Industry Research Using the Economic Census
Industry Research Using the Economic Census: How to Find It, How to Use ItCall Number: Reference HC 101 .B594 2004Overview and history -- Economic census procedures -- Terminology -- North American industry classification system (NAICS) -- Reports and special publications -- Formats -- Agriculture -- Transportation and warehousing -- Manufacturing -- Wholesale trade -- Retail trade -- Remaining sectors
Industry Overviews
Use these sources to find information about a particular industry. Someone contemplating purchase of a fast-food franchise, for example, would need not only information about the financial well-being of the franchisor, but also information about the fast-food and restaurant industry generally. Depth of coverage for the sources below varies, but usually includes a review of the industry's past performance, a description of the current situation, and future projections.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (1971+) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search this database for reports on industries and markets from the following sources: Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports, First Research (D&B), and Just-Series Market Research Report. - Business Insights (Gale) (1980+) This link opens in a new windowA collection of company & industry information, including articles, financials, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies
(formerly Business & Company Resource Center) - Business Source Premier - Company & Industry Profiles (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides enhanced business searching.
Browse or search Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, Country Reports, and Market Research Reports - IBISWorld - Industry Market Research This link opens in a new windowA collection of Industry Market Research. Includes Industry Reports (NAICS) and Industry iExpert Summaries for the United States.
- GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new windowInternational industry and company information, including SWOT profiles.
Additionally, some MarketLine reports are available via Business Source Premier. - Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowContains full text market research reports covering U.S. and global consumer markets, with an emphasis on European and U.S. markets.
- NetAdvantage (S&P) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for searching information on stocks, companies, industries and mutual funds. Access to nine of the most popular S&P publications including Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, and The Outlook.
