Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Award Winning and Notable Children's Books PreK - 8

Award books for early books thru mid grade

About the Charlotte Zolotow Award

The Charlotte Zolotow Award is given annually to the author of the best picture book text published in the United States in the preceding year. Established in 1998, the award is named to honor the work of Charlotte Zolotow, a distinguished children's book editor for 38 years with Harper Junior Books, and author of more than 70 picture books, including such classic works as Mr. Rabbit and the Lovely Present (Harper, 1962) and William's Doll(Harper, 1972). Ms. Zolotow attended the University of Wisconsin in Madison on a writing scholarship from 1933-36 where she studied with Professor Helen C. White.

The award is administered by the Cooperative Children's Book Center, a children's literature library of the School of Education, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Each year a committee of children's literature experts selects the winner from the books published in the preceding year. The winner is announced in January each year. A bronze medallion is formally presented to the winning author in the spring during an annual public event that honors the career of Charlotte Zolotow.

Due to Covid, this award will not be announced in 2021, it has been extended to a 2 year submission.

Charlotte Zolotow Award Winners 2024-2020

Charlotte Zolotow Honor Books 2024-2020

Charlotte Zolotow Award Winners 2019-2010

Charlotte Zolotow Honor Books 2019-2010

Charlotte Zolotow Award Winners 2009-2000

Charlotte Zolotow Honor Books 2009-2000

Charlotte Zolotow Award Winners 1999-1998

Charlotte Zolotow Honor Books 1999-1998