Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

Award Winning and Notable Children's Books PreK - 8

Award books for early books thru mid grade

About the Newbery Awards

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The Honor books pre-1965 are very hard to find, and or out of print, so they are not listed here. All Newbery award and honors books are marked on the spine with a green dot at the Curriculum Materials Center Library.

Newbery Award Winners 2021-2020

Newbery Honor Books 2021-2020

Newbery Award Winners 2019-2010

Newbery Honor Books 2019-2010

Newbery Award Winners 2009-2000

Newbery Honor Books 2009-2000

Newbery Award Winners 1999-1990

Newbery Honor Books 1999-1990

Newbery Award Winners 1989-1980

Newbery Honor Books 1989-1980

Newbery Award Winners 1979-1970

Newbery Honor Books 1979-1970

Newbery Award Winners 1969-1960

Newbery Honor Books 1969-1965

Newbery Award Winners 1959-1950

Newbery Award Winners 1949-1940

Newbery Award Winners 1939-1930

Newbery Award Winners 1929-1923