PN: Literature
- PN: Literature (General)
- PN 441-1009.5: Literary history
- PN 1010-1525: Poetry
- PN 1600-3307: Drama
- PN 3311-3503: Prose. Prose fiction
- PN 4001-4355: Oratory. Elocution, etc.
- PN 4500: Essays (Literary history)
- PN 4699-5650: Journalism. The periodical press, etc.
- PN 6010-6790: Collections of general literature
- PN 6080-6095: Quotations
P: Language & Literature
- P: Philology. Linguistics
- PA: Greek Language & Literature. Latin Language & Literature
- PB: Modern Languages. Celtic Languages
- PC: Romanic Languages
- PE: English Language
- PF: West Germanic Languages
- PG: Slavic, Baltic, & Albanian Languages
- PJ: Oriental Languages & Literatures
- PK: Indo-Iranian Languages & Literatures
- PL: Languages & Literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
- PN: Literature (General)
- PQ: French/Italian/Spanish/Portuguese Literature
- PR: English Literature
- PS: American Literature
- PT: German, Dutch, Scandinavian Literatures
See also ACLS Humanities E-Books and Oxford Scholarship Online for classical studies, linguistics, and literature
PN: Literature (General)
- Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase & Fable* byCall Number: PN 43.B65 2009 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase & Fable* byCall Number: PN 43.B74 2002 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters byCall Number: PN 44.M3 1998 (REF)
- Masterplots: 1,801 Plot Stories & Critical Evaluations of the World's Finest Literature byCall Number: PN 44.M33 1996 (REF)
- Magill’s Literary Annual byCall Number: PN 44.M335 (REF)
- Masterplots II: Nonfiction Series byCall Number: PN 44.M345 1989 (REF)
- Novels for Students byCall Number: PN 44.N937 (online only)
- The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy & Literature byCall Number: PN 45.O84 2009 (Gen Coll)
- Literature & Its Times byCall Number: PN 50.L574 1997 (REF)
- A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures: Continental Europe & Its Empires* byCall Number: PN 56.C63.H57 2008 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers & Their Work byCall Number: PN 56.H55.H66 2003 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Dictionary of Literary Symbols byCall Number: PN 56.S9.F47 1999 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Critical Terms for Literary Study byCall Number: PN 81.C84 1995 (Gen Coll)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 (LC) byCall Number: PN 86.L53 (REF)
- Edinburgh Encyclopaedia of Modern Criticism & Theory* byCall Number: PN 94.E35 2002 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) byCall Number: PN 94.T83 (REF)
- A History of Feminist Literary Criticism* byCall Number: PN 98.W64H57 2007 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Brewer's Curious Titles: the Fascinating Stories Behind More Than 1500 Famous Titles* byCall Number: PN 171.T5.B8 2002 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
PN 441-1009.5: Literary history
- Authors & Artists for Young Adults byCall Number: PN 451.A97 (online only)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
- Feminist Writers byCall Number: PN 451.F46 1996 (REF)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
- Cyclopedia of World Authors byCall Number: PN 451.M36 2004 (online only)
- Major Authors & Illustrators for Children & Young Adults byCall Number: PN 451.M37 2002 (online only)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
- Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion byCall Number: PN 471.F43 2005 (REF)
- European Writers byCall Number: PN 501.E9 1983 (REF)
- Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC) byCall Number: PN 610.C53 (REF)
- Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature byCall Number: PN 669.E53 2000 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC) byCall Number: PN 761.N5 (REF)
- Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) byCall Number: PN 771.C59 (REF)
- Contemporary Authors byCall Number: PN 771.C662 (REF)
- Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature byCall Number: PN 1008.5.C66 2001 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts
- International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature byCall Number: PN 1008.5.I57 2004 (online only)
- Children's Literature Review byCall Number: PN 1009.A1.C5139 (online only)
- St. James Guide to Children's Writers byCall Number: PN 1009.A1.S74 (REF)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
- Writers for Children byCall Number: PN 1009.A1.W73 1987 (REF)
PN 1010-1525: Poetry
- Poetry Criticism (PC) byCall Number: PN 1010.P499 (REF)
- The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry & Poetics byCall Number: PN 1021.N39 1993 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Poetry for Students byCall Number: PN 1101.P756 (online only)
- Masterplots II: Poetry Series byCall Number: PN 1110.5.M37 2002 (online only)
Find subject entries in online & print encyclopedias
PN 1600-3307: Drama
- Drama Criticism (DC) byCall Number: PN 1601.D59 (REF)
- Drama for Students byCall Number: PN 1701.D73 (online only)
Key Concepts in Radio StudiesCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- PN 1991.5 .C46 2009Genres & Production -- Audiences & Reception -- The Radio Industry -- Politics & the Public Sphere- International Dictionary of Films & Filmmakers (biographies only) byCall Number: PN 1997.8.I58 2000 (REF)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
- Chambers Film Factfinder* byCall Number: PN 1998.C44 2006 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
- An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Films: 1895-1930 byCall Number: PN 1998.2.L686 2005 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Women Filmmakers & Their Films (biographies only) byCall Number: PN 1998.2.W66 1998 (REF)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
- North American Theatre Online - Reference Works byCall Number: PN 2000 (online only)
- Who's Who in the Theatre byCall Number: PN 2012.W5 1981 (REF)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
- Contemporary Theatre, Film & Television byCall Number: PN 2012.W5 (REF)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
- Cambridge Guide to Theatre* byCall Number: PN 2035.C27 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
- The Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre byCall Number: PN 2035.C65 2002 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts
- International Dictionary of Theatre (biographies only) byCall Number: PN 2035.I49 1992 (REF)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
PN 3311-3503: Prose. Prose fiction
- Critical Survey of Short Fiction byCall Number: PN 3321.C7 2001 (online only)
- Literature of Developing Nations for Students byCall Number: PN 3326.L58 2000 (online only)
- Masterplots II: Short Story Series byCall Number: PN 3326.M27 2004 (online only)
- Masterplots II: World Fiction Series byCall Number: PN 3326.M28 1987 (REF)
- Short Stories for Students byCall Number: PN 3373.S3844 (online only)
- Short Story Criticism (SSC) byCall Number: PN 3373.S56 (REF)
- What Do I Read Next? byCall Number: PN 3427.W43 (REF)
- Magill's Guide to Science Fiction & Fantasy Literature byCall Number: PN 3433.8.M334 1996 (REF)
- St. James Guide to Fantasy Writers byCall Number: PN 3435.S715 1996 (REF)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
- Supernatural Fiction Writers byCall Number: PN 3435.S96 1985 (REF)
- 100 Masters of Mystery & Detective Fiction byCall Number: PN 3448.D4.A16 2001 (online only)
- Critical Survey of Mystery & Detective Fiction byCall Number: PN 3448.D4.C75 1988 (REF)
- St. James Guide to Horror, Ghost & Gothic Writers byCall Number: PN 3448.S45.S246 1998 (REF)Conduct an advanced search by publication title
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction byCall Number: PN 3451.C75 2000 (REF)
PN 4001-4355: Oratory. Elocution, etc.
- 3,500 Good Quotes for Speakers byCall Number: PN 4193.I5.A17 1983 (online only)
PN 4500: Essays (Literary history)
PN 4699-5650: Journalism. The periodical press, etc.
- News Media Yellow Book: Who's Who Among Reporters, Writers, Editors & Producers in the Leading National News Media byCall Number: PN 4700 (online only)(subscription canceled due to budget cuts)
Key Concepts in Journalism StudiesCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- PN4731.K49 2005ch4ck availability of print version
"Offering a systematic introduction to the terms, processes and effects of journalism, this work presents a combination of practical considerations with theoretical issues and further reading suggestions. Cross-referenced throughout, the format encourages critical evaluation through understanding."- World Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems WorldwideCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- PN4728 .W676 2003"This comprehensive survey of press and electronic media now covers nearly 200 countries. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries begin with an overview of the background, economic framework and general characteristics of each country's press. Entries then cover the number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, news agencies, electronic news media, education and training in journalism and much more."
- Gale Directory of Publications & Broadcast Media byCall Number: PN 4867.G3 (REF)
- Newsletters in Print byCall Number: PN 4888.N48 N4 (online only)
PN 6010-6790: Collections of general literature
- Masterplots II: Drama Series byCall Number: PN 6112.5.M37 2004 (online only)
- Chambers Classic Speeches* byCall Number: PN 6121 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
PN 6080-6095: Quotations
- The Routledge Dictionary of Latin Quotations: The Illiterati's Guide to Latin Maxims, Mottoes, Proverbs Sayings byCall Number: PN 6080.R68 2005 (REF)
- Rawson's Dictionary of American Quotations byCall Number: PN 6081.A623 1997 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Bloomsbury Biographical Dictionary of Quotations* byCall Number: PN 6081.B534 1997 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Bloomsbury Thematic Dictionary of Quotations* byCall Number: PN 6081.B57 1997 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Collins Dictionary of Quotations* byCall Number: PN 6081.C574 2003 (online only)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Respectfully Quoted: A Dictionary of Quotations Requested from the Congressional Research Service byCall Number: PN 6081.R435 1989 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts
- Simpson's Contemporary Quotations byCall Number: PN 6083.S53 1988 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts
- The Elgar Dictionary of Economic Quotations byCall Number: PN 6084.E36.E44 2003 (REF)cancelled due to budget cuts