Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Award Winning and Notable Children's Books PreK - 8

Award books for early books thru mid grade

About the Josette Frank Awards

The Josette Frank Award, This award for fiction honors a book or books of outstanding literary merit in which children or young people deal in a positive and realistic way with difficulties in their world and grow emotionally and morally. The award has been given annually since 1943. Josette Frank, the editor of anthologies for children, served for many years as the Executive Director of the Child Study Association of America of which this committee was a part. I am only going back to 1990 for this award.

Josette Frank Award Younger Readers 2024-2020

Josette Frank Award Older Readers 2022-2020

Josette Frank Award Winners 2019-2010

Josette Frank Award 2009-2000

Josette Frank Award 1999-1990

No Award given 2009.