History of Foods
Tasting History: Explore the Past Through 4,000 Years of Recipes by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Begin your very own food journey through the centuries and around the world with the first cookbook from the beloved YouTube channel Tasting History with Max Miller. What began as a passion project when Max Miller was furloughed during Covid-19 has become a viral YouTube sensation. The Tasting History with Max Miller channel has thrilled food enthusiasts and history buffs alike as Miller recreates a dish from the past, often using historical recipes from vintage texts, but updated for modern kitchens as he tells stories behind the cuisine and culture. From ancient Rome to Ming China to medieval Europe and beyond, Miller has collected the best-loved recipes from around the world and has shared them with his fans. Now, with beautiful photographs portraying the dishes and historical artwork throughout, Tasting History compiles over sixty dishes such as: -Tuh'u: a red beet stew with leeks dating back to 1740 BC -Globi: deep-fried cheese balls with honey and poppy seeds -Soul Cakes: yeasted buns with currants from circa 1600 -Pumpkin Tourte: a crustless pumpkin cheesecake with cinnamon and sugar on top from 1570 -And much more. Including the original recipe and Miller's modern recreation, this cookbook is a must-have for any avid cook or history fan looking to experience delicious recipes from the past.
Call Number: TX 645.M55 2023
Smothered and Covered: Waffle House and the Southern Imaginary by
Smothered and Covered: Waffle House and the Southern Imaginary is the first book to socioculturally assess the chain within the field of contemporary food studies. In this groundbreaking work, Ty Matejowsky argues that Waffle House's often beleaguered public persona is informed by various complexities and contradictions. Critically unpacking the iconic eatery from a less reductive perspective offers readers a more realistic and nuanced portrait of Waffle House, shedding light on how it both reflects and influences a prevailing southern imaginary--an amorphous and sometimes conflicting collection of images, ideas, attitudes, practices, linguistic accents, histories, and fantasies that frames understandings about a vibrant if also paradoxical geographic region.
Call Number: TX945.5.W34 M37 2023
Fish and Chips: A Takeaway History by
Brimming with facts, anecdotes, and images of historical and modern examples of this batter-dipped meal, Fish and Chips will appeal to all foodies who love this quintessentially British dish.
Call Number: HD9461.5 .P36 2022Publication Date: 2022-09-19
Chocolate: a Cultural Encyclopedia by
This new book takes a closer look at how chocolate has served as a medicine, an indulgence, a symbol of decadence, a door to romance, a tempting taboo, a means of survival, and a snack for children and adults alike.
Publication Date: 2022-06-01
Global Brooklyn : designing food experiences in world cities by
“The authors analyze the 'hipsterization' of popular neighborhoods and how it impacts cultural production processes, citizen behavior, urban transformation, entrepreneurial activities, and innovation. This gives us a powerful tool for understanding what they call 'Global Brooklyness.'”
Publication Date: 2021
We Are What We Eat : a slow food manifesto by
From chef and food activist Alice Waters, an impassioned plea for a radical reconsideration of the way each and every one of us cooks and eats In We Are What We Eat, Alice Waters urges us to take up the mantle of slow food culture, the philosophy at the core of her life's work.
Call Number: TX631 .W35 2021
Cookbooks
The Fort Restaurant Cookbook by
Built as a family home and then living history museum in 1961, the adobe Fort was built to emulate the frontier trading posts of the 19th century. Taking its cues from the architecture and the foods of the Southwest, the building and the menu hearken back to an earlier time while providing diners with a modern and elegant dining experience. This cookbook is a celebration of the Fort and many favorite recipes developed throughout its 56-year history including its most recent menus.
Call Number: TX715.2.W47 K56 2021
Delicious Disney: Walt Disney World by
Filled with a heartfelt narrative and behind-the-scenes anecdotes, mouth-watering food photos, gorgeous Walt Disney Imagineering concept artwork, nostalgic restaurant menus and ephemera, and a little Disney magic, this cookbook-meets-culinary-history coffee table book enchants with more than 60 recipes. Including an assortment of appetisers, main courses, sides, desserts, and even joyful libations, these dishes come from restaurants across the resort. Each has been tested by home chefs to help you bring your cherished holiday memories to life... and inspire new ones for years to come.
Call Number: TX725.A1 B735 2022
Food Science
Science and Cooking: Physics Meets Food From Homemade to Haute Cuisine by
In Science and Cooking, Harvard professors Michael Brenner, Pia Sorensen, and David Weitz bring the classroom to your kitchen to teach the physics and chemistry underlying every recipe. Why do we knead bread? What determines the temperature at which we cook a steak, or the amount of time our chocolate chip cookies spend in the oven?
Call Number: TX651.B69 2020
Food Labels: Your Questions Answered by
This book provides an approachable introduction to food labels. While aimed primarily at teens and young adults, it is a valuable tool for anyone who wants to better understand what food labels are really saying and make healthy food choices.
Call Number: TP374.5.B74 2019
Food Studies: a hands-on guide by
Food Studies- A Hands-on Guide is the first book to provide a practical introduction to food studies. Offering a unique, innovative approach to learning and teaching, Willa Zhen presents creative hands-on activities that can easily be done in a traditional classroom without the need for a student kitchen.
Call Number: GT2860 .Z47 2019
Molecules, Microbes, and Meals: the Surprising Science of Food by
The goal of Molecules, Microbes, and Meals is to provide an overview of the science of food, exploring all aspects of how food products we purchase and consume come to have the characteristics they do.
Publication Date: 2019
Biographies
Taste Makers : seven immigrant women who revolutionized food in America by
Who's really behind America's appetite for foods from around the globe? This group biography from an electric new voice in food writing honors seven extraordinary women, all immigrants, who left an indelible mark on the way Americans eat today.
Call Number: TX649.A1 S46 2022
Taste : my life through food by
From award-winning actor and food obsessive Stanley Tucci comes an intimate and charming memoir of life in and out of the kitchen.
Call Number: TX649.T83 A3 2021
Bourdain : the definitive oral biography by
An unprecedented behind-the-scenes view into the life of Anthony Bourdain from the people who knew him best;
Call Number: TX649.B58 W66 2021
An Onion in My Pocket: My Life With vegetables by
From the author of Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone ("The Queen of Greens" --The Washington Post)--a warm, bracingly honest memoir that also gives us an insider's look at the vegetarian movement.
Call Number: TX649.M326 A3 2020
The Man Who Ate Too Much: The Life of James Beard by
Informed by never-before-tapped correspondence and lush with details of a golden age of home cooking, The Man Who Ate Too Much is a commanding portrait of a towering figure who still represents the best in food.
Call Number: TX649.B43 B57 2020
In the Weeds: Around the world and behind the scenes with Anthony Bourdain by
Anthony Bourdain's long time director and producer takes readers behind the scenes to reveal the insanity of filming television in some of the most volatile places in the world and what it was like to work with a legend.
Call Number: TX649.B58 V58 2021
Celebrity Chefs, Food Media and the Politics of Eating by
Working across food studies and media studies, Joanne Hollows examines the impact of celebrity chefs on how we think about food and how we cook, shop and eat. Hollows explores how celebrity chefs emerged in both restaurant and media industries, making chefs like Jamie Oliver and Gordon Ramsay into global stars.
Publication Date: 2022-09-08
Restaurant Design
Dinner Time : new restaurant interior design by
The featured 60 international projects show the latest trends of restaurant design. With a descriptive text for each project, the book focuses on colour scheme, lighting, and decorative details and provides valuable inspiration and reference for professional designers, food lovers and other people related to the restaurant business.
Call Number: NK2195.R4 D56 2019
Food Cultures
Food Cultures of France: Recipes, Customs, and Issues by
This book tells the full story of French food. Food Cultures of France: Recipes, Customs, and Issues explores the highs and lows of French cuisine, with examples taken from every historical era and all corners of France.
Publication Date: 2021-03-29
Food Cultures of Israel: Recipes, Customs, and Issues by
This book provides a comprehensive picture of Israeli food culture in the twenty-first century, examined on the basis of the various influences that created this particular culture.
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Itadakimasu! the Food Culture of Japan by
Itadakimasu! The Food Culture of Japan is designed as a first- or second-year college course in Japanese culture for students who have little to no background in the Japanese language, culture, literature, or history.
Publication Date: 2020-12-17
Food Cultures of the United States : recipes, customs, and issues by
This comprehensive volume examines the history of American food culture and cuisine today, from staple ingredients to dietary concerns.
Call Number: GT2853.U6 K73 2020
Countries, Peoples and Cultures (Complete Nine Volume Set) by
This brand-new series from Salem Press provides valuable insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe. With nine comprehensive, up-to-date volumes spanning every major world region, this in-depth reference source is one of the most thorough compilations of its kind on the market today.
Call Number: REF GN307.C687 2015Publication Date: 2015-12-30
Conversations Behind the Kitchen Door: 50 American Chefs Chart Today's Food Culture) by
Conversations Behind the Kitchen Door is Emmanuel Laroche's collection of dialogues with award-winning chefs from various backgrounds and cultures, sharing their personal experiences of where and why food culture is where it is today. Revisiting his childhood and life as a young adult in France, traveling throughout Europe, and eventually moving with his family to the United States, Emmanuel Laroche infuses his knowledge and curiosity of everything food-related within each page of Conversations Behind the Kitchen Door. His decades-long connection with StarChefs--a platform for culinary professionals that hosts the annual International Chef's Congress--gave Emmanuel the opportunity to meet and interview preeminent culinary talent, where he built a network of trending chefs, pastry chefs, and mixologists. Emmanuel's podcast Flavors Unknown, as well as his worldwide search for new foods and flavors, are at the core of Conversations Behind the Kitchen Door. Scores of chefs offer essential insights and entertaining observations about the food scene today--information that will be of interest to new and aspiring chefs, as well as foodies and home cooks who follow trends in restaurants and recipes. Readers will walk away from Conversations Behind the Kitchen Door with a deeper understanding of the minds and creative practices of famous chefs, as well as a map to begin to create sensational dishes of their own.
Call Number: GT2853.U5 L37 2022
Research Handbook on International Food Law by
With contributions from over 30 international legal scholars, this topical Research Handbook on International Food Lawprovides a reflective and crucial examination of the rules, power dynamics, legal doctrines, societal norms, and frameworks that govern the modern global food system. The Research Handbook analyses the interlinkages between producers and consumers of food, as well as the environmental effects of the global food network and the repercussions on human health. Chapters explore the development of food law and governance strategies, the regulation of novel foods, including insects, and the application of technology and science in food production, such as genetically engineered food. The insightful contributions examine the legal challenges facing the global food system and suggest practical recommendations for future research and reform. Providing a comprehensive and interdisciplinary perspective on the complex legal landscape of food production and consumption, this Research Handbook will be essential reading for students and scholars of food law, consumer law, public international law, and regulation and governance, as well as food system advocates, international lawyers, and policymakers.
Call Number: K3626.R47 2023
