**The Repository**

General Information:

LexisNexis Congressional offers full-text access to more than 214 years worth of detailed information about Congress, including member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, financial data, and key regulatory and statutory resources.

This database includes:

Search Tips:

Congressional Publications: Basic Search: this is the default screen
• Use to retrieve Congressional materials by performing keyword searches
• Searches the following fields; abstracts, titles, indexing information, and other bibliographic data
• You can select a date
• You can select a specific Congress
• Search within your results using FOCUS search
• Searching tips
  • Connectors – use AND, OR, AND NOT from the drop-down menu to combine search terms
  • Truncation – use ! to replace one or more letters at the end of a word
  • Wildcards – use * to replace a letter within a word

Congressional Publications: Advanced Search: access for more in-depth research
• Select what fields to search within
  • All fields except full text
  • All fields including full text
  • Congressional source
  • Subject
  • Title
• Search within one or more of the following
  • Committee Prints
  • Hearings
  • House & Senate Documents
  • House & Senate Reports
  • Legislative Histories
  • Serial Set
• You can select a date
• Search within your results using FOCUS search
• Searching tips
  • Combine search terms using Connectors – use AND, OR, AND NOT from the drop-down menu
  • Index Terms - Use to locate specific terms in the LexisNexis Congressional subject index

Congressional Publications: Search by Number
• Use when you know the citation of the document or a related bill or law
• Use this to:
  • Find a Congressional publication by number
  • Find Congressional publications related to a bill or law
  • Find a legislative history by number

Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws: search legislative histories, bill tracking reports, bills, voting records, public laws, Statutes at Large, and the U.S. Code
• Keyword Search
• Get a Document
  • Legislative histories may be retrieved using Public Law numbers, Statues at Large numbers, or Enacted bill numbers
  • track the status of a bill in the legislative process where you know the number of the bill
  • Bills (Full Text) option to locate the text of a bill by number
  • Use the Public Laws option by specific law, statute, or bill number
  • Use the U.S. Code option to search the United States Code by citation

Members & Committees: use to find a variety of information related to current Members of Congress, including bill sponsorship and voting record.
• Search by
  • Name
  • Demographics
  • Committees

Regulations: access either the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) or Federal Register
• Keyword Search
• Get a Document
  • Search by citation

Congressional Record & Rules: Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debate of Congress. Rules of Congress comprise the official House and Senate rules and Jefferson's Manual of Parliamentary Practice
• Keyword Search
• Get a Document

  • Search by citation or date

For More Help:

There is a Help link in the upper-right corner of every page with general searching information. Each tab also has a Help link with more specific information.