Hospitality Databases
Statistics
- Yearbook of Tourism Statistics (2003-2009)Call Number: Reference G 155 .A1 A62IIS microfiche 2970-S1 (1990+)
- Compendium of Tourism Statistics (2005-2007)Call Number: Reference G 155 .A1 T5896IIS microfiche 2970-S2 (1990+)
- Economic Review of Travel in America (1989-2007)Call Number: Reference G 155 .U6 E32SRI microfiche A9135-7 (1990+)
- Outlook for Travel and Tourism (2003-2006)Call Number: Reference G 155 .U6 T71
- Travel Market ReportSRI microfiche A9135-6 (1990+)
- Quickservice Restaurant TrendsSRI microfiche A8200-34 (1998+)
- Restaurant Industry ForecastSRI microfiche A8200-36 (2004+)
- Restaurant Industry Operations ReportSRI microfiche A8200-3 (1990+)
- Tableservice Restaurant TrendsSRI microfiche A8200-11 (1989+)
- Lodging Survey: Lodging Services, Facilities, & TrendsSRI microfiche A1875-6 (1998+)
Other Reference Books
- Columbus World Travel GuideCall Number: Reference G 153.4 .W67
- World Travel AtlasCall Number: Reference G 153.4 .W674
- Dictionary of Travel, Tourism & HospitalityCall Number: Reference G 155 .A1 M397
- Thomas Food & Beverage Market Place (2003)Call Number: Reference HD 9003 .F578
- Plunkett's Airline, Hotel & Travel Industry AlmanacCall Number: Reference HE 9803 .A2 P58
- Alcohol & Temperance in Modern History: An International EncyclopediaCall Number: Reference HV 5017 .A43
- Trade Shows WorldwideCall Number: Reference T 394 .T717
- Hugh Johnson's Wine Companion: Encyclopedia of Wines, Vineyards & WinemakersCall Number: Reference TP 548 .J64 2003
- Oxford Companion to the Wines of North AmericaCall Number: Reference TP 559 .N6 O9 2000
Armchair Travel
- The Traveler's Reading Guide: Ready-Made Reading Lists for the Armchair Traveler byCall Number: Reference G 151 .T72 1993
Excerpt from The Traveler's Reading Guide, edited by Maggy Simony
- Background books introduce travelers to the culture, history, politics, foibles & characteristics of a place & its people.
- Travel literature can be read for the ambience & pure pleasure of reading first-rate writing.
- Novels & mysteries offer a sense of place, a glimpse of people leading ordinary or extraordinary lives.
- Family sagas are often a painless way of absorbing the history of an era through the lives of some prototypical people.
- Fiction Connection (Books in Print)Browse lists of books by location
- What Do I Read Next? (Gale database)do a custom search by location, genre/story type, subject, time period, etc.
General Guidance for Hospitality & Tourism Resources at the Main Campus
Please be aware that most of the UCF library books and periodicals dealing directly with hospitality and tourism are housed in the Universal Orlando Foundation Library at the Rosen College of Hospitality Management, near International Drive and I-4.
Circulating material from the Rosen campus can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
The library at the Rosen College also provides research assistance,
including research guides and online tutorials
and Ask A Rosen Librarian -- 407-903-8100
This page of the guide focuses on materials available in the main campus library.
G: Geography (General). Atlases. Maps
Search the UCF Library Catalog for other online books and other reference books about geography.
Search the UCF Library Catalog for other online books and other reference books (Rosen campus) about tourism.
Search the UCF Library Catalog for other online books and other reference books (Rosen campus) about travel.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the NationsCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- G63 .W67 2004"Presents easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders."
- Encyclopedia of GIS byCall Number: G 70.212.E53 2007 (online only)
- Companion Encyclopedia of Geography: the Environment & Humankind byCall Number: G 116.C645 1996 (Gen Coll)
- World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency - CIA)Call Number: UCF Main Library U.S. Documents - 1st Floor -- PREX 3.15:Latest edition in Documents Ready Reference
U.S. Documents PREX 3.15: - 1995, 2000, 2002-2011, 2012/2013+
Online access to Archived Issues - 2000-2012 
Countries of the World & Their Leaders YearbookCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- G 123.C68 2016"A compilation of U.S. Department of State reports on contemporary political and economic conditions, government personnel and policies, political parties, religions, history, education, press, radio and TV, climate, and other characteristics of selected countries of the world; together with travel alerts, passport and visa information, world health information for travelers, and customs and duty tips for returning residents."
Cities of the World : a compilation of current information on cultural, geographical, and political conditions in the countries & cities of six continentsCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- G153.4.C57 2002v. 1. Africa -- v. 2. The Western Hemisphere (exclusive of the United States) -- v. 3. Europe and the Mediterranean Middle East -- v. 4. Asia, the Pacific, and the Asiatic Middle East
Key Concepts in Tourism ResearchCall Number: UCF Rosen General Collection -- G155.7.B68 2012ch3ck availability of print version
"This book walks students through the selection and application of research methods within tourism. The authors introduce the relevant language and theory of key methodologies and then develop them using strategic literature review and the inclusion of international examples which relate directly to tourism."
Key Concepts in Tourist StudiesCall Number: UCF Rosen Reference -- G155.7.S6 2010Anthropology of Tourism -- Arts Tourism -- Authenticity -- Backpacking -- Business Tourism -- Crisis Management -- Cultural Tourism -- Dark Tourism -- Destination Management -- Economics of Tourism -- Ecotourism -- Ethical Tourism -- e-Tourism -- Experience Economy -- Festivals & Events Tourism -- Film & TV Tourism -- Gastronomic Tourism -- Gay Tourism -- Geography of Tourism -- Health & Wellness Tourism -- Heritage Tourism -- Identity -- Indigenous Tourism -- Literary Tourism -- Mature Tourism -- Mobility -- Neo-Colonialism -- Planning Tourism -- Post-Tourism -- Regeneration -- Religious & Spiritual Tourism -- Rural Tourism -- Self & Other -- Sex Tourism -- Sociology of Tourism -- Special Interest Tourism -- Sports & Adventure Tourism -- Sustainable Tourism -- Tourist Gaze -- Urban Tourism- Explorers and Discoverers of the World byCall Number: G 200.E88 1993 (online only)
TP: Chemical Technology
- Companion to California Wine: an Encyclopedia of Wine & Winemaking from the Mission Period to the PresentCall Number: UCF Rosen General Collection -- TP 557.S768 1998NOTE: Online access is limited to 1 simultaneous user
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of PolymersCall Number: UCF ONLINE -- TP 1110.E43 2011This reference, in its second edition, contains more than 7,500 polymeric material terms, including the names of chemicals, processes, formulae, and analytical methods that are used frequently in the polymer and engineering fields. In view of the evolving partnership between physical and life sciences, this title includes an appendix of biochemical and microbiological terms (thus offering previously unpublished material, distinct from all competitors.) Each succinct entry offers a broadly accessible definition as well as cross-references to related terms. Where appropriate to enhance clarity further, the volume's definitions may also offer equations, chemical structures, and other figures.
TX: Home Economics
Search the UCF Library Catalog for other online books and other reference books (Rosen campus) about cookery.