Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

Award Winning and Notable Children's Books PreK - 8

Award books for early books thru mid grade

About the Gryphon Awards

The Gryphon Award of $1,000 is given annually in recognition of an English language work of fiction or non-fiction for which the primary audience is children in Kindergarten through Grade 4. The title chosen best exemplifies those qualities that successfully bridge the gap in difficulty between books for reading aloud to children and books for practiced readers.

The Gryphon Award was conceived as a way to focus attention on an area of literature for youth that, despite being crucial to the successful transition of new readers to independent lifelong readers, does not get the critical recognition it deserves.

The award is sponsored by the Center for Children’s Books at the School of Information Sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

**Due to some issues that happened, there will be no award given in 2022, they are hoping to get it back up and running in 2023.**

Gryphon Award Winners 2020

Gryphon Award Honor books 2020

Gryphon Award Winners 2019-2010

Gryphon Award Honor books 2019-2010

Gryphon Award Winners 2009-2004

Gryphon Award Honor books 2009-2004