Practice Exercise 1 - Library Catalogs
UCF CatalogFrom the UCF Library homepage http://library.ucf.edu, click on Books/Catalog. Type history and nurs* in the search box. (note: the asterisk truncates the term by covering for diferrent endings such as nurse, nurses and nursing) Keep the field on the right hand set to Anywhere. Click ‘Search’. On the left side of the results screen, narrow your results by scrolling down to 'Subject: Geographic Area'. Click on United States. Scroll down and click on the book (first one with this title) No place like home : a history of nursing and home care in the United States. (notice that it is also available as an electronic book through NetLibrary) 1. What is the call number and location for the book? a. PE1128.A2.C6933 2006, located in the UCF Main Library (Orlando) b. LC3731.O96 2004, located in Daytona Beach (DSC/UCF Joint-Use Library) c. RT81.5B863 2003, located in Daytona Beach (DSC/UCF Joint-Use Library) d. RT120.H65 B84 2001, located in the UCF Main Library (Orlando) Click on the hypertext (gold underlined) title of the book. Scroll down to ‘Subjects, General’ or ‘Subjects, Medical’. 2. Which of the following is an assigned subject heading for this book? a. Historical Nursing b. Home nursing -- History c. History -- Medical personnel Notice the options to cite this item, print, or send the title and location of this book to your mobile phone via text message. When you are finished, click on "End Session" in the top right corner. How to get to the BCC/UCF Joint Use Library HomepageThe BCC/UCF Joint-Use Library has its own Website which provides access to both online catalogs (BCC and UCF). You can use the BCC Catalog to verify if an item is on the shelf at the Cocoa library. To access the BCC/UCF Joint-Use Library website from the UCF Library homepage http://library.ucf.edu, click on the Branch Libraries |
|
BCC CatalogFrom the BCC/UCF Joint Use Library homepage, type in your search terms, such as cultur* and care in the box under "At a Regional Campus Library". Change the drop down menu to Brevard Community College.
A new window should open. You should retrieve around 527 results. Click on Search in the upper left hand to revise the location to Cocoa and the format to Books.
Click Search again to display the new results. Click on one of the titles, such as "Cultural competencies for nurses: impact on health and illness." To determine if this item is available (on the shelf), click on the Brevard/Cocoa link at the bottom of the record. Note: The BCC Catalog (new interface) can also be accessed via the BCC Libraries website. |
tab. Click on Cocoa. 
Practice Exercise 1 - eBooks
EBSCO eBooks (formerly known as NetLibrary)
From the UCF Libraries Homepage, login to Articles & Databases with your Library ID number and PIN. Find the Database Locator and select E-Books.
Click on EBSCO eBooks.
Using the Advanced Search, type cultur* and nursing* in the first box.
(Tip: Leaving the field on the right hand side as 'Select A Field' searches for the term in the Title, Subject Headings, and Category fields simultaneously. Also, using the asterisk at the end of a term such as nurs*, helps cover for variant endings like nurse, nurses or nursing).
Type Vietnam in the second box. Change the field to TX All Text Fields. (Hint: try TX All Text Fields to search beyond the regular fields and retrieve results with the term anywhere within the full text of an eBook)
Find the Title, “Transcultural Caring Dynamics in Nursing and Health Care.” Click on ‘View This eBook’.
Look at the Table of Contents (left column). Open up Section 2 by clicking on the + sign.
1. What is the title of Chapter 20?
a. Extending Hands: Transcultural Caring in Saudi Arabia
b. The Heart of Suffering, Mourning, and Healing in the Jewish Spiritual Culture: A Mother’s Story
c. The Political-Legal Culture of Multiculturalism and Interculturality: The Story of Canada
Note: If the chapters in this ebook are not plainly visible, you may have to click on the down arrow.
Click on eBook Full Text.
On the right hand side, under Tools, click on the first icon with the magnifying glass ('Search Within'). Type Vietnam in the box and click ‘Search’.
2. What are two pages listed that contain the term 'Vietnam'?
a. 51
b. 129
c. 133
d. 146
Click on an entry to go to individual page. Notice the other icons on the right hand side, particularly the ones to 'Email', 'Cite', and 'Add to a Folder'.
Please note that database generated citations may not be perfect. Check with your instructor and style manual for correct format.
Exercise 1 - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Need a reference book source for your professional nursing practice paper? Try the Gale Virtual Reference Library!
To get to GVRL, go to the BCC/UCF Joint-Use Library website and click on Find Articles and Ebooks OR use the Database Locator on the Main Library page. Under choose a subject, click on eBooks. Then select Gale Virtual Reference Library.
From the initial search screen, type in the occupation title, like nurse anesthetist, and click Search.
Video
|
How to Access UCF Medical Library Ebooks  |
|
Text Version:
From the UCF Library homepage http://library.ucf.edu , click Quick Links, then “Articles & Databases”.
Type in your 14-digit activated library ID number and password in the off-campus access box and click on LOGIN. Answer “yes” to the Security Alert question. You should see the “Successfully logged in” text now.
Click on the Branch Libraries tab, then scroll down and click on the "Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library" link.
On the left hand side, click on 'eBooks'. You should see a list of available medical ebooks. Click on any of the titles to open!