It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- B 41.C35 2015
"Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields."
Contains entries of philosophers, philosophy-related terms, and subfields of philosophy. With very few exceptions it does not include main entries on philosophers living at time of publication. The Index of Selected Names identifies individuals not having headword entries but appearing in the text of other entries.
Aims to cover "the full spectrum of philosophical topics" (preface). Nearly 1,500 signed articles — about 900 of them on individual philosophers — were contributed by an international group of scholars. Volume 10 includes an index to the set.
NOTE: Online access is limited to 1 simultaneous user
Provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influences and receptions of the most important philosophers of the twentieth century. Over 1000 entries, covering philosophers from all over the world, offer detailed biographical and bibliographical information, and analytic accounts of the thought and critical reception of each figure.
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion by [Credo]
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- B121.C66 1997
"The Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy is a unique one-volume reference work which makes richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience. Each of the six sections covers a specific tradition within Asian philosophy - Persian, Indian, Buddhist, Chinese, Japanese and Islamic."
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy by [Credo]
Call Number: B 163.E53 1997 (Reference)
Credo online cancelled due to budget cuts
Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece: Everything You Always Wanted to Know about Ancient Greek Philosophy But Didn't Know Who to Ask by [Credo]
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- B803.E45
NOTE: Online access is limited to 2 simultaneous users check availability of print version
"Reflecting the 'movements-based' nature of the Continental tradition, the Encyclopedia begins with the founding texts of Classical Idealism, and each subsequent chapter follows, in order of their emergence, the schools of thought that make up and characterise this distinctive and important tradition of philosophy."
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- B851.D53 2005
"Both academic and non-academic philosophers are represented, as are a large number of female and minority thinkers whose work has been neglected. It includes those intellectuals involved in the development of psychology, pedagogy, sociology, anthropology, education, theology, political science, and several other fields, before these disciplines came to be considered distinct from philosophy in the late nineteenth century. Each entry contains a short biography of the writer, an exposition and analysis of his or her doctrines and ideas, a bibliography of writings, and suggestions for further reading."
"Featuring 815 articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, the Encyclopedia is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts-from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture"
Call Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- BJ 63.E44 2012
NOTE: Use Elsevier ScienceDirect online version; the EBSCOhost online version is limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Contains entries on specific topics dealing with ethical theory, ethical concepts, medical and scientific ethics, environmental ethics, legal ethics, ethics and politics, business and economics ethics, media ethics, and social ethics. Each entry includes a glossary of important terms, a defining statement of the essay topic, cross-references to related essays, and a bibliography.
Call Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- BJ1191.O94 2005
Dogmatics & Ethics: Creation & Ethics -- Redemption & Ethics -- Eschatology & Ethics -- Ecclesiology & Ethics -- Divine Grace & Ethics -- Sources of Moral Knowledge: Scripture -- Divine Commands -- Tradition in the Church -- Reason & Natural Law -- Experience -- The Structure of the Christian Life: Vocation -- Virtue -- Rules -- Responsibility -- Death -- The Spirit of the Christian Life: Faith -- Hope -- Love: A Kinship of Affliction & Redemption -- Spheres of the Christian Life: Christians & Government -- Christians & Family -- Christians & Economics -- Christians & Culture -- Christians & the Church -- The Structure of Theological Ethics: Books that Give Shape to the Field: Ernst Troeltsch's The Social Teaching of the Christian Churches -- Anders Nygren's Agape & Eros -- Kenneth Kirk's The Vision of God -- H. Richard Niebuhr's Christ & Culture -- Reinhold Niebuhr's The Nature & Destiny of Man -- John Mahoney's The Making of Moral Theology -- Catholic Social Teaching