] - guide
OSS State Department Intelligence & Research Reports, Latin America (1941-1961)
- Microfilm F 1414.2 .L328 1981
- 10 reels
- 56-page guide -- Reference F 1414.2 .L328 1981
"Latin American coverage contains 369 reports, some as brief as two pages, but including 54 that range upward of 50 pages each. These reports are not contained in the State Department's foreign relations series, the armed forces' official histories, or any subscription service of declassified documents."
FBI Wiretaps, Bugs & Break-ins Microform: The National Security Electronic Surveillance Card File & the Surreptitious Entries File (1941-1980)
- Microfilm HV 8144 .F43 F357 1988
- 4 reels
- 17-page guide -- Reference HV 8144 .F43 F357 1988
"The National Security Electronic Surveillance Card File originated in 1941 as the Symbol Number Sensitive Source Index. Kept at FBI headquarters, this was a card file that indicated next to a "symbol number" the specific source of field reports originating from informers, wiretaps, bugs, mail covers or intercepts, and break-ins.
The FBI has released from the inactive files approximately 700 cards identifying targeted organizations together with the start and end dates of the surveillance. It has deleted the symbol numbers and any geographic locations from the released cards and has not released cards showing individuals as subjects. Thus the absence of a card cannot be interpreted to mean there was no such surveillance of an organization or its officers. There are no cards, for instance, on the Communist Party. But from the cards released, the researcher can trace in other sources the FBI's uses of the information. The cards also serve to suggest the agency's priorities and tactics.
J. Edgar Hoover never intended that historians should see documentation of the FBI's "black bag jobs," as they were called before being renamed "surreptitious entries." But after his death in 1972, his elaborate systems for preserving deniability broke down. Justice Department attorneys in 1975 discovered a large cache of records in the office safe of Thomas Malone, special agent in charge in New York City, who had failed to comply with the director's orders for the destruction of such material every six months.
The Surreptitious Entries File (FBI 62-117166) reproduced here includes the released files of the Malone safe along with the records of the Justice Department inquiries of 1975-1980 that led to the discovery and use of the files in litigation (originally FBI 66-1860). The most prominent subjects of the documents were the Socialist Workers Party and the Weather Underground, both dating from the early 1970s."
The Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality (1941-1976)
See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 2" for online access.
- Microfilm E 185.5 .C88
- 25 reels
- 77-page guide -- Reference E 185.5 .C88
"Papers that trace the history of CORE as a local and national organization and document its role in the civil rights struggles of this time period. The period covered most thoroughly is 1959 - 1964. The papers in the main collection are arranged in series according to the offices and departments by which they were designated when sent to the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. Each series is arranged alphabetically by subject and each subject is arranged chronologically. The "Addendum" is a microfilm edition of the CORE papers held at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change, Inc. in Atlanta."
The main collection is 49 reels. UCF only had the 25 reel Addendum, but that microfilm is no longer available. The full collection is available online.
- Congress of Racial Equality Papers...
- 1941-1967
- Addendum, 1944-1968
- Chicago Chapter, 1946-1966
- Part 1: Western Regional Office, 1962-1965
- Part 2: Southern Regional Office, 1959-1966
- Part 3: Scholarship, Educational and Defense Fund for Racial Equality, 1960-1976
- Series A: Administrative Files
- Series B: Leadership Development Files
- Series C: Legal Department Files
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana (1944-1994)
- 186 reels
- 138-page guide -- Reference Z 688 .L4 J64 1999 guide
"Predominant throughout are primary sources, with secondary sources consisting mainly of research institutes' working papers and other similar types of scholarship. Strengths include politics, government, socioeconomic conditions, agriculture, solidarity groups, human & civil rights, racial groups, women & gender issues, culture, church & religion, and environment & ecology."
- Caribbean. 1959-1991. 5 reels -- Microfilm F 2183 .C37 1997
- Central America. 1964-1992. 16 reels -- Microfilm F 1436 .C46 1997
- Latin America. 47 reels -- Microfilm F 1414 .L38 1997
- Argentina. 1944-1991. 10 reels -- Microfilm F 2849 .A75 1997
- Chile. 1959-1990. 50 reels -- Microfilm F 3099 .C54 1997
- Cuba. 1956-1994. 24 reels -- Microfilm F 1788 .C8242 1997
- Mexico. 1947-1992. 16 reels -- Microfilm F 1226 .M48 1998
- Peru. 1961-1991. 7 reels -- Microfilm F 3448.2 .P48 1998
- Puerto Rico. 1957-1991. 8 reels -- Microfilm F 1976 .P83 1998
- Venezuela. 1964-1983. 3 reels -- Microfilm F 2321 .V45 1998
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, France, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1945-1954)
- Microfilm DC 398 .C6...
- Microfilm DC 404 .C6...
- 102 reels
- 4-volume guides
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Palestine & Israel, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1945-1954)
- Microfilm DS 126.4 .L32
- Microfilm DS 126.5 .L32...
- 55 reels
- 2 volume guides
- (missing reel 10 of 1950-1954 internal affairs)
- online guides [UCF only has microfilm for internal & foreign affairs, 1945-1954]
- Internal & Foreign Affairs, 1945-1949 - guide
- Internal Affairs
- Foreign Affairs
- Internal & Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963 - guide
- subject-numeric files
- 1963-1966, part 1 - political, governmental, & national defense affairs - guide
- 1967-1969, part 1 - guide
- Palestine: United Nations activities, 1945-1949 - guide
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Argentina, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1945-1949, 1955-1959)
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Cuba, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1945-1963)
- Microfilm F 1787.5 .C6...
- Microfilm F 1787.5 .C66 1999
- 148 reels
- 5-volume guide
- 1945-1949 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
- 1950-1954 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
- 1955-1959 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
- 1960-Jan. 1963 Internal Affairs guide (paper copy missing)
- 1960-Jan. 1963 Foreign Affairs guide (paper copy missing)
- subject-numeric files, 2/63-1966, part 1 guide [microfilm not available at UCF]
A Study of Strategic Lessons Learned in Vietnam, 1945-1975
- Microfilm D 557.7 .S783 1991
- 3 reels
- 10-page guide -- Reference D 557.7 .S783 1991
- Vol. 1 - The Enemy
- Vol. 2 - South Vietnam
- Vol. 3 - U.S. foreign policy and Vietnam, 1945-1975
- Vol. 4 - U.S. domestic factors influencing Vietnam war policy making
- Vol. 5 - Planning the war
- Vol. 6 - Conduct of the war
- Vol. 7 - The soldier
- Vol. 8 - Results of the war
- Vol. 9 - Omnibus executive summary
CIA Research Reports: Latin America, 1946-1976
- Microfilm F 1414 .L46 1982
- 5 reels
- 22-page guide -- Reference F 1414 .L46 1982
|
|
|