It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NOTE: Online access is limited to 4 simultaneous users. The online version does not include some of the images that were part of the original hardcopy book.
"Illustrated with many rare photographs, the Encyclopedia features articles on subjects such as mound builders, reservations, cigar-store Indians, child rearing, powwows, boarding schools, museums and collectors, dreams, the occupation of Alcatraz, and the impact of American Indian civilizations on Europe and the world. Contemporary topics include gambling, sports mascots, alcoholism, urban Indians, and the status of women. Biographies illuminate not only famous chiefs and warriors but an enormously diverse group of historical figures, such as Pauline Johnson, a Mohawk who became the first American Indian woman to publish poetry; Charles Curtis, a Kaw Indian who served as vice president under Herbert Hoover; and "Chief" Bender, an Ojibwa who played and coached professional baseball and is lauded in the Baseball Hall of Fame. Covering Arctic to southeastern peoples, separate articles on more than one hundred major tribes - from Abenaki to Zuni - discuss community origins, rituals and beliefs, social organization, and present-day life."
Conduct an advanced search by publication title
"A compilation of biographical and bibliographical information on more than 265 outstanding Native North American men and women throughout history. Each signed narrative essay covers a prominent individual from politics, law, journalism, science, medicine, religion, art and literature, athletics, education, or entertainment. The book includes includes a listing of entries according to tribal group or nation plus a listing of entries according to occupation or tribal roles."
Conduct an advanced search by publication title for Native North American Artists
"Profiling 400 prominent artists of the 20th century, each entry in this reference includes a biographical profile; lists of exhibitions, public galleries and museums; a bibliography of books and articles by and about the entrant; and presents a critical perspective on the artist's work."
E 151-169.12: United States--General
Foreign Representatives Yellow Book: Who's Who in the U.S. Offices of Foreign Corporations, Foreign Nations, the Foreign Press & Intergovernmental Organizations by [LD]
American Decades 1900-1999Volumes for each decade, 1900-1909 through 1990-1999, with chapters about: - World Events - The Arts - Business & the Economy - Education - Fashion - Government & Politics - Law & Justice - Lifestyles & Social Trends - Media - Medicine & Health - Religion - Science & Technology - Sports
Call Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- E 169.12.A421
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- E839.5.H57
"Each volume includes approximately 70 events with well over 100 documents from the previous year, from official or other influential reports and surveys, to speeches from leaders and opinion makers, to court cases, legislation, testimony, and much more." Ch3ck availability of print volumes which include multi-year indexes