Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Microfilm and Microfiche: 1960+

identifies the microfilm and microfiche collections of UCF, plus some related digital and print collections

American Memory Historical Collections (Library of Congress) (1490+)

The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.

History Resource Center: U.S. (1492+)

"In addition to e-text, users may also view original page facsimiles of many of these documents by clicking the View Image button within a document"

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions (1492-1979)

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions is an annotated collection of the fundamental instruments recording the historical development of constitutional government in each state in the Union. For example, the Florida section includes the Treaty of Amity (1819); Act of March 3, 1821; territorial acts; and Florida Constitutions, 1838-1968.

  • General Collection KF 4530 .S94

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions, Second Series provides a substantial number of additional documents dealing with constitutional development, but not directly or exclusively relevant to a single state, starting with Privileges and Prerogatives granted to Christopher Columbus (1492) and ending with Bakke v. University of California Regents (June 28, 1979).

  • General Collection KF 4530 .S942

Annals of America (1493-1968)

  • Reference E 173 .A793
  • 21 volumes

Provides the history of America through letters, documents, speeches, etc - beginning with a letter home from Columbus in 1493 and ending with part of an article by Scott Buchanan, philosopher, educator, and writer on politics, published in the Center Magazine in 1968.

Album of American History (1493-1982)

  • Reference E 178.5 .A48
  • 7 volumes

"The intent ...is to tell the history of America through pictures made at the time the history was being made."

PCMI Library Collection (1692-1967)

  • Microfiche AC 1 .P25

Full text reproductions on ultrafiche of works from American civilization, literature, humanities, science & technology, and social sciences. No guide is available, but the individual titles are included in the UCF library catalog.

Browse the UCF library catalog by call number

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and American Culture Series.

Annual Register of world events; a review of the year (1758+)

"Contents vary. 19th- and early-20th-century volumes are strong in biographical information in the obituary sections. Recent volumes have few obituary notices. Includes survey articles on the year's developments in the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth, and other countries of the world; international organizations; and chapters on religion, science, law, the arts, economics, etc. Includes some public documents, and many abstracts of political speeches. Gives English affairs with more fullness than those of other countries." [ALA Guide to Reference Books, 11th ed.]

United States Government Publications (1789+)

The UCF Library has several microfiche sets providing full text of documents from the U.S. Government, including:

  • CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index, 1833-1969
  • American Statistics Index (1984+)

See also: Congressional Publications: Finding Aids

American State Papers (1789-1838) and U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817+)

  • CIS U.S. Serial Set Index / American State Papers, 1789-1969
  • CIS Index of Congressional Publications & Legislative Histories (1970+)
  • The index for the microfiche is available in ProQuest Congressional
  • Online versions

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (1806-1979)

Recessions, Depressions, and Economic Panics in American History : Collection of Sources (1815-1974)

  • Microfilm HB 3711 .R42
  • 7 reels
  • 7-page guide -- Reference HB 3711 .R42

Collection of books and government documents on depressions and monetary situations in the United States

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (1825-1980)

Foreign Relations of the United States (1861+)

Indian Rights Association. Papers, 1868-1968

  • Microfilm E 93 .I46
  • 136 reels
  • 233-page guide -- Reference E 93 .I46

Smithsonian Publications Relating to the North American Indian (1879-1971)

  • Microfilm E 51 .U5...
  • 42 reels
  • 127-page guide -- Refererence E 51 .U5 Guide
  • Part 1. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulletins, 1887-1971 (Reels 1-27)
  • Part 2. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Annual reports, 1879-1931 (Reels 28-42)

Some volumes are available in the U. S. Congressional Serial Set.

Some print and microfiche volumes are also available in the UCF Library:

List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology with Index to Authors and Titles -- Reference GN 550 .S58 Guide

Other online sources for the Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology:

William S. Gray Research Collection in Reading (1884-1980)

  • Microfiche LB 1050 .W469
  • Guide -- Reference LB 1050 .W469

Provides a retrospective compilation of reading research documents from key journals, books, research reports, and monographs published between 1884 and 1980. The full text documents are available in the UCF Library on microfiche. An author/subject guide is available in the Reference Collection. Author/subject index cards in the drawers preceding the microfiche also provide abstracts.

Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.

  • Part 1: Minutes of National Conventions, Publications, and President's Office Correspondence
  • Part 2: President's Office Files, 1958-1968

The National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, Inc. (NACWC) is the oldest African American secular organization in existence today. The NACWC series provides researchers access for the first time to the records of this crucial social movement. This collection documents the founding of the organization and the role that it has played in the political, economic, and social development of the modern African American community, as well as its involvement in national and international reform movements.

Arthur W. Mitchell Papers, 1898-1968

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 2" for online access.

The Arthur W. Mitchell Papers, 1898-1968 comprise a collection of some 73,000 pages within ProQuest History Vault's module Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2. Held by the Chicago History Museum Research Center of the Chicago Historical Society, the correspondence and collected professional papers span a period of 70 years, with particular emphasis on the period 1935-1943 during which Mitchell was the first Black American elected as a Democrat to the U.S. Congress. The collection documents the activities and insights of the Congressman who was a keen chronicler of the changing role of Black Americans in society and on a handful of key civil rights issues, among them: anti-lynching legislation, abolishment of Jim Crow laws that permitted racial segregation in interstate transportation, and increased employment opportunities for Black Americans tied to Franklin Roosevelt's New Deal and the entry of the U.S. into World War II.

Van Sickle Leftist Pamphlet Collection (1900-1993)

  • Special Collections -- Rare HX 15 .V35 no....
  • Finding Aid

An assemblage of political pamphlets on socialism & communism. Many of the titles may be unique to UCF.

Search the UCF library catalog by series title "van sickle leftist" or by individual titles to identify unique call numbers.

The Spanish Civil War Collection (1902-1981)

  • Microfilm DP 269 .A1718 1987
  • 57 reels
  • 686-page guide -- Reference DP 269 .A1718 1987

2,225 numbered items from the Herbert Rutledge Southworth pamphlet collection, providing primary materials documenting the Spanish Republican period (1931-1939), the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939), and the post-War era of Franco's rule (1939-1975). The collection's greatest strengths are the Civil War itself and the immediate post-War years of the 1940s.

Moody's Manuals on Microfiche (1914+)

  • Reference Microfiche HG 4961 .M7245
  • Reference Microfiche HG 4961 .M67

"Published annually and updated weekly through a series of news reports, Moody's® various manuals [currently] provide information on over 25,000 U.S. and non-U.S. corporate entities and over 17,000 municipal and government securities."

  • Moody's Analyses of Public Utilities & Industrials (1914-1919)
  • Moody's Manual of Industrial Securities (1920-1943) [title varies]

The UCF Library no longer has bound volumes of the various Moody's Manuals from the mid 1940's forward. The name changed from Moody's to Mergent's in 1999. Recent information was also available electronically through the library's subscription to Mergent Online, but the subscription was cancelled due to budget cuts.

Claude A. Barnett Papers, 1918-1967

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Parts 1 and 2" for online access.

  • Microfilm PN 4882.5 .S35
  • 54 reels
  • 55-page guide -- Reference PN 4882.5 .S35

Barnett founded and directed the Associated Negro Press.

UCF Library has microfilm for part of Series B (1945-1955) and part of Series C (1956-1964). The full collection is available online, including Series A (1928-1944).

  • part 2 - Associated Negro Press organizational files, 1920-1966 - guide
  • part 3 - subject files on Black Americans, 1918-1967 - guide
    • Series A, Agriculture, 1923-1966
    • Series B, Colleges & Universities, 1918-1966
    • Series C, Economic Conditions, 1918-1966
    • Series D, Entertainers, Artists & Authors, 1928-1965
    • Series E, Medicine, 1927-1965
    • Series F, Military, 1925-1965
    • Series G, Philanthropic & Social Organizations, 1925-1966
    • Series H, Politics & Law, 1920-1966
    • Series I, Race Relations, 1923-1965
    • Series J, Religion, 1924-1966
    • Series K, Claude A. Barnett, Personal & Financial, 1920-1967

Series 2: Africa and Other Foreign Interests, 1925-1966 -- contains approximately 46,000 pages of material on Africa through the perspective of American editor Claude Barnett, the founder of the Associated Negro Press (ANP). The focus of most of the collection material is on political, social, and economic developments in Africa, with an emphasis on the newly gained independence of countries that were former European colonies.

FBI Confidential Files: J. Edgar Hoover Official & Confidential File (1921-1974)

  • Microfilm
  • 17 reels
  • 35-page guide -- Reference HV 8144 .F43 J6 1990

"This file, of which approximately 17,000 pages have been released and are included in this collection (from a 17,700 total), was one of two secret files Hoover maintained in his office. (The other was destroyed soon after his death in 1972.) Hoover's office files contain important policy documents pertaining to wiretapping, bugging, break-ins, and authorizations to investigate subversive activities. Other documents provide insights into the relationship between the FBI director and several Presidents, as well as other prominent Americans. Chronologically, the file is strongest in the 1940s and 1950s."

Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, 1925-1969

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.

Series A, Holdings of the Chicago Historical Society

  • Part 1: Records of the BSCP, 1925-1969
  • Part 2: Records of the Ladies Auxiliary of the BSCP, 1931-1968
  • Part 3: Records of the BSCP Relations with the Pullman Company, 1925-1968

Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies. Raymond G. McCarthy Memorial Collection of the Alcohol Literature (1935-1976)

  • Microfiche HV 5015 .R86

Contains approximately 19,000 full-text documents of the materials abstracted in the Classified Abstract Archive of the Alcohol Literature, the Quarterly Journal of Studies on Alcohol and the Journal of Studies on Alcohol. To identify more recent material, the Alcohol Studies Database contains citations (not full text) of over 80,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987.

The UCF Library has the complete collection:

  • sect.A, ca. 1935-1950 (documents 1-5700)
  • sect.B, 1951-1965 (documents 5701-11500)
  • sect.C, 1966-1976 (documents 11501-16110;340001-371146)

FBI File on the House Committee on Un-American Activities (1938-1978)

  • Microfilm E 743.5 .U65
  • 9 reels
  • 8-page guide -- Reference E 743.5 .U65

Code of Federal Regulations (1938+)

  • U.S. Documents Microfiche AE 2.106/3:

Paper volumes for the current year are available on the US Documents Ready Reference shelves. Title 3, containing Presidential Proclamations & Executive Orders, is available in paper for 1986+.

Bayard Rustin Papers, 1940-1987

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.

As an organizer, strategist, and pioneer in the use of Gandhian tactics, Bayard Rustin (1910-1987) was one of the most influential black protest leaders of the twentieth century. Although he deliberately maintained a low profile throughout his fifty years of social activism, his skill at conceiving and planning protest demonstrations and his perceptive analysis of movement trends earned him the respect of wide sectors of the civil rights (and pacifist) movements. Moreover, his role as a behind-the-scenes adviser to both A. Philip Randolph and Martin Luther King Jr., allowed him to help shape the course of the post-World War II civil rights struggle.

In this arrangement there are four separate series of material: (1) Alphabetical Subject File; (2) Chronological Subject File; (3) Articles, Essays, Symposia Remarks, and Speeches; and (4) General Correspondence File.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1940-1963)

  • Microfilm F 1234 .C6...
  • Microfilm F1235 .C6...
  • 289 reels
  • 10-volume guide
  • Internal Affairs, 1940-1963
  • Foreign Affairs, 1950-1963
  • subject-numeric files, February 1963-1966, part 1, political, governmental & national defense affairs [not available at UCF] - guide

OSS State Department Intelligence & Research Reports, Latin America (1941-1961)

  • Microfilm F 1414.2 .L328 1981
  • 10 reels
  • 56-page guide -- Reference F 1414.2 .L328 1981

"Latin American coverage contains 369 reports, some as brief as two pages, but including 54 that range upward of 50 pages each. These reports are not contained in the State Department's foreign relations series, the armed forces' official histories, or any subscription service of declassified documents."

FBI Wiretaps, Bugs & Break-ins Microform: The National Security Electronic Surveillance Card File & the Surreptitious Entries File (1941-1980)

  • Microfilm HV 8144 .F43 F357 1988
  • 4 reels
  • 17-page guide -- Reference HV 8144 .F43 F357 1988

"The National Security Electronic Surveillance Card File originated in 1941 as the Symbol Number Sensitive Source Index. Kept at FBI headquarters, this was a card file that indicated next to a "symbol number" the specific source of field reports originating from informers, wiretaps, bugs, mail covers or intercepts, and break-ins.

The FBI has released from the inactive files approximately 700 cards identifying targeted organizations together with the start and end dates of the surveillance. It has deleted the symbol numbers and any geographic locations from the released cards and has not released cards showing individuals as subjects. Thus the absence of a card cannot be interpreted to mean there was no such surveillance of an organization or its officers. There are no cards, for instance, on the Communist Party. But from the cards released, the researcher can trace in other sources the FBI's uses of the information. The cards also serve to suggest the agency's priorities and tactics.

J. Edgar Hoover never intended that historians should see documentation of the FBI's "black bag jobs," as they were called before being renamed "surreptitious entries." But after his death in 1972, his elaborate systems for preserving deniability broke down. Justice Department attorneys in 1975 discovered a large cache of records in the office safe of Thomas Malone, special agent in charge in New York City, who had failed to comply with the director's orders for the destruction of such material every six months.

The Surreptitious Entries File (FBI 62-117166) reproduced here includes the released files of the Malone safe along with the records of the Justice Department inquiries of 1975-1980 that led to the discovery and use of the files in litigation (originally FBI 66-1860). The most prominent subjects of the documents were the Socialist Workers Party and the Weather Underground, both dating from the early 1970s."

The Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality (1941-1976)

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 2" for online access.

  • Microfilm E 185.5 .C88
  • 25 reels
  • 77-page guide -- Reference E 185.5 .C88

"Papers that trace the history of CORE as a local and national organization and document its role in the civil rights struggles of this time period. The period covered most thoroughly is 1959 - 1964. The papers in the main collection are arranged in series according to the offices and departments by which they were designated when sent to the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. Each series is arranged alphabetically by subject and each subject is arranged chronologically. The "Addendum" is a microfilm edition of the CORE papers held at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change, Inc. in Atlanta."

The main collection is 49 reels. UCF only had the 25 reel Addendum, but that microfilm is no longer available. The full collection is available online.

  • Congress of Racial Equality Papers...
    • 1941-1967
    • Addendum, 1944-1968
    • Chicago Chapter, 1946-1966
    • Part 1: Western Regional Office, 1962-1965
    • Part 2: Southern Regional Office, 1959-1966
    • Part 3: Scholarship, Educational and Defense Fund for Racial Equality, 1960-1976
      • Series A: Administrative Files
      • Series B: Leadership Development Files
      • Series C: Legal Department Files

North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana (1944-1994)

  • 186 reels
  • 138-page guide -- Reference Z 688 .L4 J64 1999 guide

"Predominant throughout are primary sources, with secondary sources consisting mainly of research institutes' working papers and other similar types of scholarship. Strengths include politics, government, socioeconomic conditions, agriculture, solidarity groups, human & civil rights, racial groups, women & gender issues, culture, church & religion, and environment & ecology."

  • Caribbean. 1959-1991. 5 reels -- Microfilm F 2183 .C37 1997
  • Central America. 1964-1992. 16 reels -- Microfilm F 1436 .C46 1997
  • Latin America. 47 reels -- Microfilm F 1414 .L38 1997
  • Argentina. 1944-1991. 10 reels -- Microfilm F 2849 .A75 1997
  • Chile. 1959-1990. 50 reels -- Microfilm F 3099 .C54 1997
  • Cuba. 1956-1994. 24 reels -- Microfilm F 1788 .C8242 1997
  • Mexico. 1947-1992. 16 reels -- Microfilm F 1226 .M48 1998
  • Peru. 1961-1991. 7 reels -- Microfilm F 3448.2 .P48 1998
  • Puerto Rico. 1957-1991. 8 reels -- Microfilm F 1976 .P83 1998
  • Venezuela. 1964-1983. 3 reels -- Microfilm F 2321 .V45 1998

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Cuba, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1945-1963)

  • Microfilm F 1787.5 .C6...
  • Microfilm F 1787.5 .C66 1999
  • 148 reels
  • 5-volume guide
    • 1945-1949 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
    • 1950-1954 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
    • 1955-1959 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
    • 1960-Jan. 1963 Internal Affairs guide (paper copy missing)
    • 1960-Jan. 1963 Foreign Affairs guide (paper copy missing)
  • subject-numeric files, 2/63-1966, part 1 guide [microfilm not available at UCF]

A Study of Strategic Lessons Learned in Vietnam, 1945-1975

  • Microfilm D 557.7 .S783 1991
  • 3 reels
  • 10-page guide -- Reference D 557.7 .S783 1991
  • Vol. 1 - The Enemy
  • Vol. 2 - South Vietnam
  • Vol. 3 - U.S. foreign policy and Vietnam, 1945-1975
  • Vol. 4 - U.S. domestic factors influencing Vietnam war policy making
  • Vol. 5 - Planning the war
  • Vol. 6 - Conduct of the war
  • Vol. 7 - The soldier
  • Vol. 8 - Results of the war
  • Vol. 9 - Omnibus executive summary

CIA Research Reports: Latin America, 1946-1976

  • Microfilm F 1414 .L46 1982
  • 5 reels
  • 22-page guide -- Reference F 1414 .L46 1982
  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • British Guiana
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

The United States & Castro's Cuba, 1950-1970, the Paterson Collection (1950-1970)

  • Microfilm E 183.8 .C9 U55 1998
  • 22 reels
  • 9-page guide on reel 1

Records of the American Committee on Africa, 1952-1985

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.

  • Part 1: ACOA Executive Committee Minutes and National Office Memoranda, 1952-1975
  • Part 2: Correspondence and Subject Files on South Africa, 1952-1985

Civil Rights during the Eisenhower Administration, 1953-1961

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records" for online access.

The emphasis of the collection is on the desegregation of public schools, especially in the South after the Supreme Court's Brown v. Board of Education decision of May 17, 1954. The collection, however, contains substantial material on other realms of racial discrimination, including the segregation of restaurants and other public facilities, sit-ins by students protesting this policy, the Montgomery, Alabama, bus boycott started by Rosa Parks and championed by Martin Luther King Jr. in 1955, discrimination in employment (including federal civilian departments and the armed services), discrimination in housing, and acts of violence against black citizens. The collection also contains documents on discrimination affecting other groups, including Indians, Jews, and Asians, as well as documentation of the efforts by states and localities to obtain federal funding for greatly needed school facilities construction.

The John F. Kennedy 1960 Campaign (1953-1960)

  • Microfilm E 837.7 .J641
  • 22 reels
  • part 1 - polls, issues & strategy - 39-page guide
  • part 2 - speeches, press conferences, & debates - 79-page guide

FBI File: Malcolm X (1953-1980)

  • Microfilm E 185.97 .L5 F23 1996
  • 10 reels
  • 36-page guide -- Reference E 185.97 .L5 F23 1996

Excerpts from the files are also available in the book, Malcolm X: The FBI File, by Clayborne Carson [BP223.Z8.L5794 1991]

See also FBI Freedom of Information Act Reading Room

Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 1" for online access.

Part 1: Records of the President's Office -- Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. served as president of the SCLC from its founding in 1957 until his assassination in April 1968. This edition consists of the President's Office records during Dr. King's tenure as well as a small number of public statements made by him between 1954 and 1957. The President's Office File consists of two series of records: Series I, Correspondence, 1958-1968 and Series II, Manuscripts and Appointment Calendars, 1954-1969.

Part 2: Records of the Executive Director and Treasurer -- Between 1957 and 1970 the SCLC had five executive directors. The records of four of these are preserved in the SCLC collection: John L. Tilley (1957-1959), Ella J. Baker (1958-1960), Wyatt T. Walker (1960-1964), and Andrew Young (1965-1967).

Part 3: Records of the Public Relations Department -- provide a good overview of the entire SCLC history from about 1960 when the department was established to disseminate information on Dr. King and the organization. Regular press releases and newsletters document all of the major episodes of the SCLC up through 1966. The records also provide much pertinent biographical material on King, including documentation of the mass media's growing interest in the SCLC leader. In addition, the Public Relations Department files hold an incomplete set of records of SCLC annual conventions and board of directors meetings dating from 1959.

Part 4: Records of the Program Department -- offer some of the most outstanding research opportunities in the SCLC collection. They include a wealth of primary material from the front lines of the civil rights movement, including field reports, survey materials, and correspondence.

Artificial Intelligence Technical Reports (1954-1985)

  • Microfiche Q 334.5...
  • Index Q 334.5...

Report (Carnegie-Mellon University) -- UCF holdings

Memo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Artificial Intelligence Laboratory) -- UCF holdings

Artificial intelligence technical reports : Yale University, 1975-1985 -- UCF holdings

Artificial intelligence technical reports. Knowledge Systems Laboratory, Stanford University -- UCF holdings

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972

  • Microfilm E 185.61 .S916 1981 (no longer available)
  • 73 reels
  • 132-page guide -- Reference E 185.61 .S916 1981

"Microfilm edition of the papers of the SNCC in the Library and Archives of the Martin Luther King, Jr., Center for Nonviolent Change, Atlanta, Ga."

The microfilm is no longer available. See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Part 2" for online access.

Civil Rights During the Kennedy Administration, 1961-1963

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records" for online access.

  • Microfilm JC 599 .U5 C49 1986
  • 28 reels (UCF has reels 21-28)
  • guide -- General Collection JC 599 .U5 C49 1986 Guide

pt. 2. The Papers of Burke Marshall, Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights

UCF does not have microfilm for Pt. 1. The White House central files and staff files, and the president's office files (19 reels) but the content is available online in the "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century" database.

The John F. Kennedy National Security Files, Latin America (1961-1963)

The Black Power Movement, 1962-1996

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records & Personal Papers, Parts 1 and 2" for online access.

  • Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement, 1962-1996
  • The League of Revolutionary Black Workers, 1965-1976
  • Papers of Robert F. Williams, 1948-1996

The Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, Latin America (1963-1969)

Civil Rights During the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records" for online access.

  • Microfilm JC 599 .U5 C5 1984
  • 21 reels / 68-page guide -- General Collection JC 599 .U5 C5 1984 Guide
  • Pt. 1. The White House central files. (15 reels) guide (UCF has reels 1, 4, 9-15)
  • Pt. 2. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: administrative history. (3 reels) guide
  • Pt. 3. Oral histories. (3 reels) guide
  • Pt. 4. Papers of the White House Conference on Civil Rights guide [microfilm not available at UCF]
  • Pt. 5. Records of the National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders guide [microfilm not available at UCF]

Political Activities of the Johnson White House, 1963-1969. Part 1, White House Central and Confidential Files

  • Microfilm E 846 .P641
  • 47 reels
  • 138-page guide -- Reference E 846 .P641
  • part 2 - White House Aides, Series A. Office Files of Marvin Watson [not available at UCF] - guide

History of the Dept of Justice, November 1963 - January 1969

  • Microfilm JK 873 .H573
  • 6 reels
  • 24-page guide -- Reference JK 873 .H573

Administrative history of the Department of Justice during the administration of Lyndon B. Johnson, November 1963-January 1969.

FBI File: Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) (1963-1973)

  • Microfilm E 185.61 .U551 1991
  • 2 reels
  • 5-page guide -- Reference E 185.61 .U551 1991

See also FBI Freedom of Information Act Reading Room

The Free Southern Theater Records, 1963-1978

  • 76-page guide -- Reference PN 2277 .N4 F76

In 1963, the Free Southern Theater was organized by John O'Neal and Gilbert Moses to act as a cultural and educational extension for the Civil Rights Movement in the South.

Arranged by four major series with subseries: Administrative Series, Theater Production Series, General Correspondence Series, Financial Records Series.

FBI File on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina (1968-1976)

  • Microfilm E 185.615 .F3465 1986
  • 2 reels
  • 4-page guide -- Reference E 185.615 .F3465 1986

See also FBI Freedom of Information Act Reading Room

Papers of the Nixon White House (1969-1974)

  • Microfiche E 855 .P3
  • 1,943 fiche / 8 volume guide
  • See also Nixon Presidential Materials for finding aids.
  • pt. 1. Official inventories of papers and other historical materials of the Nixon White House (96 fiche) - guide
  • pt. 2. The President's meeting file, 1969-1974 (260 fiche) - guide
  • pt. 3. John Ehrlichman : notes of meetings with the President, 1969-1973 (77 fiche) - guide
  • pt. 4. The John Ehrlichman alphabetical subject file, 1969-1973 (175 fiche) - guide
  • pt. 5. H.R. Haldeman : notes of White House meetings, 1969-1973 (98 fiche) - guide
  • pt. 6, ser. A. Documents annotated by the President, 1969-1974 (370 fiche) - guide
  • pt. 6, ser. B. Daily news summaries annotated by the President, 1969-1973 (244 fiche) - guide
  • pt. 7. President's personal files, 1969-1974 (548 fiche) - guide
  • pt. 8. The Nixon White House tapes : the complete transcripts prepared by the Watergate Special Prosecution Force (75 fiche) - guide

Civil Rights during the Nixon Administration, 1969-1974

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records" for online access.

Part 1: The White House Central Files

This collection of documents is drawn entirely from the Human Rights (HU) classification in the White House Central Files (WHCF).

  • Citizenship
  • Equality
    • Education-Schooling
    • Employment
    • Housing
    • Voting
    • Women
  • Freedoms
    • Civil Disturbances-Riots
    • Campus Disturbances
    • Speech
    • Worship (Religion)
  • Genocide
  • Ideologies

Value Line Investment Survey (1969+)

  • Reference Microfiche HG 4501 .V26

Weekly issues provide updates at least quarterly for each of approximately 1,700 equity issues.

"For each stock in its universe it offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects."

Health, Physical Education & Recreation (1972-1992)

Health, Physical Education, & Recreation Microform Publications - a collection of graduate research publications dealing with:

  • Physical Education - Administration, Anatomy, Anthropometry, Athletics, Biomechanics, Conditioning, Dance, Elementary Physical Education, History & Philosophy, Learning & Performance, Legal Aspects, Measurement & Evaluation, Mechanical Analysis, Pedagogy, Philosophy, Physical Education for Special Populations, Sociology & Cultural Anthropology, Sports Medicine, Teacher Education, Teaching Methods, Tests & Measurements
  • Physiology & Exercise Epidemiology
  • Recreation, Camping & Leisure
  • Health Education
  • Psychology - Anxiety, Attitudes & Values, Attribution, Behavioral Analysis, Learning & Performance, Motivation, Motor Learning & Control, Perception, Self Concept, Social Psychology, Stress

Search the UCF Library Catalog or use the print indexes at Reference GV 201.H422

Urban Documents Microfiche Collection (1972-1998)

More information about UCF's Urban Documents Microfiche Collection

Organized by location, the Index to Current Urban Documents (ICUD) gives the user access to the thousands of periodic reports that were issued by approximately 500 selected US and Canadian urban area agencies and departments.

The UCF Library has the full text for all U.S. and Canadian areas on microfiche for 1979-1998 (indexed in volumes 8-26) and the print indexes for 1972-2003, volumes 1-31.

Civil Rights during the Ford Administration, 1973-1977

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement" for online access.

Subject Files of Assistant Attorney General J. Stanley Pottinger (1973-1977) and Special Assistant Anne Clarke (1974-1977).

covers civil rights legislation and its enforcement from late in the administration of Richard M. Nixon (1973-1974) through the administration of Gerald R. Ford (1974-1977). The collection also contains select civil rights documents from earlier administrations, such as executive orders of John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson relating to the status of women.

CBS News Index (1975-1986)

Provides the transcripts of CBS news television broadcasts from 1975-1986, including:

  • CBS daily news broadcasts
  • CBS News Special Report
  • Special Report for Young People
  • CBS Reports
  • Face the Nation
  • Going Places
  • Inside CBS News
  • Magazine
  • Razzmatazz
  • 60 Minutes
  • 30 Minutes
  • On the Road with Charles Kuralt
  • Universe
  • Your Turn
  • CBS News Daily Broadcast
  • CBS News Special
  • Who's Who
  • West 57th
  • Our Times with Bill Moyers

Civil Rights during the Carter Administration, 1977-1981

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records" for online access.

Part 1: Papers of the Special Assistant for Black Affairs, Sections A-D

The documents are those collected by the office of Louis E. Martin, special assistant to the president, whose primary (but not sole) focus was on civil rights issues and minority affairs. Although most documents concern black Americans, the collection contains interesting material on civil rights issues affecting Hispanics, Indians, and women.

One of the most significant features of this collection is its compilation of correspondence from a large number of civic and social associations, particularly black organizations, on civil rights and minority-related issues. Officials from these groups often present forceful policy proposals to President Carter or to Louis Martin and his deputies. These organizations include African Institute for the Study of Humanistic Values, Alliance of Black Businesswomen, Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity, American Business Council, Association for the Study of Afro-American Life and History, Black Business Association of Los Angeles, various black colleges, Black Congress on Health and Law, Black Leadership Forum, Congress of National Black Churches, Congressional Black Caucus, Council of Urban League Guilds, Harlem Commonwealth Council, Joint Center for Political Studies, Leadership Conference on Civil Rights, Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Social Change, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) and the NAACP Legal Defense Fund, National Association of Manufacturers, National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women's Clubs, National Bar Association, National Black Network, National Black Think Tank, National Black Veterans' Organization, National Caucus on the Black Aged, National Conference of Black Mayors, National Council of Negro Women, National Organization for Women, National Urban Coalition, National Urban League, Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and United Negro College Fund.

SEC File (1978-1998)

  • Reference Microfiche HG 4028 .B2 C67
  • Multiple volume indexes are available on the microfiche cabinet in the Reference Area

Microfiche database of corporate annual reports & U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission Documents. The EDGAR database provides electronic access to SEC filings from 1994 forward.

See also LexisNexis Academic which provides some SEC filings from 1987 forward and some annual reports as far back as 1972.

CIRR : Corporate & Industry Research Reports (1979-1991)

  • Reference Microfiche HG 4001 .C57
  • no guide (index was available on CD-ROM, but is no longer available)

Over 100,000 analytical research reports prepared by leading analysts and economists from regional, national, and international securities and investment firms.

An unaffiliated set of microfiche, CRI File [Microfiche HF 5382.5 .U5 C37], provides various information for 1984 & 1986 about companies, including the annual report, a research analyst report, and in-house newsletters.

Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration, 1981-1989

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement" for online access.

  • FOIA Released Records on ...
    • Affirmative Action
    • Bob Jones University
    • Busing and School Desegregation
    • Civil Rights
    • Fair Housing
    • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
    • the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1988, Grove City College and the Civil Rights Restoration Act, and the Voting Rights Act of 1982
  • Subject File of the White House Office of Records Management, 1981-1989

Civil Rights during the Bush Administration, 1989-1993

See the database "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records" for online access.

This collection documents civil rights legislation and other human rights issues during the George H. W. Bush administration from 1989-1993. The collection is organized according to the White House Office of Records Management filing system. The documents cover the following categories: human rights, equality, education, employment, ethnic origin groups, right to housing, voting rights, women, freedoms, civil disturbances, genocide, and ideologies.