UCF Research Guides: Databases: Medicine

Related Health Databases

Remote Login

Two ways to login for off-campus access

>>> EZproxy login using your NID <<<

Log-in with Library ID
Library ID Number:
Password: Last 4 digits of your UCFID.
EZProxy Login Help Library ID Help Regional Campus Help

MEDLINE

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
MEDLINE (Ovid) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
Includes:
- MEDLINE (1946+)
- In-Process MEDLINE (& other non-indexed citations)
- Old MEDLINE (1946-1965)
"Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide."
"The Ovid MEDLINE ® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations database consists of In-Process and PubMed-not-MEDLINE records from NLM. The In-Process records are records that will be put into the Medline database after they have been enhanced with MeSH headings. PubMed-not-MEDLINE records are records from journals found in PubMed but not selected for MEDLINE. These records are constantly changing. PubMed-not-MEDLINE records will not be added to the Medline database. Ovid receives records from NLM on a daily basis, however we are dependent upon NLM's update schedule."
"Ovid OLDMEDLINE ® covers the international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences. The citations were originally printed in hard copy indexes published from 1946 through 1965."
MEDLINE (ProQuest) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
"MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations."
"MEDLINE on this service contains over 20 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine."
PubMed (MEDLINE) (1948+) This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

To authenticate for full-text off-campus, log in
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Publishers of journals can submit their citations to NCBI and then provide access to the full-text of articles at journal web sites using LinkOut."
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
The consumer health database from the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 800 diseases and conditions.

Best Databases for Medicine

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Full text medical text books and clinical library. Includes photographs and audio/video presentations related to the various texts in the collections.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
OVID - Books@Ovid and Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Full text of medical and nursing journals, books and Medline.
Thieme Connect: Online Journals (2000+) This link opens in a new window
full text medical journals
Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Flexibook Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.

AIDS and Cancer Research

CancerLIT* (National Cancer Institute) (1975-2002)
The National Cancer Institute (NCI) retired the CANCERLIT database in April 2003 and referred searchers to PubMed for journal citations.
See also MedlinePlus--Cancer
Citations and abstracts pertaining to all aspects of cancer.
Cancer Topics (National Cancer Institute) This link opens in a new window
Access to information on all aspects of cancer.
Oncogenes & Growth Factors Abstracts (ProQuest) (1989+) This link opens in a new window
covers every aspect of oncogene research into the molecular basis of malignant transformations.
OncoLink (University of Pennsylvania) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive information about specific types of cancer, updates on cancer treatments and news about research advances.
Virology and AIDS Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the world literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants is featured, with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology.

Drugs & Pharmaceuticals

Alt-HealthWatch (EBSCOhost) (1990+) This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions
Facts and Comparisons (WoltersKluwer) This link opens in a new window
Drug information and references. Also includes clinical calculators, warnings, codes & indexes, and medication guides.
Drug information and references including Drug Facts and Comparisons®, Drug Interaction Facts™, MedFacts patient information in English and Spanish, Review of Natural Products, A to Z Drug Facts™, Nonprescription Drug Therapy™, Off-Label Drug Facts, and Drug Identifier. Also includes, clinical calculators, warnings, codes and indexes, and medication guides.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) (1980+) This link opens in a new window
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center.
provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center™ plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals.
Medical Letter (The Medical Letter) (1988+) This link opens in a new window
Critical appraisals of new drugs and comparative reviews of older drugs.
Provided by College of Medicine.
Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter (2002-2014) This link opens in a new window
Provides unbiased prescribing recommendations featuring drug treatment of major indications, recommendations for first-choice and alternative drugs, and comparative assessment of drug effectiveness, safety and cost. Treatment Guidelines ceased in 2014. Access is provided for 2002-2014.
Provided by College of Medicine.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Information about herbs, supplements and other "natural" medicines.
Evidence-Based Monographs - "The core database contains the detailed, evidence-based monographs on individual natural ingredients (e.g., glucosamine, echinacea, etc). There are currently almost 1,100 monographs on these individual natural ingredients."
- Monograph Name, Also Known As, Scientific Names
- People Use This For
- Safety Rating
- Effectiveness Rating
- Mechanism of Action
- Adverse Reactions
- Interactions
- Drug Influences on Nutrient Levels & Depletion
- Dosage & Administration
Brand Name Products - "This Database contains information for over 90,000 brand name products. For each brand name product, the Database provides an ingredient listing. Each ingredient then links directly to the evidence-based ingredient monograph that provides detailed information on safety, effectiveness, interactions, dosing, and other practical information."
USP Verified Brands - "The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) verifies brand name products that meet rigorous quality standards."
Clinically Studied Brands - "The Database provides an Editor’s Comment and Effectiveness Rating for each commercial brand name product that has been studied in a clinical trial."
Canadian Licensed Natural Health Products - "In 2004, Canada began regulating natural medicines as a category of products separate from foods or drugs. These products are officially recognized as Natural Health Products. These products include vitamins, minerals, herbal preparations, homeopathic products, probiotics, fatty acids, amino acids, and other naturally derived supplements."
Herbal Fixed Combination Products - "Traditional Chinese medicines and Ayurvedic medicines often come in a “fixed combination” of herbal ingredients. The combinations represent standard herbal formulations with specific, unique names."

Evidence Based Medicine & Diagnostic Tools

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Full text medical text books and clinical library. Includes photographs and audio/video presentations related to the various texts in the collections.
DynaMed Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care reference resource providing clinicians with evidence to support clinical decision-making. DynaMed Plus includes mobile and app access: sign up for a free account on the DynaMed Plus index page. You must be on campus or signed in with your NID to create an account.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews* (OVID) (1991+)
database of medical journals from Wolters Kluwer via Ovid interface.
See Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
JAMAevidence (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window
"Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care."

Provided by UCF College of Medicine Health Sciences Library.
Medscape This link opens in a new window
"Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools. After a simple, 1-time, free registration, Medscape from WebMD automatically delivers to you a personalized specialty site that best fits your registration profile."
SPECIALTIES
Allergy & Immunology
Anesthesiology
Business of Medicine
Cardiology
Critical Care
Dermatology
Diabetes & Endocrinology
Emergency Medicine
Family Medicine
Gastroenterology
General Surgery
Hematology-Oncology
HIV/AIDS
Infectious Diseases
Internal Medicine
Multispecialty
Nephrology
Neurology
OB/GYN & Women's Health
Oncology
Ophthalmology
Orthopedics
Pathology & Lab Medicine
Pediatrics
Plastic Surgery
Psychiatry
Public Health
Pulmonary Medicine
Radiology
Rheumatology
Transplantation
Urology

Dental and Oral Health
Medical Students
Nurses
Pharmacists

Images

See additional resources for medical images on the Images & Sounds LibGuide

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Full text medical text books and clinical library. Includes photographs and audio/video presentations related to the various texts in the collections.

Other Databases for Medicine

Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering -- ANTE (ProQuest) (1993+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
publications from the U.K. & the U.S. covering new technologies such as information technology & computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical & chemical engineering) & allied subject areas.
(formerly Current Technology Database)
Sources covered include over 350 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Abstracts in Social Gerontology (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 110,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources.
AgeLine* (AARP)
No longer freely available. Detailed summaries of more than 90,000 publications about aging and the 50+ population. See also the AgeLine Thesaurus.
See also Abstracts in Social Gerontology
- Indexes journal content related to social, psychological, health-related, and economic aspects of aging.
- Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons. Abstracts, 1978+ with selected coverage back to 1966.
- Indexes the SCAN Microfiche Collection (1966-1982) in UCF Government Documents, which provides approximately 4,000 microfiche documents distributed by the U.S. Administration on Aging in the late 1970s and early 1980s.
Annual Reviews (1932+) This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in more than 45 focused disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all major areas in the life sciences, with broad coverage in molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment."
Contains the following sub-databases:
Algology Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C)
Animal Behavior Abstracts
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Marine Biotechnology Abstracts
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
Biochemistry Abstracts 1
Biochemistry Abstracts 3
Biological Science Journals
Biotechnology Research Abstracts
Calcium & Calcified Tissue Abstracts
Chemoreception Abstracts
Conference Papers Index
Ecology Abstracts
Endocrinology Abstracts
Entomology Abstracts
Genetics Abstracts
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Human Genome Abstracts
Immunology Abstracts
Industrial & Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
MEDLINE®
Neurosciences Abstracts
Nucleic Acids Abstracts
Oncogenes & Growth Factors Abstracts
Plant Science
Toxicology Abstracts
TOXLINE®
Virology & AIDS Abstracts
BioMed Central (OpenAccess Central) This link opens in a new window
"an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 269 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine"
BioOne (2000+) This link opens in a new window
Full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
For user help, see the ProQuest Science & Technology Training Materials guide and the ProQuest Biological Science Collection guide.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (1937+) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate provides 1,815 active full-text journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
"a bibliography of controlled trials...as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews"
"includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases."
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
"contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare"
"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences (Portico) This link opens in a new window
The Morgan & Claypool Colloquium eBooks are now freely available via Portico. Each eBook is also in the Library's Primo Discovery service.
Series included are:
- Physiology
- Neuroscience
- Cell, Molecular & Developmental Biology
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)*
DARE ceased at the end of March 2015. The database can still be accessed via the University of York Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
DynaMed Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care reference resource providing clinicians with evidence to support clinical decision-making. DynaMed Plus includes mobile and app access: sign up for a free account on the DynaMed Plus index page. You must be on campus or signed in with your NID to create an account.
Endocrinology Abstracts (ProQuest) (1985-1986) This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews* (OVID) (1991+)
database of medical journals from Wolters Kluwer via Ovid interface.
See Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Genetics Abstracts (ProQuest) (1982+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for scientists across the life sciences, Genetics Abstracts will prove particularly useful to researchers and institutions directly and indirectly involved in the Human Genome Project.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (1985+) This link opens in a new window
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement tools used across diverse professions and disciplines, including medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, sociology, communication, and organizational behavior. HaPI helps researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests relevant to their investigations, theses, dissertations, and grant proposals and helps researchers to enhance the quality, reliability, and validity of their measurement techniques.
Health and Wellness (Gale) (1980+) This link opens in a new window
Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Health Sciences (SAGE Journals) This link opens in a new window
Browse journals by discipline: Allied Health; Cardiology & Cardiovascular Medicine; Dentistry; Emergency Medicine & Critical Care; Endocrinology & Metabolism; General Medicine; Geriatrics; Medico-legal; Neurology; Nursing; Nutrition; Oncology; Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine; Otolaryngology; Palliative Medicine & Chronic Care; Pediatrics; Pharmacology & Toxicology; Psychiatry & Psychology; Public Health; Pulmonary & Respiratory Medicine; Radiology; Research Methods & Evaluation; Surgery; Veterinary Medicine
Health Source: Nursing/Academic & Consumer Editions (EBSCOhost) (1984+) This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Health Technology Assessments (HTA)
This database is available from the CRD database website."
Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. "The HTA database is produced by the NIHR Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK.
HealthFinder This link opens in a new window
a free guide to reliable consumer health and human services information, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Human Genome Abstracts (ProQuest) (1982-1995) This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
PubMed (MEDLINE) (1948+) This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

To authenticate for full-text off-campus, log in
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Publishers of journals can submit their citations to NCBI and then provide access to the full-text of articles at journal web sites using LinkOut."
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
The consumer health database from the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 800 diseases and conditions.
Medscape This link opens in a new window
"Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools. After a simple, 1-time, free registration, Medscape from WebMD automatically delivers to you a personalized specialty site that best fits your registration profile."
SPECIALTIES
Allergy & Immunology
Anesthesiology
Business of Medicine
Cardiology
Critical Care
Dermatology
Diabetes & Endocrinology
Emergency Medicine
Family Medicine
Gastroenterology
General Surgery
Hematology-Oncology
HIV/AIDS
Infectious Diseases
Internal Medicine
Multispecialty
Nephrology
Neurology
OB/GYN & Women's Health
Oncology
Ophthalmology
Orthopedics
Pathology & Lab Medicine
Pediatrics
Plastic Surgery
Psychiatry
Public Health
Pulmonary Medicine
Radiology
Rheumatology
Transplantation
Urology

Dental and Oral Health
Medical Students
Nurses
Pharmacists
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost) (1985+) This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print, produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) This link opens in a new window
the U.S. Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency
National Guideline Clearinghouse This link opens in a new window
"Clinical practice guidelines are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options."
Classification Scheme:
- Clinical Specialty
- Disease/Condition
- Guideline Category
- Health Services Administration
- Implementation Tools
- Institute of Medicine (IOM) Care Need
- Institute of Medicine (IOM) Domain
- Intended Users
- Method of Guideline Validation
- Methods Used to Analyze the Evidence
- Methods Used to Assess the Quality and Strength of the Evidence
- Methods Used to Collect/Select the Evidence
- Methods Used to Formulate the Recommendations
- Organization Type
- Target Population
- Treatment/Intervention
Nature Journals (Springer-Nature) This link opens in a new window
NPG publishes journals and online databases across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine.
OpenDOAR - The Directory of Open Access Repositories This link opens in a new window
a growing list of international institutional & subject-based repositories, as well as archives set up by funding agencies - like the National Institutes for Health in the USA or the Wellcome Trust in the UK and Europe.
The OpenDOAR service is being developed to support the rapidly emerging movement towards Open Access to research information. OpenDOAR is building a comprehensive and authoritative list of international institutional and subject-based repositories, as well as archives set up by funding agencies - like the National Institutes for Health in the USA or the Wellcome Trust in the UK and Europe. Users of the service are able to analyse repositories by location, type, the material they hold and other measures. This can be of use both to users wishing to find original research papers and for third-party "service providers", like search engines or alert services, which need easy to use tools for developing tailored search services to suit specific user communities.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over 4,000 Oxford monographs in Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, and Social Work
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+) This link opens in a new window
The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
"contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.
Science Direct (1997+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCOhost) (1975+) This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
TOXLINE (ProQuest) (1999+) This link opens in a new window
"This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens."
TOXNET (NIH) This link opens in a new window
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and related areas.
Most visited
- HSDB: Hazardous Substances Data Bank. Peer-reviewed toxicology data for over 5,000 hazardous chemicals
- TOXLINE: 4 million references to literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals
- ChemIDplus: Dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures)
Breastfeeding & Drugs
- LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database. Drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed
Developmental Toxicology Literature
- DART: Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database. References to developmental and reproductive toxicology literature
Chemical Releases & Mapping
- TOXMAP: Environmental Health Maps provides searchable, interactive maps of EPA TRI and Superfund data, plus US Census and NCI health data
- TRI: Toxics Release Inventory. Annual environmental releases of over 600 toxic chemicals by U.S. facilities
Genomics
- CTD: Comparative Toxicogenomics Database. Access to scientific data describing relationships between chemicals, genes and human diseases
Household Product Safety
- Household Products Database: Potential health effects of chemicals in more than 10,000 common household products
Occupational Exposure to Chemicals
- Haz-Map: Links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms
Risk Assessment
- IRIS: Integrated Risk Information System. Hazard identification and dose-response assessment for over 500 chemicals
- ITER: International Toxicity Estimates for Risk. Risk information for over 600 chemicals from authoritative groups worldwide
Animal Testing Alternatives
- ALTBIB: Resources on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing
Archived, No Longer Updated
- CCRIS: Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System. Carcinogenicity and mutagenicity test results for over 8,000 chemicals
- CPDB: Carcinogenic Potency Database. Standardized analyses of the results of 6,540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests
- GENE-TOX: Genetic Toxicology Data Bank. Peer-reviewed genetic toxicology test data for over 3,000 chemicals
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
-Now linking to Wiley Online Homepage. For Publications, click link for Journals, Reference Works, or Online Books below search box
-Full text of Wiley's scholarly journals and many eBooks covering a variety of disciplines.
-See also Wiley-IEEE eBooks
Disciplines include:
- Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science
- Architecture & Planning
- Art & Applied Arts
- Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting
- Chemistry
- Computer Science & Information Technology
- Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences
- Humanities
- Law & Criminology
- Life Sciences
- Mathematics & Statistics
- Medicine
- Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Psychology
- Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Veterinary Medicine

19th & Early 20th Century Scientific Literature

Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900 (Royal Society of London) This link opens in a new window
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .R8813
An index by subject and author to scientific papers contained in the transactions of societies, journals and other periodical works.
Digitized copy of some volumes available in HathiTrust -- UCF Users log in after retrieval for enhanced access.
See also Science, Technology, & Medicine: 1780-1925 (Nineteenth Century Collections Online) which includes some full text periodicals from this Catalogue.
v.1-6, 1st Series, 1800-1863
v.7-8, 2nd Series, 1864-1873
v.9-11, 3rd Series, 1874-1883
v.12, Supplementary volume, 1800-1883
v.13-19, 4th Series 1884-1900
Catalogue of Scientific Papers. Subject Index
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .R8813 suppl.
v.1, Pure Mathematics
v.2, Mechanics
v.3, Physics
- pt.1, Generalities, Heat, Light, Sound
- pt.2, Electricity & Magnetism
International Catalogue of Scientific Literature (1901-1914) This link opens in a new window
Call Number: General Collection Z 7401 .I622
Digitized copy of some volumes available in HathiTrust -- UCF Users log in after retrieval for enhanced access.
A. Mathematics
B. Mechanics
C. Physics
D. Chemistry
E. Astronomy
F. Meteorology
G. Mineralogy
H. Geology
J. Geography, mathematical & physical
K. Paleontology
L. General biology
M. Botany
N. Zoology
O. Human anatomy
P. Anthropology
Q. Physiology
R. Bacteriology

World List of Scientific Periodicals Published in the Years 1900-1960
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .W923
World List of Scientific Periodicals: Scientific, Medical & Technical Entries from the British Union-Catalogue of Periodicals: New Periodical Titles (1960-1978)
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .W923 Suppl.
Bibliography of American Natural History: The Pioneer Century, 1769-1865
Call Number: General Collection Z 7408 .U5 M52
"The role played by the scientific societies; scientific journals; natural history museums & botanical gardens; state geological & natural history surveys; federal exploring expeditions in the rise & progress of American botany, geology, mineralogy, paleontology & zoology"