Search the EDGAR Database
Full-Text Search (most recent 4 years)
TIP: Use the Advanced Search to restrict your search to specific form types (e.g. 10-K or DEF 14A), company name, Central Index Key (CIK), Standard Industrial Classification (SIC), or date range.
- CIK Lookup - "The Central Index Key (CIK) is used on the SEC's computer systems to identify corporations and individual people who have filed disclosure with the SEC. You can use the CIK to search for company or fund filings on EDGAR."
- Company Database Search provides more search parameters for identifying a company.
Researching Public Companies Through EDGAR: A Guide for Investors - "To use EDGAR most effectively, you should know which categories of information appear in which SEC filings and which search methods will work best. You also should understand the system’s limitations. In this guide, you'll find tips for using EDGAR and answers to frequently asked questions about researching public companies."
Archives (1994+)
SEC File (1978-1998)
- Reference Microfiche HG 4028 .B2 C67
- Multiple volume indexes are available on the microfiche cabinet in the Reference Area
Microfiche database of corporate annual reports & U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission Documents. The EDGAR database provides electronic access to SEC filings from 1994 forward.
See also LexisNexis Academic which provides some SEC filings from 1987 forward and some annual reports as far back as 1972.
Rank And Filed
The tagline for this search engine is "SEC Filings for Humans", and it is stated on their site, "Rank and Filed gathers data from EDGAR, indexes it, and returns it in formats meant to help investors research, investigate and discover companies on their own." The following is a diagram example showing ownership among a company's officers, directors and beneficial owners since 2003. It is an example of the visualization of data possible using Rankandfiled.com.
