ICPSR Data Archive
provides access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data, including
- Census enumerations;
- community & urban studies;
- conflict, aggression, violence, wars;
- economic behavior & attitudes;
- education;
- elites & leadership;
- geography & environment;
- government structures, policies & capabilities;
- health care & facilities;
- instructional packages & computer programs;
- international systems;
- legal systems;
- legislative & deliberative bodies;
- mass political behavior & attitudes;
- organizational behavior;
- social indicators;
- social institutions & behavior;
- and ICPSR Publication-Related Archive.
- ICPSR Data ArchiveThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. UCF is a member institution.
Specific Topics
Other Resources for Data Sets
- National Network of State Polls (link broken?)
See also the lists of resources for:
- Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) (1890+)- International Surveys & Data
- U.S. Church Membership Data
- U.S. Surveys
- Child Care & Early Education Research Connections"promotes high quality research in child care and early education and the use of that research in policy making"
- Congressional Bills Project (University of Washington)"a relational database of over 400,000 public and private bills introduced in the U.S. House and Senate since 1947...organized in a format that facilitates quantitative studies, and also includes detailed information about each bill's sponsor."
- Correlates of State Policy"The Correlates of State Policy Project includes more than seven-hundred variables, with observations across the U.S. 50 states and time (1900 – 2016). These variables represent policy outputs or political, social, or economic factors that may influence policy differences across the states."
- Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA)"Data collections include sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data. Among the materials are international and European data such as the European Social Survey, the Eurobarometers, and the International Social Survey Programme."
- Data on the Netlinks to several hundred "Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more"
- Data Sources on the Web (Microsoft R Application Network)Most of the data sets listed are free. If an R! appears after a source it means that the data are already in R format or there exist R commands for directly importing the data from R.
Categories of Data: Data Science -- Economics -- Finance -- Government -- Health Care -- Machine Learning -- Networks -- Public Domain Collections -- Science -- Social Sciences -- Time Series -- Universities -- Microsoft R Server .XDF Datasets - Data.gov.uk"over 5,400 datasets available, from all central government departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities."
- DataCite Repositories"a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data"
- Dataverse Network"an open source application to publish, share, reference, extract and analyze research data. It facilitates making data available to others, and allows to replicate others work."
- EASY (Data Archiving & Networking Services - DANS)"access to thousands of datasets in the humanities, the social sciences and other disciplines"
- Finance Data (Aswath Damodaran, Professor of Finance, Stern School of Business, NYU)Datasets for topics including: corporate governance, discount rate estimation, return measures, capital structure, dividend policy, cash flow estimation, growth rate estimation, multiples, and option pricing models
- General Social Survey (GSS)"contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings."
- Health & Medical Care Archive (HMCA)"include surveys of health care professionals and organizations, investigations of access to medical care, surveys on substance abuse, and evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care"
- HUD USER"provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population."
- International Archive of Education Data (IAED)
- Internet Crossroads in Social Science Datasearch or browse for annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet
(Data & Information Services Center, University of Wisconsin, Madison) - Internet Data Sources for Social Scientists(Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research)
- IPUMS-CPS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)"an integrated set of data from 50 years (1962-2011) of the March Current Population Survey (CPS). The CPS is a monthly U.S. household survey conducted jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor Statistics."
- IPUMS-International (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)"an effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world's largest archive of publicly available census samples. The data are coded and documented consistently across countries and over time to facillitate comparative research."
- IPUMS-USA (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)"consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys"
- JEDI for evidence-based education (link broken as of 4/28/14)"an educational data archive service that collects, preserves, and distributes empirical data for academic, educational and governmental administrative purposes."
- Kaggle Datasets"Inside Kaggle you’ll find all the code & data you need to do your data science work. Use over 19,000 public datasets and 200,000 public notebooks to conquer any analysis in no time."
- Lijphart Elections Archive"a static research collection of district level election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries that was maintained through 2003."
- National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA)"acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research, processing as needed to promote effective research use, disseminates them to researchers, and facilitates their use"
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)"The mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data."
- National Network of State Polls (NNSP)"a confederation of organizations that conduct state-level surveys. The network promotes the collection and use of state survey data."
- Neuroscience Information Framework"a dynamic inventory of Web-based neuroscience resources: data, materials, and tools accessible via any computer connected to the Internet"
- Odum Institute for Social Sciencemaintains one of the oldest and largest archives of machine-readable data in the U.S.
- Our World in Data"Research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems"
- Pew Research Center for the People & the Press"an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues"
- Policy Agendas Project (University of Texas Austin)"collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War."
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives"one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion"
- Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)"promotes the access and use of SAMHSA's substance abuse and mental health data by providing public-use data files and documentation for download and online analysis tools to support a better understanding of this critical area of public health"
- UK Data Archive"the UK's largest collection of digital research data in the social sciences and humanities"
- Voteviewprovides roll call data for the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 1st Congress forward.
- WomanStats"the most comprehensive compilation of information on the status of women in the world. The Project facilitates understanding the linkage between the situation of women and the security of nation-states. We comb the extant literature and conduct expert interviews to find qualitative and quantitative information on over 310 indicators of women's status in 174 countries. Our Database expands daily, and access to it is free of charge."