"The LGBTQArchitect is a grass-roots, open-content project designed to provide immediately useable information and resources for creating and improving programs which support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and ally (LGBTQA) people on college and university campuses."
"The Coalition for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Awareness (CLGBTA) is one of the Entity Groups within the American College Personnel Association charged to increase awareness, eliminate oppression, and provide support for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community in higher education, for faculty, students, and staff."
"he combined vision and mission of the Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resource Professionals is to achieve higher education environments in which lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students, faculty, staff, administrators, and alumni have equity in every respect. Our goals are to support colleagues and develop curriculum to professionally enhance this work; to seek climate improvement on campuses; and to advocate for policy change, program development, and establishment of LGBT Offices/Centers."
"The Campus Pride Index is a vital tool for assisting campuses in learning ways to improve their LGBTQ campus life and ultimately shape the educational experience to be more inclusive, welcoming and respectful of LGBTQ and Ally people."
Search policies at colleges & universities:
- with nondiscrimination policies that include gender identity/expression
- that cover transition-related medical expenses under student health insurance
- that cover transition-related medical expenses under employee health insurance
- that provide gender-inclusive housing
- that allow students to change the name & gender on campus records
- with a trans-inclusive intramural athletic policy
- with LGBTQ identity questions as an option on admission applications & enrollment forms
- women colleges with trans-inclusive admissions policies
"The Lambda 10 Project, an educational initiative of Campus Pride & its Q Research Institute for Higher Education, commissioned the first-ever national formal research exploring the LGBTQ experience within fraternities and sororities from 1960 to 2007."
"Since 1986, Delta Lambda Phi (DLP) has offered gay, bisexual, and progressive men the opportunity to grow in the true spirit of brotherhood — one that embraces diversity and respects the value of all."
Expanding the Circle: creating an inclusive environment in higher education for LGBTQ students & studies by John C. Hawley (Editor)
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 3rd Floor -- LC2574.6.E96 2015
Examines strategies and best practices that effectively integrate LGBTQ areas of teaching and research with student life activities.
Stonewall's Legacy: bisexual, gay, lesbian, & transgender students in higher education
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 3rd Floor -- LC2574.6.M37 2011
"Contemporary American colleges are increasingly queer places, where significant steps toward inclusion of BGLT students have been made. Tracing the journey of BGLT students' emergence, which parallels the modern gay rights movement in America, this monograph provides an overview of data and theory derived from studying BGLT students and student movements in higher education."
Our Place on Campus: lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender services & programs in higher education
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 3rd Floor -- LC2574.6.O85 2002
-- Pt. I: LGBT Centers on Campus: What Are They & Why Do You Need Them? -- Pt. II: Starting Your Program or Center -- Pt. III: Identifying & Providing Programs & Services -- Pt. IV: Maintaining Your Center
Working with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender College Students: a handbook for faculty & administrators by Ronni L. Sanlo
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 3rd Floor -- LC192.6.W67 1998
-- Part I: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Students: Who Are They & What Do They Need? -- Part II: Special People/Special Places -- Part III: Career Planning & Advising -- Part IV: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Health Issues on Campus -- Part V: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Issues in Athletics -- Part VI: Faculty & the Classroom -- Part VII: Administration & Policy -- Part VIII: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Student Leadership & Organizations -- Part IX: Programs & Possibilities -- Part X: Unique Institutions -- Part XI: Technology & the Lavender Web
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 3rd Floor -- LC212.862.M35 1997
NOTE: Online access is limited to 1 simultaneous user ch4ck availability of print version
"Lesbian and gay academics all over the country are subjected to homophobic personal slights, harassment, and discrimination. How do they cope, and what kinds of actions can promote positive change? This book tells the author's story and reports on the experiences of some 300 lesbian and gay academics with at least 15 years in their profession."
Out on Fraternity Row: personal accounts of being gay in a college fraternity
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 3rd Floor -- LJ51.O88 1998
"In a uncompromising and candid portrait of gay life on campus, more than thirty gay men describe their experiences inside college fraternities, their decision to either come out or keep silent, and the impact of that choice."
American Law Reports
American Law Reports provide detailed discussions concerning legal issues with extensive summaries of relevant court cases.
Reference KF 132.A5...
5 ALR Fed 2d 551 - Validity, Construction, & Application of Solomon Amendment, which Denies Federal Funding to Institutions of Higher Education that Prohibit Military Representatives Access to & Assistance for Recruiting Purposes (available via WestLaw)
50 ALR Fed 516 - Validity, under First Amendment & 42 U.S.C.A. sec.1983, of Public College or University's Refusal to Grant Formal Recognition to, or Permit Meetings of, Student Homosexual Organizations on Campus (available via WestLaw)