Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Award Winning and Notable Children's Books PreK - 8

Award books for early books thru mid grade

About the Walter Dean Myers Award

The Walter Dean Myers Award for Outstanding Children’s Literature, also known as “The Walter,” celebrates the legacy of author Walter Dean Myers (1937-2014). Inaugurated in 2016, the annual Walter Dean Myers Awards for Outstanding Children's Literature recognize diverse authors (or co-authors) whose works feature diverse main characters and address diversity in a meaningful way. The 2016 and 2017 Walter Awards and Honor Books represented young adult titles only. Starting in 2018, the Walters now include two categories: Teen (ages 13-18) and Younger Readers (ages 9-13).

"The Walter" Award Winners

"The Walter" Honor books