Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

**The Repository**

Repository of shared content for course-specific web pages

Finding Tests and Measures

General Information:

For many psychological, intelligence, and similar tests, you will be required to purchase copies and be certified before you can use them.

There are a number of online resources that either provide access to measures that are in the public domain, sample test questions, or detailed information on assessment instruments. This part of the module will present various options for finding tests, measures, and survey instruments.

NetLibrary:

NetLibrary provides access to electronic books. You can search the full-text of one or all 50,000 books for specific concepts. To find complete books on a topic, use the KEYWORD field and enter a topic, like Psychological Tests, Personality Tests, or Intelligence Tests. To look for information on a particular test (or another topic) within a book, search the full-text field for the specific item (e.g., “Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory”).

Buros (www.unl.edu/buros)

The Buros site consists of resources from the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements and the Buros Institute for Assessment Consultation and Outreach. Test Reviews Online allows you to browse through or search for test reviews that have appeared in Mental Measurement Yearbooks.

Mental Measurements Yearbook:

Mental Measurements Yearbook is an EBSCO database that contains the full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. These are comprehensive analyses of more than 2,000 tests. Complete reviews, which contain information on the tests’ purpose, population tested, publication date, administration time, and descriptive evaluations. These are not the tests themselves.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI):

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) is an Ovid database that provides information from 1985 to the present on measurement instruments, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, and tests.

Click on HELP to get a comprehensive explanation of the database’s features. Please note that UCF does not subscribe to everything that is offered. Be sure to use the LOGOFF icon to exit HAPI.

PsycInfo:

There are several ways to retrieve information on psychological tests using PsycInfo, including the following:

  • Limit your search by changing the drop-down menu for the field to Tests & Measures. “Appended” will appear in the record’s Tests & Measures field if the test is included in the article.
  • Get example or sample questions by searching for a specific test (e.g., the Youth Risk Behavior Survey)

  • Look for Test Construction in the Subject field along with a topic area of interest.

ERIC:

There are similar options for retrieving information on educational tests using the ERIC database, such as:

  • Use the Thesaurus to find various terms to look for. Start by looking up Measurement or Testing.
  • Get example or sample questions by searching for a specific test (e.g., the Youth Risk Behavior Survey)

  • Change the Publication Type limiter (towards the bottom of the screen) to Tests/Evaluation Instruments.

Internet Sites:

There also are a number of Internet sites that you may find useful. The following are a few examples:

Remember to evaluate any web site you find before incorporating it into your research.

For More Help:

For more help, you may want to look at:

Starting Points: Educational Tests & Measures
http://library.ucf.edu/brevard/guides/educationaltestsmeasures.pdf

Tests & Measures Research Guide
http://library.ucf.edu/Reference/Guides/TestsMeasurements.asp