UCF Research Guides: New Items at Rosen Library: Lifestyle Community Management

Books - Lifestyle Community Management - General

Sages of Aging: a Guide for Changemakers by Ken Dychtwald (Editor) This book is a series of twelve profound conversations with some of the foremost elder changemakers in the fields of aging and longevity, and it captures the essence of their wisdom and perspectives. Subjects include the individual, social, and systemic dimensions of equity and inequity; averting a new era of mass elder poverty; the efficacy of today's healthcare system for the chronic health challenges of older adults and their families; ageism in the media and popular culture; and the purposeful opportunities and obligations of today's and tomorrow's elders. Each leader candidly reflects on their origins, the fields of aging and longevity, and considers their own aging. This book is of high interest to readers young and old, as we all must come to terms with our aging and the legacies we choose to leave behind. It has the potential to change readers' views on the future of their studies, their work, and their lives.
Publication Date: 2022-06-21
The Coronavirus Pandemic Of 2020 by Joan N. Almeida This hard-hitting and somber chronicle looks at how ordinary people from different walks of life were affected living in the pandemic, how they dealt with something so devastating yet so unknown and unfamiliar, as well as with the drastic changes in their lives.
Call Number: RA665.A46 2021
Before the Time Comes by Monica Young Monica E. Young was a senior move manager who will share the secrets of helping your parents move comfortably, gracefully, and lovingly so they can enjoy their golden years in the best ways possible.
Call Number: HQ1063.6 Y68 2020
Be Your Own Hero: Senior Living Decisions Simplified by Catherine Owens
Call Number: HV 1451.O84 2020
Happily Ever Older: Revolutionary Approaches to Long-Term Care by Moira Welsh Happily Ever Older reveals how the right living arrangements can create a vibrancy that defies age or ability. Reporter Moira Welsh has spent years investigating retirement homes and long-term care facilities and wants to tell the dangerous stories.
Publication Date: 2021
Retirement Communities 101 by Dana Bodney Selecting a retirement community can be overwhelming and understanding the plans at a CCRC can be difficult. This book explains the differences between communities and which plan can be right for you. There are questions to ask in the workbook portion of the book ,when you visit each community. The road to peace of mind is easier with this book in hand.
Call Number: HQ1063 .B63 2017
Find the Right CCRC for Yourself or a Loved One by Ruth Alvarez Don't waste your retirement savings on the wrong CCRC. One study revealed that 60% of new residents made their decision based on the Continuing Care Retirement Community's (CCRC) own marketing materials. Get some no-nonsense advice from someone who's actually made the move and understands what to look for and what not to believe.
Call Number: HQ 1063.A48 2018
Navigating Assisted Living by Kristi Stalder Designed as a practical guide through the complex world of senior living, this book offers support and guidance for families to collaborate, leverage one another's strengths, and work toward this higher goal of making sure that their loved ones thrive.
Call Number: HV1454 .S73 2019
Continuing Care Retirement Communities : Risks and Benefits by Phillip G. Moore; Liam F. Miller This book examines the risks and benefits of Continuing Care Retirement Communities (CCRC). CCRCs can benefit older Americans by allowing them to move among and through independent living, assisted living, and skilled nursing care in one community.
Senior Cohousing: A New Way Forward for Active Older Adults by Sherry Cummings; Nancy P. Kropf This book presents a concise description and qualitative exploration of a new residential option for older adults: senior cohousing. It describes the practical, structural and communal aspects of senior cohousing and shares the lived experiences of actual residents.
Publication Date: 2019
Solutions to Master the Demographic Change: Ambient Assisted Living for the Elderly by Franz Gosch How will the Western World manage to master the implications of the demographic change? The answer to this may be Ambient Assisted Living (AAL) that becomes the topic of this research study. The aim of the research is to present the field of AAL with relation to home care.
101+ Careers in Gerontology by C. Joanne Grabinski Completely updated to reflect significant changes to policy and management of resources, the second edition of 101 Careers in Gerontology provides a wealth of helpful and timely guidance in this rapidly growing field.
Call Number: HQ1064.U5 G66 2015
Aging Sourcebook by Kevin Hayes Provides basic consumer health information about the physiology of aging, healthy aging through physical activity, healthy eating, and anti-aging methods, aging-associated diseases along with information about geriatric healthcare, assisted living, home modification, and legal and financial assistance.
Publication Date: 2021
Aging with Agency: Building Resilience, Confronting Challenges, and Navigating Eldercare by Sandi Peters; Drew Leder (Foreword by) An experiential guide to re-orienting our understanding of old age as one of life's most meaningful and transformative stages.
Call Number: BF724.55,A35 P48 2020
Age Friendly:ending ageism in America by Lawrence R. Samuel Age Friendly presents a bold and counterintuitive idea--aging is a positive thing for businesses, individuals, and society as a whole--and we should embrace it rather than fear it.
Publication Date: 2021-09-21
A Practical Guide to Promoting Social Participation in Seniors by Teoh Gaik Kin et.al.
Call Number: HQ1061.K56 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Aging in America 2023 by Robert L. Scardamalia (Editor) Today, concerns about the financial stability of Social Security, trends in disability, health care costs, and the supply of caregivers are all driven by the coming explosion in the number of people over the age of 65. Aging in America focuses on the economic and demographic portrait of the senior population and can provide a context for analysis of broader population issues. It provides a wide range of characteristics of the older population including: age composition, race and Hispanic origin, educational attainment, living arrangements, veteran status, employment and income, health insurance, disability and housing characteristics. Extracting comparative information from the Census Bureau's databases can be difficult and time-consuming. Aging in America provides comparative data on a variety of topics in a single, easy-to-use volume. Some of the benefits of Aging in America include: It provides a cross-section of socio-economic characteristics focused on the aging population for commonly researched geographic areas: states, counties, cities, metropolitan and micropolitan areas, and congressional districts The tables are structured to allow easy comparisons across geographic areas and easy profiling of characteristics
ISBN: 9781636713878

Administration

Paths to Leadership in the Senior Living Industry by Edward L. Schneider (Editor); Matthew Lifschultz (Editor) This book assembles many of the great leaders of the senior living and care industry to discuss their paths to and views on leadership.
Publication Date: 2021
The Health Services Executive (HSE): Tools for Leading Long-Term and Senior Living Organizations by Keith R. Knapp; Douglas M. Olson The Health Services Executive (HSE (TM)): Tools for Leading Long-Term Care and Senior Living Organizations serves as a contemporary and comprehensive resource that addresses each of the core professional domains of practice and leadership essentials for long-term care administration students and professionals.
Call Number: RA999.A35 K63 2021
Designing Technology Training for Older Adults in Continuing Care Retirement Communities by Shelia R. Cotten et. al. This book provides the latest research and design-based recommendations for how to design and implement a technology training program for older adults in Continuing Care Retirement Communities (CCRCs).
Publication Date: 2016
Smart Assisted Living : Toward An Open Smart-Home Infrastructure by edited by Feng Chen, Rebeca I. García-Betances, Liming Chen, María Fernanda Cabrera-Umpiérrez, Chris Nugent. This comprehensive and timely book offers a unique and essential reference guide for policymakers, funding bodies, researchers, technology developers and managers, end users, carers, clinicians, healthcare service providers, educators and students, helping them adopt and implement smart assisted living systems.
Publication Date: 2020
Legal Aspects of Health Care Administration by George D. Pozgar This authoritative guide presents a wide range of health care topics in a comprehensible and engaging manner that will carefully guide your students through the complex maze of the legal system.
Publication Date: 2018
The Nursing Home Market: Supply and Demand for the Elderly by Jeffrey A. Rhoades Changes in nursing home care financing would in all likelihood change the way individuals and families plan for, purchase and utilize nursing home care. With increasing life expectancy, an aging population, and the functionally impaired population growing, how best to meet long-term care needs continues to challenge policy makers. The issue of financing nursing home care is and will remain a major health and social issue in the decades to come; evaluation of nursing home care policy is urgently needed. The few existing studies of nursing home care demand have found a highly elastic response to price; an increase in price has been shown to have a significant negative effect on the quantity of nursing home services demanded. For nursing home care, the process of adjusting price to equate demand and utilization does not take place. The nursing home market is in disequilibrium.
Publication Date: 2018
Assisted Living Administration and Management, Second Edition by Darlene Yee-Melichar; Andrea Renwanz Boyle; Cristina Flores Assisted Living Administration and Management: Effective Practices and Model Programs in Elder Care 2nd Edition provides students and healthcare professionals with the most up to date and essential knowledge on assisted living and residential care. This comprehensive text empowers current and future assisted living administrators to employ effective practices, understand model programs, and learn the necessary tools and tips to maximize the overall health, safety, and comfort of residents in their care.
Publication Date: 2020
Nursing Home Administration, 7th edition by James E. Allen
Publication Date: 2015
Nursing Home Quality: Analyses of the Five-Star Rating System and Quality Trends by Cecilia Wade This book examines how CMS developed and implemented the Five-Star System and what key methodological decisions were made during development; the circumstances under which CMS considers modifying the Five-Star System; and the extent to which CMS has established plans to help ensure it achieves its goals for the Five-Star System.
Publication Date: 2016
Assisted Living Strategies for Changing Markets by Jim Moore Assisted Living Strategies for Changing Markets is about getting back to basics focusing on the senior consumer and their families while executing sound business strategies.
Call Number: HD7287.92.U6 M667 2001
Progressive Business Plan for an Assisted Living Facility by Nat Chiaffarano MBA This book contains the detailed content and out-of-the-box ideas to launch a successful Assisted Living Facility.
Call Number: HD 7287.92.U54 C475 2017
Policies and Procedures Manual: Assisted Living Facilities by Ionel Coltea Follow the path to success... Get a template for your Assisted Living Facility's Policies and Procedures Manual that's proven to work! A successful assisted living facility is like any other business - growth and profitability are only achievable when all employees and executive staff are on the same page. Creating, monitoring and adhering to established policies and procedures are crucial for your facility's success. And now there's a template that can get you off on the right foot. After you read this book, you will: * Have a proven template to follow that will guide your Assisted Living Facility to success... this book has everything you need! * Learn tips on how to develop or revise your Assisting Living Facility's Policy and Procedure Manual with your staff. * Master the expectations and work processes that are crucial to a functioning a workplace. * Get flexible... learn how to customize and reword each policy to meet specific assisted living facility needs. It's never too late to add additional policies and procedures to a facility's manual. If a company has developed the Policy and Procedure Manual in a prior year, time should be given to go over the new manual and discuss the potential changes or updates. Get your facility on the right track today... This book will show you how.
Call Number: HD 7287.92.U54 C658 2019
Independent living and CCRCs : survival, success & profitability strategies for not-for-profit sponsors and for-profit owner/operators by Jim Moore For the experienced senior housing professional and their staff, this book can be useful as a checklist of appropriate strategies and initiatives. For those who are new to the industry, it can act as a strategic planning handbook, in many cases offering a step-by-step process.
Call Number: HD7287.92.U54 M66 2009
Senior Living Communities by Benjamin W. Pearce In this thoroughly updated and revised edition, Benjamin W. Pearce offers a wealth of sound advice and practical solutions. He discusses resident relations, operating methods, staffing ratios, department management, cost containment, sales and marketing strategies, techniques of financial analysis, budgeting, and human resources.
Publication Date: 2007
Assisted Living Community Executive Director Primer by Argentum The Assisted Living Community Executive Director Primer provides senior living executive directors information on how to be more effective in their jobs. It provides information on accepted best practices and helps executive directors enhance and augment skills and knowledge in various domains of study critical to performance excellence.
Call Number: REF HV1454.A74 2017
Seniors Housing State Regulatory Handbook 2020 by American Seniors Housing Association The 2020 edition of the Seniors Housing State Regulatory Handbook features easy-to-use matrices of key state licensure and regulatory requirements in all 50 states and the District of Columbia for assisted living residences and CCRCs.
Call Number: REF HD 7287.92.U6 S46 2020
Housing Design for an Increasingly Older Population by Victor Regnier This book presents innovative solutions for those who create and provide housing for the world''s increasingly longer-living population. By focusing on three specific housing and service arrangements, it offers alternatives that provide greater freedom of choice than the current living arrangements that exist today.
Publication Date: 2018
Policy and Program Planning for Older Adults and People with Disabilities by Elaine Jurkowski The second edition of this landmark textbook is distinguished by its pioneering approach to encompassing disability and aging policies under one umbrella, in response to the newly developed Administration on Aging and Disability. It addresses policy changes impacting health and disability services resulting from the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and other new legislation, and offers a pioneering approach to transforming policy into practice applications. New to the second edition is current census data and new legislative mandates from the ACA and other policy organizations impacting aging adults and/or disabled populations. Also included is new coverage on Social Media, Motivational Interviewing, Health Literacy, Underrepresented Groups, LGBT, and Rural Communities. Podcasts, available as downloads, present the messages of advocates, lobbyists, policy experts, and consumers who address various aspects of relevant policies and policy development. Unlike other texts, the book focuses on triangulating skills, policies, and programs for graduate students in social work, public health, gerontology, and rehabilitation. It aims thus to enhance understanding of policy development through a critical analysis and review of policy framework, and promotes development of skills in shaping programs and implementing policy. The text lays out tools that facilitate policy and program development to include the media, coalition building, the use of an evidence base, and how each mandated policy addresses these programs and services. Chapters include learning objectives, case studies, review/discussion questions, and resources for additional information. An Instructors Manual, Test Bank, and PowerPoint slides facilitate the teaching process. New to the Second Edition: Addresses both disability and aging policiesIncludes updated census dataPresents new legislation and mandates for the ACA, Veterans and the Military, Caregivers/Caregiver Support Act, Alzheimer Support, Health Lifestyles, Aging and Disability Resource Centers, Elder Justice Act, and Substance Use and MisuseProvides new coverage on Social Media, Motivational Interviewing, Health Literacy, Minorities, Incarcerated Individuals, Immigrants/Refugees, LGBT, and Rural CommunitiesOffers podcasts of interviews with key consumers and policy experts Key Features: Lays out tools that facilitate policy and program developmentExamines major service areas for older adultsAddresses philosophical, historical, and demographic challengesEnhances understanding of policy development through critical analysisIncludes learning objectives, case studies, review questions, and instructor package
Call Number: HV1461.J87 2019
Workplace Safety for Assisted Living: Pre-Planning Guidance for OSHA Regulatory Compliance by Argentum
Call Number: REF HD 7287.92.U54 W67 2021

Dementia Care

Alzheimer's disease decoded : the history, present, and future of Alzheimer's disease and dementia by Ronald Sahyouni This book aims to present, educate and inform individuals about Alzheimer's disease in a comprehensive manner.
Publication Date: 2022
Losing Me, While Losing You by Jeanette A. Auger; Diane Tedford-Litle; Brenda Wallace-Allen; Janice Keefe (Foreword by) In this book, caregivers speak from their own experiences of caring for loved ones with dementia; they cover when they first noticed behavioural changes, what they did and how their role changed when they received the diagnosis, how the experiences changed their perceptions of themselves, especially in cases where important ones no longer recognized them or their, often long-standing, relationships. roles, expectations and images of self are changed throughout the caregiving process.
Call Number: RC521.A94 2021
Creative Engagement : a handbook of activities for people with dementia by Rachael Wonderlin; Geri M. Lotze (As told to) An activity book to help caregivers improve the quality of life of people who have dementia.
Call Number: RC521.W628 2020
A Leader's Manual for Dementia Care-Partner Support Groups by Edward G. Shaw; Alan Wolfelt The Dementia Care Partner's Workbook is a new resource from Companion Press that is both a support group participant's manual and self-study guide for care partners who have a loved one with Alzheimer's disease or another form of dementia.
Publication Date: 2020
Promoting Resilience in Dementia Care by Julie Christie; Wendy Mitchell (Foreword by); Mary Marshall (Foreword by) This practice-focussed resource shows dementia care professionals how to harness resilience in their daily practice when working with people living with dementia.
Publication Date: 2020
Doing Relationship-Centred Dementia Care by David I. J. Reid Sharing and evaluating a series of relationship-centred approaches to dementia care, this book enables practitioners to have hands-on involvement in improving the quality of this care.
Publication Date: 2021
Dementia as Social Experience: Valuing Life and Care by Gaynor Macdonald (Editor); Jane Mears (Editor) This innovative volume brings together an interdisciplinary group of researchers and practitioners to focus on dementia as lived experience. It foregrounds dementia's social, moral, political and economic dimensions, investigating the challenges of reframing the dementia experience for all involved.
Publication Date: 2018
Essentials of Dementia: everything you really need to know for working in dementia care by Shibley Rahman; Robert Howard; Karen Harrison Harrison Dening (Foreword by) This book is an introductory reference guide that will help students, professionals and practitioners develop their skills and expertise to better respond to the needs of people with dementia.
Publication Date: 2018
The Best Friends Approach to Dementia Care, Second Edition by Virginia Bell; David Troxel Remaining as wise and relevant as it ever was, this updated second edition brings professional care partners a wealth of new advice on how to incorporate the celebrated tenets of Best Friends (TM) into the everyday care of people with dementia.
Call Number: RC523.B43 2017
The Connectins Activity Program for People with Dementia by Ellen Bikoff-Phipps; Barbara Braddock This resource includes detailed case examples that illustrate how the Connections approach works as well as sample intervention guides that walk through how to implement specific activities and adapt them for people with early-, middle-, and late-stage dementia.
Call Number: RC953.8.R43 B55 2017
Dementia Beyond Disease by G. Power In this revised edition-including updated facts, studies, and terminology-Dr. G. Allen Power demonstrates how to achieve sustainable success in dementia care by changing the caregiving lens to focus on well-being and the ways in which it can be enhanced in people living with dementia.
Call Number: RC521 .P692 2017

Leisure & Activities

Leisure in Later Life by Michael J. Leitner; Sara F. Leitner Leisure in Later Life, Third Edition is a comprehensive text for university-level students and lecturers in leisure, as well as service providers in the field. Combining theoretical material and practical applications, this book presents valuable activity ideas and programs for providing appropriate recreational services to elders.
Call Number: GV184 .L45 2004
Strength Training for Seniors by Paige Waehner In Strength Training for Seniors, certified personal trainer Paige Waehner provides a detailed twelve-week strength program to help you safely and gradually build power, balance, and resistance with simple, easy-to-follow exercises.
Publication Date: 2020
How Seniors Are Saving the World by Thelma Reese; B. J. Kittredge
Publication Date: 2020
The Big Book of Senior Living Activities by Jillian Thomas; Debbie Bera The Big Book of Senior Living Activities features over 100 activities facilities can use to offer a welcoming environment and ensure an active, social community.
Call Number: HV1454.T46 2016
Total Engagement: Activities for Growth and Expression in Older Adults by Pamela Atwood; Thomas Atwood Designed especially for older adults as well as adult with special needs, the holistic activities in this book help strengthen physical and cognitive abilities, often both at the same time.
Call Number: RC 953.8 R43 A89 2020
Positive communication activities to reduce isolation and improve the wellbeing of older adults by Robin Dynes The activities are intended to be led by facilitators working with groups of older people in residential homes, drop-in or day centres, hospices, clubs for older people, hospitals, or support groups. The activities range from creative arts to storytelling to sports, and are all designed to keep both bodies and minds sharp, while encouraging positive relationships with others.
Publication Date: 2017-05-18
Physical Activity and Function in the Elderly by Nicola Vargas The cornerstone of this book is the physical activity and mobility in the elderly as an essential aspect of life.
Publication Date: 2020
Theatre for Lifelong Learning by Linda Lau; Rae Mansfield Theatre for Lifelong Learning is a step-by-step guide for anyone interested in teaching theatre courses and creating theatre with older adults. This book provides instructors with syllabi, discussion questions, classroom management strategies, resource lists, and activities to teach courses from beginning to end. Special topics include playwriting, play development, storytelling, theatre appreciation, theatre criticism, theatre history, and theatre theory. Older adult theatre courses support emotional well-being and development of artistic communities and anyone can contribute to lifelong learning as an instructor. If you are new to theatre and theatre education, Theatre for Lifelong Learning offers tips throughout to assist you in creating accessible environments and making courses your own. If you have a background in performing arts, this book enriches your experience with interdisciplinary approaches to share your expertise. If you are an educator, it provides useful strategies to adapt your current skill set for the theatre classroom. Regardless of your experience, you can help older adults connect, engage, and create. You may find yourself learning, exploring, and experimenting alongside your students. Teaching older adults theatre will contribute to your own enjoyment. In theatre, everyone gets to have fun!
Call Number: PN1701.L38 2022
ISBN: 9781789384925
Publication Date: 2022-11-02

Luxury Services

The Emerald Handbook of Luxury Management for Hospitality and Tourism by Anupama S. Kotur (Editor); Saurabh Kumar Dixit (Editor) Luxury is an ever-evolving concept with various interpretations in the domain of hospitality and tourism. The understanding of luxury hospitality and travel has revolved around exclusive and authentic experiences, nuanced by finer things with a focus on value rather than price. The marketing of luxury products and services has become increasingly complex as these products and services are associated not only with an image of quality, performance, and authenticity but also with how extreme experiences and products fulfil the lifestyle constructs of consumers. The Emerald Handbook of Luxury Management for Hospitality and Tourismbrings together global philosophies, principles and practices in luxury tourism management from both supply and demand perspectives. Several global case studies are presented, further illustrating the changing paradigms of luxury travel market and consumers enabling insight into the upcoming global luxury travel market. Encompassing the vibrant case studies and contemporary discussions on luxury hospitality and tourism developments during the post-pandemic era, this volume will serve as an essential resource for students, researchers, and industry practitioners of hospitality, tourism, management, and marketing consumer behavior, and consumer studies.
Publication Date: 2022-01-25

Caregiving

Creative Care: A Revolutionary Approach to Dementia and Elder Care by Anne Basting In Creative Care, Anne Basting lays the groundwork for a widespread transformation in our approach to elder care and uses compelling, touching stories to inspire and guide us all--family, friends, and health professionals--in how to connect and interact with those living with dementia.
Call Number: RC521.B3755 2020
Stages of Senior Care by Paul Hogan; Lori Hogan Choosing the best care for your aging parents and other seniors in your life is not only complex, with multiple options available, it's also highly personal and often emotional. This essential resource--written by the founders of Home Instead Senior Care, the world's largest provider of nonmedical care for seniors--guides you through a comprehensive range of things to consider, step by step, so you can make better informed decisions and be confident that the senior in your life is receiving the best care possible.
Call Number: HV1461.H627 2010
Eldercare 101: A Practical Guide to Later Life Planning, Care, and Wellbeing by Mary Jo Saavedra et. al. Eldercare 101 is a well-researched, organized, easy-to-understand guide for families desperately in need of help as they care for their aging loved ones. The book is organized into "6 pillars of aging wellbeing" legal, financial, living environment, social, medical, and spiritual. Each pillar is explored by an expert and offers best practices and tips for evaluating choices, making decisions, and living well wherever the road might lead.
Publication Date: 2016
Caring for Older Adults Holistically by Tamara R. Dahlkemper Engages you with a full-color design, dynamic photography, and real-life case studies. Guides you through the learning process with a focus on how to set priorities and think critically. Helps you to see yourself in the nurse's role with "Point of Interest" and "Critically Examine the Following" exercises as well as "Think Like a Nurse," that addresses clinical decision-making. Builds your confidence by focusing on safety with a separate chapter and QSEN incorporated throughout where appropriate to reinforce high quality care. Prepares you for the NCLEX-PN with questions and answers at the end of every chapter.
Publication Date: 2019
Finishing Our Story : Preparing for the End of Life by Gregory L. Eastwood Death is the destiny we all share, and this will not change. Yet the way we die, which had remained the same for many generations, has changed drastically in a relatively short time for those in developed countries with access to healthcare. For generations, if people were lucky enough toreach old age, not having died in infancy or childhood, in childbirth, in war, or by accident, they would take to bed, surrounded by loved ones who cared for them, and fade into death. Most likely, they would have seen their parents and grandparents die the same way, and so this manner of dyingwould be familiar: it was part of the natural cycle of life.Now less than 25 per cent of Americans die at home, having reached much older ages than people would have dreamed of in past generations, often after surviving many illnesses and even diseases that would have been terminal for their grandparents. We are fortunate to live (and die) today, supportedby myriad scientific, medical, and technological advancements, however we also face new problems as a result of the new way in which we die. We can no longer anticipate a peaceful waning at home with family. We know our lives will likely end in hospitals likely after we have endured gruelingtreatments to prolong life. We have to decide what decisions we want our loved ones, or care-givers, to make when we cannot choose for ourselves. We have to think about whether in any circumstances we would seek physician-assisted death. We know we face other questions as well, but we may not evenknow where to start.In the face of these decisions, we can feel daunted and afraid. The best remedy is information and planning. In this book, Gregory Eastwood - a physician who has cared for dying patients, served as an ethics consultant, and taught end of life issues to medical and other health profession students -draws from his substantial experience with patients and families to provide the information that will help us think clearly about the choices and issues we will face at the end of our own lives, and when faced with the deaths of our loved ones.With sensitivity and profound insight, Eastwood guides us through all the important questions about death and dying in straightforward, clear language, enhanced by real-life stories. Throughout, he shows us how we can take ownership of the way we want to die, when we must die, and feel more incontrol as death approaches.
Publication Date: 2019
Caregivers: Practices, Challenges and Expectations by Adrienne Lloyd Family caregivers play a crucial role in providing daily assistance to individuals who are unable to care for themselves. Being a family caregiver can create family caregiver burden, which is discussed in the first chapter of this book. It provides a systematic review of the interventions available for family caregivers. Chapter two and three focus on quality of life and caregiver burden among caregivers of chronic liver disease patients, and epileptic patients. Chapter four examines parents' perceptions of caring for children with learning disabilities, and their psychosocial well-being. Chapter five aims to improve the understanding on disclosure trends, impacts, and factors that may inhibit or motivate children to disclose sexual abuse experiences to their caregivers. Chapter six explores the author's experiences with caregivers of children in HIV-affected Southern African communities. The final chapter studies the accuracy of health information resources on the internet that many caregivers rely on.
Call Number: RA645.3.C3685 2016
Making Relational Care Work for Older People by Jenny Kartupelis This book explores the concept of relational care, what it feels like for older people and for carers, why it makes life happier and how those involved in residential or community care can make it work. Relational care is gaining traction as its benefits to individuals and society become recognised. This accessible book, based on real-life models and in-depth interviews, explores fresh ways that relational care can be facilitated in a variety of settings. It looks at practice in terms of team management, support for care workers, technology, design and architecture, intergenerational and multidisciplinary models, and their implications for resilience, wellbeing, policy and future funding. Chapters are arranged by theme and provide descriptions, learning points and resources for each model, as well as incorporating a wealth of interviews giving insights into the lived experience of relational care. This is a lively book full of realistic ideas and information for everyone who wants to find out more about, access or implement the best in care - the best for older people, their families, care workers, management and society.
Publication Date: 2020-10-06

Culture and Aging

Care for Older Adults in India by Ajay Bailey (Editor); Martin Hyde (Editor); K. S. James (Editor) India's ageing population is growing rapidly; over 60s constitute 7 per cent of the total population and this is projected to triple in the next four decades. Drawing on a wide range of studies, this book examines living arrangements across India and their impact on the care and wellbeing of older people. Addressing access to welfare initiatives and changing cultural norms including co-residence, family care and migration, it reveals the diversity of living arrangements, cultural customs and the welfare issues facing older adults in India.This book offers a crucial examination for practitioners, researchers and policymakers seeking to understand and develop the infrastructure required to meet the needs of older people in India.
Call Number: HV1484.I42 C37 2022
Multicultural Health by Lois Ritter; Donald H. Graham The diversity of the United States is valuable because every culture brings with it strengths and differing perspectives. Although knowing about every culture is not possible, recognizing cultural similarities and differences is essential for delivering effective community services and one-on-one health care to individuals. The thoroughly updated third edition of Multicultural Health provides an introduction and overview to the concepts and theories related to cultural issues in health and serves as a primer on health issues and practices specific to certain cultural groups. Divided into three distinct units (The Foundations; Specific Cultural Groups; and Looking Ahead), this book contains robust pedagogy in each chapter to stimulate critical thinking and classroom and online discussions. For this new edition, the authors have added a second case study to each chapter, added new topics (e.g., generational and rural/urban cultures), and updated and/or added statistical, legal, and health information (including COVID-19) throughout the book. This is a must-have text for instructors and students in both undergraduate and graduate-level programs across all of the health professions.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73.M85 2023
Trends and Determinants of Healthy Aging in China by Yi Zeng (Editor); Jiehua Lu (Editor); Xiaoyan Lei (Editor); Xiaoming Shi (Editor) This book studies healthy aging in China based on analyses of the datasets of eight waves of longitudinal survey in 1998-2018 with worldwide largest sample of oldest-old. It consists of four parts. The first part reports the 6th, 7th, and 8th surveys of "Chinese Longitudinal Healthy Longevity Survey" (CLHLS), with the largest sample of oldest-old aged 80+ in the world and comparable sample of young-old aged 65-79, trends and characteristics of physical health and mental health of older adults in China based on analyses of the CLHLS datasets. The second part focuses on analyses and discussions of the influencing factors of healthy aging from perspectives of families, socioeconomics and community environments. The third part reports studies on the gender and age differences in main chronic diseases' prevalence rates, inflammation, anti-oxidation, trace elements, effects of the nutritional dietary structure and the environmental selenium on health among the older adults. The fourth part focuses on the analyses and discussions of policy recommendations to face the serious challenges of the population aging in China and the database of the eight waves of CLHLS from 1998 to 2018, which are available free of charge to scholars, practitioners and general public for scientific research and socioeconomic planning. This book is easy to read and to understand by researchers and the general public, and no special professional background is required.
Call Number: RA564.8.Z46413 2022
Anthropological Perspectives on Aging by Britteny M. Howell (Editor); Ryan P. Harrod (Editor) An in-depth and wide-ranging approach to the study of older adults in society. Taking a holistic approach to the study of aging, this volume uses biological, archaeological,medical, and cultural perspectives to explore how older adults have functioned in societies around the globe and throughout human history. As the world'spopulation over 65 years of age continues to increase, this wide-ranging approach fills a growing need for both academics and service professionals in gerontology, geriatrics, and related fields. Case studies from the United States, Tibet, Turkey, China, Nigeria, and Mexicoprovide examples of the ways age-related changes are influenced by environmental, genetic, sociocultural, and political-economic variables. Taken together, they help explain how the experience of aging varies across time and space. These contributions from noted anthropological scholars examine evolutionary and biological understandings of human aging, the roles of elders in various societies, issues of gender and ageism, and the role of chronic illness and "successful aging" among older adults. This volume highlights how an anthropology of aging can illustrate how older adults adapt to shifting life circumstances and environments, including changes to the ways in which individuals and families care for them. The research in Anthropological perspectives on Aging can also help researchers, students, and practitioners reach across disciplines to address age discrimination and help improve health outcomes throughout the life course.
Publication Date: 2023-02-21
The Road to Better Long-Term Care in Asia and the Pacific : Building Systems of Care and Support for Older Persons by Asian Development Bank The Asian Development Bank is at the forefront of providing countries across Asia and the Pacific with the technical assistance needed to develop long-term care systems and services for older people. This report shares insights from six diverse countries at different stages of demographic change: Indonesia, Mongolia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tonga, and Viet Nam. It explores the situation of long-term care development in these countries, identifies common challenges and promising practices, and recommends key priorities for future action in system strengthening and service delivery.
Publication Date: 2022
Senior Citizens of India: Emerging Challenges and Concerns by S. Irudaya Rajan; Udaya S. Mishra This book provides an overview of multiple facets of ageing and its evolving dynamics in various Indian states. It elaborates on key dimensions like health, dependence and disability, as well as living arrangements for the elderly. Drawing on information from National Sample Surveys to offer readers a broader and richer understanding of the evolving demographic reality in India, the book addresses a range of detailed policies and programmes for the elderly in India. Given its scope, the book is essential reading for students and researchers in the fields of sociology, demography, economics and development studies. It also offers a valuable reference guide for anyone engaged in planning and policy formulation for social security, welfare of the aged or mainstreaming ageing concerns.
Publication Date: 2020-09-09
Ethical Challenges in Multi-Cultural Patient Care: by H. Russell Searight This book provides an up-to-date description of cross-cultural aspects of end-of-life decision-making. The work places this discussion in the context of developments in the United States such as the emphasis on patient informed consent, "right to die" legal cases, and the federal Patient Self-Determination Act. With the globalization of health care and increased immigration from developing to developed countries, health care professionals are experiencing unique challenges in communicating with seriously ill patients and their families about treatment options as well as counselling all patients about advance medical care planning. While many Western countries emphasize individual autonomy and patient-centered decision-making, cultures with a greater collectivist orientation have, historically, often protected patients from negative health information and emphasized family-centered decision-making. In order to place these issues in context, the history of informed consent in medicine is reviewed. Additionally, cross-cultural issues in health care decision-making are analysed from the perspective of multiple philosophical theories including deontology, utilitarianism, virtues, principlism, and communitarian ethics.  This book is a valuable addition to courses on end-of-life care, death and dying, cross-cultural health, medical anthropology, and medical ethics and an indispensable guide for healthcare workers dealing with patients coming from various cultural backgrounds.
Publication Date: 2019-08-16
Ageing and Effecting Long-Term Care in China by Sabrina Ching Yuen Luk; Hui Zhang; Peter P. Yuen "Recognizing rapidly ageing population is one key concern faced by cities and the challenge it would present to healthcare system, this book looks at ageing in Chinas population as well as the delivery and financing of long-term care (LTC) in China. The book compares key features of long-term care insurance (LTCI) schemes in fifteen pilot cities and evaluates the sustainability of various financing models adopted by the cities in the LTCI schemes. The book uses an interpretive case study approach to give an in-depth look into the LTC models in three pilot cities - Qingdao, Nantong, and Shanghai. The three cities represent three different models of financing and delivering LTC. To assess how effective the LTC models in these three cities are, the book uses five criteria, including utilization of medical resources, cost, equity, quality of care and sustainability. The authors also discuss how the financing and delivery of LTC can be improved in China, the impact of the 2019 coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic on older adults in need of LTC in the country and the implications of Chinas LTCI reform for other countries. The book will be a useful reference to scholars and policy makers who look at urban ageing and healthcare costs and delivery"--
Publication Date: 2021
Changes in Care:Aging, Migration, and Social Class in West Africa by Cati Coe Africa is known both for having a primarily youthful population and for its elders being held in high esteem. However, this situation is changing: people in Africa are living longer, some for many years with chronic, disabling illnesses. In Ghana, many older people, rather than experiencing a sense of security that they will be respected and cared for by the younger generations, feel anxious that they will be abandoned and neglected by their kin. In response to their concerns about care, they and their kin are exploring new kinds of support for aging adults, from paid caregivers to social groups and senior day centers. These innovations in care are happening in fits and starts, in episodic and scattered ways, visible in certain circles more than others. By examining emergent discourses and practices of aging in Ghana, Changes in Care makes an innovative argument about the uneven and fragile processes by which some social change occurs. There is a short film that accompanies the book, "Making Happiness: Older People Organize Themselves" (2020), an 11-minute film by Cati Coe. Available at: https://doi.org/doi:10.7282/t3-thke-hp15
Publication Date: 2021-10-15
Social Security Programs and Retirement Around the World by Courtney C. Coile (Editor); Kevin Milligan (Editor); David A. Wise (Editor) In developed countries, men's labor force participation at older ages has increased in recent years, reversing a decades-long pattern of decline. Participation rates for older women have also been rising. What explains these patterns, and the differences in them across countries? The answers to these questions are pivotal as countries face fiscal and retirement security challenges posed by longer life-spans.   This eighth phase of the International Social Security project, which compares the social security and retirement experiences of twelve developed countries, documents trends in participation and employment and explores reasons for the rising participation rates of older workers. The chapters use a common template for analysis, which facilitates comparison of results across countries. Using within-country natural experiments and cross-country comparisons, the researchers study the impact of improving health and education, changes in the occupation mix, the retirement incentives of social security programs, and the emergence of women in the workplace, on labor markets. The findings suggest that social security reforms and other factors such as the movement of women into the labor force have played an important role in labor force participation trends.
Publication Date: 2019-12-12

Wellbeing

SeniorITy: AI and Tech Can Enhance Senior Living by Lucia Dore & Carole Railton "Do you feel frustrated and left behind as every aspect of daily life - from banking and shopping to health and communication - becomes increasingly dependent on technology, the internet, and artificial intelligence (AI)? SeniorITy empowers us as we age, and those hesitant to engage with new technologies, by exploring the positives of becoming knowledgeable and fully connected online. Accepting technological advances can help you live a long, healthy, and more rewarding life. Learn how to: understand why you find it difficult to engage with the digital world; overcome frustration with the technology necessary for everyday life; make decisions about the best tech options for you; protect yourself and your data online; embrace digital advances that can increase independence and improve quality of life." -- Back cover.
Call Number: HQ1061.D6674 2023
ISBN: 9781784529680
Publication Date: 2023
Welcoming LGBT Residents: a Practical Guide for Senior Living Staff by Tim R. Johnston Welcoming LGBT Residents is the first comprehensive guide to working with LGBT older adults in senior living settings. The LGBT older adult population represents one of the fastest-growing subpopulations within our aging society. Despite the increasing demand for LGBT-affirming services there is an absence of training books for care providers. This dual-purpose text is appropriate for training and as a guide to answer questions that may come up during daily tasks. It is based on the most recent research and includes stories and testimonials from LGBT older adults and providers in the field. Chapters include: LGBT-inclusive intake and conversations; Gender identity and expression; Memory care and LGBT people; Navigating family dynamics; Addressing conflict between residents; Staff opinions, beliefs, and training. This timely book will be of interest to professional care providers, from long-term care nurses and assisted living administrators to staff in retirement communities, as well as students in gerontology, health care administration, and social work courses.
Publication Date: 2019
Well-Being of Older People in Ageing Societies by Asghar Zaidi Well-Being of Older People in Ageing Societies poses answers to the question of how we can measure and conceptualize the well-being of older people. It focuses on the future research agenda and policy reforms that will be necessary to maintain a decent well-being for older people, given the context of our ageing populations. This book draws on longitudinal datasets and empirical research on the multidimensional measures of older people's welfare, providing a comparative analysis of social assistance and pensions for older people in the UK and The Netherlands. This title will be essential reading to anyone with an interest in gerontology and the effect society, public policy and governance can have on the welfare of older people.
How to Say It® to Seniors: closing the communication gap with our elders by David Solie A practical guide to bridging the generation gap. How to Say It to Seniors, geriatric psychology expert David Solie offers help in removing the typical communication blocks many experience with the elderly. By sharing his insights into the later stages of life, Solie helps in understanding the unique perspective of seniors, and provides the tools to relate to them.
Call Number: HD1064.U5 S5984 2004
Community Care of Older People by David Beales This comprehensive book gives an up-to-date profile of all aspects of the care of older people in the community, with particular emphasis on the importance of maintaining function and independence as well as health. In a uniquely broad approach, the book is edited by two family doctors with a particular interest in the elderly and a consultant geriatrician, and the varied subjects are each presented by experts in their field. This accessible book enables primary care teams to produce optimal standards of care in old age, and is helpful in the organization of preventive care programmes. Emphasizing the need for joint working, the book draws together practical knowledge and skills to produce an essential source of reference and advice for all those involved in delivering a co-ordinated service. It is essential reading for all doctors in general practice and in public health, medical students and all other professionals whose work brings them into contact with elderly people. It is particularly useful for general practice teams, allied professionals such as nurses and physiotherapists, as well as patients and carers seeking an understanding of good practice. It also contains much practical information vital to the work of voluntary agencies, social service departments and specialists in geriatric medicine.
Anti-Discriminatory Practice in Mental Health Care for Older People by Peter Cockersell et.al. Exploring the key issues around anti-discriminatory practice for professionals working in mental health services, this book looks at ways to improve the health and social care of older people from minority and excluded communities. The chapters explore the issues involved in working with individuals from a range of minority groups, such as LGBT people, people with learning disabilities, people from black and minority ethnic communities, homeless people and people with dementia. The chapters cover important theory and research into discrimination, ageing and identity. Contributions from experts in the fields of mental health and working with minority groups provide practical insights into developing anti-discriminatory practice.There is also practical advice on culturally appropriate support for carers, cultural competency in end of life care, working with interpreters, and celebrating diversity, accompanied by supporting practical resources. This comprehensive book will provide mental health practitioners and students with an essential understanding of anti-discriminatory practice.
Counselling and Psychotherapy with Older People in Care by Felicity Chapman This supportive guide for psychotherapists, counsellors and other professionals working with older people, addresses the growing demand for mental health services for older adults. It covers a range of issues that arise within this demographic including residential living, the referral process, assessment and engagement, and attitudes towards ageing, while contextualising these issues within larger social and political frameworks.
Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care by Maria Llorente (Editor) Health care organizations are beginning to recognize the importance of cultural competence as it relates to efficiency, quality, and equity in the delivery of care within a competitive health care market, and Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care is designed to train mental health clinicians to deliver culturally sensitive care to an increasingly diverse patient population.
Publication Date: 2018
This Chair Rocks: A Manifesto Against Ageism by Ashton Applewhite Author, activist, and TED speaker Ashton Applewhite has written a rousing manifesto calling for an end to discrimination and prejudice on the basis of age.
Call Number: BF724.85.S45 A77 2019
Social Isolation of Older Adults: Strategies to bolster health and well-bring by Lenard W. Kaye; Clifford M. Singer Critical strategies for confronting a dire, yet under-addressed societal epidemic--the risky and potentially deadly consequences for older adults living a socially isolated life, are the focus for this book.
Call Number: RA564.8.S63 2019
Aging with Agency: Building resilience, confronting challenges, and navigating eldercare by Sandi Peters; Drew Leder (Foreword by) An experiential guide to re-orienting our understanding of old age as one of life's most meaningful and transformative stages.
Call Number: BF724.55.A35 P48 2020
Social Isolation and Loneliness in Older Adults:Opportunities for the health care system by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine et al. This report makes recommendations specifically for clinical settings of health care to identify those who suffer the resultant negative health impacts of social isolation and loneliness and target interventions to improve their social conditions.
Publication Date: 2020
Senior Citizens of India: Emerging challenges and concerns by S. Irudaya Rajan; Udaya S. Mishra This book provides an overview of multiple facets of ageing and its evolving dynamics in various Indian states.
Publication Date: 2020-09-09
Covid-19 Older Adults and the Ageing Society by Suhita Chopra; Debolina Chatterjee
Publication Date: 2022-06-01
Doorway Thoughts: Cross-Cultural Health Care for Older Adults, Volume I by A. G. S. American Geriatrics Society Doorway Thoughts: Cross-Cultural Health Care for Older Adults addresses the role of ethnicity in health decision-making in America. This book focuses on how clinicians caring for older adults can develop an understanding of different ethnic groups in order to effectively care for their patients.
Call Number: RA 564.8.D66 2004 v.1
Doorway Thoughts: Cross Cultural Health Care for Older Adults, Volume II by A. G. S. American Geriatrics Society Doorway Thoughts: Cross Cultural Health Care for Older Adults addresses the role of ethnicity in health decision-making in America. This book focuses on how clinicians caring for older adults can develop an understanding of different ethnic groups in order to effectively care for their patients.
Call Number: RA 564.8.D66 2004 v.2
Doorway Thoughts: Cross-Cultural Health Care for Older Adults, Volume III by A. G. S. American Geriatrics Society Volume III of Doorway Thoughts: Cross-Cultural Health Care for Older Adults addresses the role of religion in health decision-making in America. This book, co-authored by both religious leaders and health care professionals, focuses on how clinicians caring for older adults can develop an understanding of different religious groups in order to effectively care for their patients.
Call Number: RA 564.8.D66 2004 v.3
Social Isolation of Older Adults by Lenard W. Kaye; Clifford M. Singer With contributions from recognized scholars, clinicians, and elder-policy activists, as well as from multiple practice perspectives (direct service providers, administrators, researchers, and educators) the book documents the interrelated issues of social relationships and health in late life. It describes creative programs and intervention techniques that help maintain the integrity of an older adult's individual, group, and community relations, communication pathways, and a sense of belonging.
Call Number: RA 564.8.S63 2019
Older Adults: Physical, Mental and Social Aspects of Health and Well-Being by Freya Phillips (Editor) This book unravels the recent studies in the field of health and well-being of older adults. It presents research and studies performed by experts across the globe. Scientists and students actively engaged in this field will find this book full of crucial and unexplored concepts.
Call Number: RA 56438.O43 2022
Loneliness among Older Adults During the COVID-19 Pandemic: The Role of Family and Community Social Capital by Nan LU This book investigates the relationship between social capital and loneliness of older adults living in urban China during the COVID-19 outbreak period. It also tested the mediation role of community-based cognitive social capital on the relationship between community-based structural social capital and loneliness of older urban Chinese adults.
Publication Date: 2022-03-11
The New Sociology of Ageing by Martin Slattery This book provides a clear overview of the sociology of ageing. It introduces students to demography as a sociological force of the future, and to the perils and the promises of longevity as societies across the world approach the Hundred-Year Life.
Publication Date: 2021-11-29
Conducting Wellness Groups for Veterans and Older Adults by Victoria L. Bacon; Kristen E. Anderson; Maureen F. Boiros Conducting Wellness Groups for Veterans and Older Adults: The Legacy Model offers an innovative wellness group model for mental health practitioners. Two curricula developed by the authors are explored, the Process-Focused Legacy Group curriculum for members who are high functioning and motivated adults, and the Activity-Based Legacy Group curriculum tailored for persons with disabilities and/or cognitive impairments.
Publication Date: 2022-09-20
Subjective Views of Aging: Theory, Research, and Practice by Yuval Palgi (Editor); Amit Shrira (Editor); Manfred Diehl (Editor) This book focuses on the concept of subjective views of aging. This concept refers to the way individuals conceptualize and perceive the aging process. Social and cultural perceptions regarding older adults are incorporated and internalized into views people hold regarding their own aging process. The book contains three parts which present theoretical, empirical, and translational perspectives about subjective views of aging. The theoretical section expands the framework of subjective views of aging with the inclusion of additional concepts, and further integrates these concepts by accounting for their synergistic effects. The empirical section presents recent developments in the field starting at the intra-individual level as assessed by ecological momentary assessments, going through the level of interpersonal relationships, and concluding at the social and cultural levels. Finally, the translational section presents recent endeavours to develop interventions aimed at advancing favourable views of aging. This cutting-edge edited book includes chapters written by internationally renowned scholars in the field and serves as an up-to-date resource for scholars in the field as well as a textbook for students in courses like social gerontology, lifespan psychology, and life course sociology.
Call Number: HB849.41.P35 2022

Food Service

Take back the tray : revolutionizing food in hospitals, schools, and other institutions by Joshna Maharaj Take Back the Tray is part manifesto, part memoir from the trenches, and a blueprint for reclaiming control from corporations and brutal bottom lines. Maharaj reconnects food with health, wellness, education, and rehabilitation in a way that serves people, not just budgets, and proves change is possible with honest, sustained commitment on all levels, from government right down to the person sorting the trash.
Publication Date: 2020

Misc. Senior Living Topics

A Senior Moment by Line Grenier (Editor); Fannie Valois-Nadeau (Editor) This book focuses on the cultural mediations of ageing and memory, teasing out their complex and largely unpredictable relationships and interconnections. Its overall purpose is to explore different practices, commodities, daily routines, sounds, images and technologies that configure memory and ageing and shape our experiences of living in time and with time.
Publication Date: 2020
Eldercare, Health, and Ecosyndemics in a Perilous World by Janelle Christensen Dr. Christensen uses anthropological methods to illuminate the lived experience of families caring for elder relatives during climate related events: a unique conundrum facing increasing numbers of people living in coastal areas.
Disrupting the Status Quo of Senior Living by Jill Vitale-Aussem Disrupting the Status Quo of Senior Living: A Mindshift challenges readers to question long-accepted practices, examine their own biases, and work toward creating vibrant cultures of possibility and growth for elders. Shining a light on her own professional field, Jill Vitale-Aussem exposes the errors of current thinking and demonstrates how a shift in perspective can affect real cultural transformation.
Housing Design for an Increasingly Older Population: redefining assisted living for the mentally and physically frail by Victor Regnier A comprehensive guide to designing housing for the world's aging population The dilemma of helping older people maintain their independence through better housing with services is growing. This book presents innovative solutions for those who create and provide housing for the world's increasingly longer-living population.
Publication Date: 2018
Safeguarding Social Security for Future Generations by W. Andrew Achenbaum This book offers a unique multigenerational approach to saving Social Security. Public programs have adapted to societal aging, but fears overwhelm hopes for Social Security's future prospects. Conservatives want to privatize operations that liberals seek to expand. Younger workers are happy that Social Security protects their elders, but most do not expect benefits when needed. Achenbaum reframes conflicting perspectives and offers new models of respectful transgenerational dialogue that can mobilize pragmatic reforms. Designed for use in gerontology, social work, and public policy courses, Safeguarding Social Security for Future Generations offers measured hope for leaving a legacy that safeguards the common good.
Call Number: HD7125.A33 2023

Encyclopedias- Senior Living

The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health by Brigham Narins "Provides a comprehensive survey of topics covering a variety of issues related to aging and the elderly in five main entry types: diseases/conditions; treatment, rehabilitation, and recovery; aging, general health, and death and dying; preventative lifestyle choices; and community and care-giving options"--
Publication Date: 2021

Reports - Senior Living

Seniors Housing Guide to Fair Housing and ADA Compliance 2022 by ASHA This newly revised publication, in its 6th edition, provides timely and thorough information to seniors housing owners and operators about evolving issues regarding the Fair Housing Act, Americans with Disabilities Act, court decisions and interpretations
Call Number: REF KF5740.G67 2022
Assisted Living Salary & Benefits Report 2021-2022 by HCS
Call Number: REF RA997.A1 A247 2021-2022
Continuing Care Retirement Community Salary & Benefits Report 2021-2022 by HCS
Call Number: REF HV1454.2.U5 A18 2021-2022
The Changing Face of Active Adult Rental by Senior Housing News A new Senior Housing News survey of 120 senior housing professionals reveals an industry intensely bullish on active adult — the age-restricted or age-targeted multifamily-style apartment product with no care component. This report reveals the depth of senior housing’s interest in active adult, the execution of the product, the mindset of the consumer, and how these factors are re-writing the care continuum.
Call Number: HD7287.9.C355 2019
The entrepreneurial spirit of seniors housing : thoughts, stories and lessons on leadership by American Seniors Housing Association "... marks the first release of a two-phase research project. This report provides an insightful glimpse into the mindset of "experienced" adult children, the older age cohort of the Baby Boomers, aged 56 to 64 and the younger age cohort of the Silent Generation, age 65 to 74 years old, who have a parent or loved one currently residing in a senior living community."--Publisher's website.
Call Number: REF HD7287.92.U6 E58 2012
Independent Living and Assisted Living Resident Profiles by American Seniors Housing Association
Call Number: REF HD 7287.92.U54 I535 2017
Innovative Food & Dining Trends in Senior Living by Senior Living News Dining drives senior living business—there’s no question about it. As dining rooms look more like restaurants and celebrity chefs come into the mainstream, there’s even more focus on this element of senior living in recent years. This report includes 35 pages of original research and photos that provide forward-thinking approaches after which providers can model their own food and dining endeavors.
Call Number: TX946.I56 2017
Inside The Future of Skilled Nursing Design by Senior Housing News Inside The Future of Skilled Nursing Design thoroughly examines the most prominent SNF design trends on the short- and long-term horizon. The most successful providers incorporate these trends while creating strong partnerships with architects and designers to create a resident-centric community, all while staying on budget.
Call Number: HD7287.92.U54 I57 2018
Inside The Future of University Partnerships In Senior Living by Senior Housing News Senior Housing News takes a deep dive into the future of university partnerships in senior living, from the successes to the failures. Our original report shows why creating strong ties with a university is one of the smartest moves a senior housing provider can make.
Call Number: HD 7287.92.U54.I57 2017
Inside the Rise of Multi-Venue Dining in Senior Living by Senior Housing News This report examines the top design and management principles that are shaping the high-variety senior living dining experience.
Call Number: NA7195.A4 i57 2017
Inside the Rise of Senior Living Virtual Reality by Senior Housing News After a decade of whispers, trials, pilots and promise, virtual reality now seems on the precipice of a boom in senior housing and senior care settings. A bevy of companies have arrived to tailor VR solutions directly to seniors. These innovations give operators new solutions to age-old challenges, including resident isolation, dementia support and pain management.
Call Number: HD1569.5.I56 2019
Media relations and crisis communications handbook : building trusting relationships by American Seniors Housing Association The Handbook is an expanded and revised combination of ASHA's two media relations-related resources (Seniors Housing Publicity Handbook and Seniors Housing Crisis Communications Handbook). The resource has a two-fold purpose: helping you and your team generate positive media coverage and providing guidance for handling difficult crisis situations.
Call Number: REF HD 59.M44 2018
The Most Influential Senior Living Brands Online by Senior Housing News Senior Living providers are beginning to understand the power of social media and how it can influence their business. Senior Housing News has analyzed the industry's social media landscape and has ranked the most influential providers online. In addition, the report provides an inside look at how some of the largest providers manage their presence online and the strategy behind why they are making the investment.
Call Number: HD7287.9.M67 2015
The New Active Adult Housing: and how senior living providers can thrive in a 55+ world. by Senior Housing News Featuring interviews with senior living industry leaders and architects, "The New Active Adult Housing" report takes readers deep inside this ever-evolving, lucrative space, one that forward-thinking senior living stakeholders are seemingly redefining by the day.
Call Number: HD7287.9.N44 2018
The Next Generation: Strategies to Attract and Develop Senior Living's Future Leaders by Senior Housing News Our detailed report brings more than 60 pages of original research to provide an inside look at young people's expectations as they consider the senior living industry, how universities are preparing them for jobs in senior living and what providers are doing to recruit, retain and propel them to the next level in their careers.
Call Number: HD 7288.78.U5.N46 2018
People, Place, Programming: Quality of Life in Assisted Living by American Seniors Housing Association This new 100-page report was authored by leading industry researchers, Margaret Wylde, Ph. D. and Kristen Paris, Ph. D. of ProMatura Group, and summarizes findings from a study of 2,322 assisted living customers from 106 communities.
Call Number: REF HD 7287.92.U54 W93 2019
The Primary Care Opportunity In Senior Living by Senior Housing News Health care costs for seniors are soaring, health levels are plateauing and experts across the care continuum are searching for fixes to both. The answer could be found by going back to the basics in medical care. And senior housing might hold the key.
Call Number: HD 7287.92.U54 P77 2019
The Senior Living Dining Evolution by Senior Housing News Senior Housing News analyzed the industry's dining landscape and found the days of buffets and institutional settings are over. In today’s market, providers are delivering a dining experience previously found only at five-star restaurants. Our detailed report brings more than 35 pages of original research and photos that provide an inside look at how top providers are doing dining, from equipment to staffing and around-the-clock food service offerings.
Call Number: NA 7195.A4 S46 2015
Senior living for the next generation : Volume 1, A view through the lens of the experienced adult child by American Seniors Housing Association "This report provides an insightful glimpse into the mindset of "experienced" adult children, the older age cohort of the Baby Boomers, aged 56 to 64 and the younger age cohort of the Silent Generation, age 65 to 74 years old, who have a parent or loved one currently residing in a senior living community."--Publisher's website.
Call Number: REF HD 7287.92.U6 S54 2011
Senior Living for the Next Generation: Volume II A View Through the Lens of Industry Thought Leaders by American Seniors Housing Association "The 68-page report compares findings from industry thought leaders to the results of a survey of adult children of existing seniors housing residents (published as Volume I) and includes commentaries from four organizations that are dedicated to the issues of aging but not involved with the provision of seniors housing."--Publisher's website.
Call Number: REF HD7287.92.U6 S55 2012
The Senior Living Smart Home Revolution by Senior Housing News In this report, we reveal how innovative senior living providers are pivoting toward smart homes to deliver their value propositions. Senior living residents have the same questions they’ve always had — they want to know how operators will keep them safe, happy and independent. With smart homes in senior living, the answers to these questions have never been more exciting.
Call Number: HV1569.5S38 2018
Senior Living Technology Report, 2017 by American Seniors Housing Association The 2017 ASHA Senior Living Technology Report summarizes the results of a study conducted for ASHA by ProMatura. This research is believed to be the first of its kind to assess over 30 technologies that fall under the following four categories: Building & Community Technologies; Resident Care Technologies; Resident Use Technologies; and Office/Management Technologies.
Call Number: REF HV 1569.5.S4 2017
Seniors housing guide to fair housing and ADA compliance Gordon, Paul Esq.; American Seniors Housing Association. by American Seniors Housing Association This newly revised publication, in its Fifth Edition, provides timely and thorough information to seniors housing owners and operators about evolving issues regarding the Fair Housing Act, Americans with Disabilities Act, court decisions and interpretations.
Call Number: REF KF 5740.G67 2016
Seniors housing state regulatory handbook, 2019 by American Seniors Housing Association This collaborative effort between the American Seniors Housing Association (ASHA) and Leading Age (formerly American Association of Homes and Services for the Aging) features easy-to-use matrices of key state licensure and regulatory requirements in all 50 states and the District of Columbia for assisted living residences and CCRCs. State-by-state comparisons are made easy by using this annually-revised report.
Call Number: REF HD 7287.92.U5 S465 2019
Senior Housing State Regulatory Handbook by ASHA
Call Number: REF HD7287.92.U5 S46 2023
Publication Date: 2023
Senior Housing State Regulatory Handbook by ASHA
Call Number: REF HF7287.92.U5 S46 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Seniors Housing State Regulatory Handbook 2021 by ASHA The 2021 edition of the Seniors Housing State Regulatory Handbook, a collaborative effort between the American Seniors Housing Association (ASHA) and Leading Age has just been released and features easy-to-use matrices of key state licensure and regulatory requirements in all 50 states and the District of Columbia for assisted living residences and CCRCs. State-by-state comparisons are made easy by using this annually revised report. Updated state agency contact information for assisted living and CCRCs is also provided in this publication.
Call Number: REF HD7287.92.U5 S46 2021
Seniors Housing Statistical Handbook 6th edition by American Seniors Housing Association This 102-page resource draws from a wide range of government data sources, including the U.S. Census Bureau, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and Federal Reserve Board, and also utilizes data from several serial reports that ASHA publishes, including the State of Seniors Housing, ASHA 50 and more.
Call Number: REF HD 7287.92.U6 S45 2019
The State of Seniors Housing 2019 by American Seniors Housing Association The report contains all pertinent financial and performance measures including: resident turnover and length of stay, annual financial results per occupied unit, staffing ratios and labor costs, other key cost items, key financial performance indicators and more. A must-have resource for owners, operators, lenders, investors and other professionals interested in the market-rate seniors housing business.
Call Number: REF HD 7287.92.U6 S73 2019
The State of Seniors Housing 2020 by American Seniors Housing Association The premier research report on seniors housing operational performance with robust data from almost 1,750 independent living communities, assisted living residences and continuing care retirement communities, comprising over 225,000 units.
Call Number: REF HD7287.92.U6 S73 2020
The State of Senior Housing 2021 by ASHA The premier research report on seniors housing operational performance with data collected at year-end 2020 from almost 1,800 independent living communities, assisted living residences and continuing care retirement communities, comprising over 225,000 units.
Call Number: REF HD 7287.92 .U6 S73 2021
The State of Seniors Housing 2022 by ASHA
Call Number: REF HD 7287.92.U6 S73 2022
Strategies for Mixed-Use Development in Senior Living by Senior Living News More than ever before, seniors today seek innovative housing models for their golden years. They want walkable access to retail, health care and entertainment. They want a connection to the outdoors and an intergenerational community.
Call Number: NA7195.A4 S68 2018
Unlocking the mystery behind very satisfied independent living customers : make them "feel at home" by American Seniors Housing Association This study focuses on understanding independent living customers and what makes them feel at home.
Call Number: REF HD7287.92.U54 U74 2014
The Urban Opportunity: Senior Living Development And Design In The City by Senior Housing News Move over millennials, city living is attracting a whole new generation — seniors. Drawn by walkability, proximity to health care, an array of services, entertainment and more, older Americans are pursuing the city lifestyle. Senior housing providers are taking note. Seizing this opportunity can yield incredible success for developers and operators who approach the urban market with the right research. Is your organization up to the challenge?
Call Number: HD7287.92.U54.U77 2017
The Wellness Revolution Shaping Senior Living by Senior Housing News Wellness is big business, and business is good. With big spending on a multitude of areas including nutrition, fitness and health care, wellness is a $3.7 trillion industry. What people are trying to buy with their money is personal fulfillment in five main areas: physical, emotional, mental, social and spiritual.
Call Number: NA 7195.A4 W45 2018
Why Senior Living Should Embrace Hospice by Senior Housing News In less than ten years, hospice services have skyrocketed in AL, which today comprises 20% of all hospice patients. If trends continue, assisted living will soon pass nursing facilities and trail only a person’s home as the most common hospice setting. Yet many operators remain holdouts despite hospice’s benefits to senior living, which include occupancy and revenue. Those who embrace it will be prepared to serve the rapidly increasing number of seniors who view hospice as essential to their quality of life.
Call Number: HD 7287.92.U54 W476 2019