Databases - G
- Gale Directory Library (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch, sort, and export a variety of information from multiple premier directories.
* Biography and Genealogy Master Index
* Consultants & Consulting Organizations
* Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers
* Encyclopedia of Associations: International, National, Regional/State/Local
* Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations
* Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
* Government Research Directory
* International Research Center Directory
* Market Share Reporter
* Publishers Directory
* Research Centers Directory
* Statistics Sources Directory
* Ward’s Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowa database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- GAO Reports (U.S. Government Accountability Office) This link opens in a new windowAgriculture & Food, Auditing & Financial Management, Budget & Spending, Business Regulation & Consumer Protection, Economic Development, Education, Employment, Energy, Equal Opportunity, Financial Markets & Institutions, Government Operations, Health Care, Homeland Security, Housing, Human Capital, Information Management, Information Security, Information Technology, International Affairs, Justice & Law Enforcement, National Defense, Natural Resources & Environment, Retirement Security, Science & Technology, Space, Tax Policy & Administration, Telecommunications, Transportation, Veterans, Worker & Family Assistance
- GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowa database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- General OneFile (Gale) (1980+) This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text of news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.
- General Reference Center Gold (Gale) (1980+) This link opens in a new windowgeneral interest database that integrates a variety of sources to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images.
- General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson - EBSCOhost) (1984+) This link opens in a new windowGeneral Science Full Text™ provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.
- Genetics Abstracts (ProQuest) (1982+) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for scientists across the life sciences, Genetics Abstracts will prove particularly useful to researchers and institutions directly and indirectly involved in the Human Genome Project. - GeoRef (ProQuest) (1693+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. - GeoRef in Process (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
contains records that are, literally, in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. - Global Legal Information Network* (Library of Congress) (site temporarily unavailable)The US Library of Congress created GLIN in 1996 and the United States supported it financially until 2012. Pursuant to budgetary constraints in the US, the GLIN operating system environment was shut down in 2012.
The Global Legal Information Network (GLIN) Foundation anticipates announcing the initial operating date for the GLIN 2 system sometime before October of 2015. - Global Terrorism Database (GTD) This link opens in a new window"an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2013 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 104,000 cases."
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFree index for broadly searching scholarly literature. This link includes the UCF institution code so links to UCF's full text subscriptions will display. See below for other ways to set institution.
View the UCF Libraries Google Scholar videos to help you make the most of Google Scholar.
To use UCF Libraries subscription access:- Open Google Scholar Settings
- select Library Links
- Search for "University of Central Florida"
- Save
If you are on campus or connecting through Open Athens you will see UCF's subscription links automatically. - Government Resources at UCF This link opens in a new windowProvides links and information about government resources, many of which are freely accessible via the Web.
- GovTrack This link opens in a new window"has information on all bills going back to 1993 and follows the status of current pending legislation as it goes through the law-making process."
- GPO Monthly Catalog (FirstSearch) (1976+) This link opens in a new windowReferences to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource on all aspects of music, including text from several Grove titles
- Gutenberg-e (Columbia U) This link opens in a new windowFull text of a small collection of scholarly books in history and social studies.
Icon Key
 |
included in OneSearch results |
 |
partially included in OneSearch results |
| no dot | not included in OneSearch results |
| More information about OneSearch |
Databases - H
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new windowCovers books, chapters, articles, and conference papers in the field of Latin American studies, Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
- HarpWeek: The Civil War Era Reconstruction I & II (1857-1912) This link opens in a new windowThe 56 years of Harper’s Weekly provide a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912.
- Civil War Era: 1857-1865
- Reconstruction: 1866-1871 & 1872-1877
- Gilded Age: 1878-1912 - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (1985+) This link opens in a new windowHealth & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
- Health and Wellness (Gale) (1980+) This link opens in a new windowTopics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) (1980+) This link opens in a new windowMulti-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center.
- Health Sciences (SAGE Journals) This link opens in a new windowBrowse journals by discipline: Allied Health; Cardiology & Cardiovascular Medicine; Dentistry; Emergency Medicine & Critical Care; Endocrinology & Metabolism; General Medicine; Geriatrics; Medico-legal; Neurology; Nursing; Nutrition; Oncology; Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine; Otolaryngology; Palliative Medicine & Chronic Care; Pediatrics; Pharmacology & Toxicology; Psychiatry & Psychology; Public Health; Pulmonary & Respiratory Medicine; Radiology; Research Methods & Evaluation; Surgery; Veterinary Medicine
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic & Consumer Editions (EBSCOhost) (1984+) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- Health Technology Assessments (HTA)This database is available from the CRD database website."
Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. "The HTA database is produced by the NIHR Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK. - HealthFinder This link opens in a new windowa free guide to reliable consumer health and human services information, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- HERMES (BUFVC) This link opens in a new windowThe British Universities Film & Video Council (BUFVC) provides a database of media materials available throughout the world, detailing nearly 30,000 titles either currently or once in distribution. Entries are selected for their usefulness in higher and further education.
- Hillsborough County Water Atlas This link opens in a new windowDiscontinued due to lack of funding on the provider's end. Includes links to other resources which may be useful.
Designed to provide citizens, scientists, professionals, and planners with comprehensive and current water quality, hydrologic, and ecological data, as well as information about recreational opportunities and a library of scientific and educational materials on water resource issues. - Historic Documents Series (SAGE) This link opens in a new windowContent from 1972 onward covering the most significant events of the year. Documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Previously part of the CQ Electronic Library.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
- Historical Statistics of the United States (Cambridge) (1600-2000) This link opens in a new windowa compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources includes over 37,000 data series.
- History of Science, Technology & Medicine (EBSCOhost) (1572+) This link opens in a new windowHistory of Science, Technology and Medicine integrates four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. With an interdisciplinary focus, the database covers topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, as well as the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
- Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (HEARTH) (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window"HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance."
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCOhost) (1960+) This link opens in a new windowHospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
- Human Genome Abstracts (ProQuest) (1982-1995) This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
- Human Population & Natural Resource Management* (CSA)[subscription dropped]
explores human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. See Sustainability Science Abstracts (ProQuest) - Human Resources Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowHuman Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 112,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
- Humanities Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowHumanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective (H.W. Wilson - EBSCOhost) (1907-1984) This link opens in a new windowHumanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective™: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
