UCF Research Guides: Databases: Physics

Remote Login

Two ways to login for off-campus access

>>> EZproxy login using your NID <<<

Log-in with Library ID
Library ID Number:
Password: Last 4 digits of your UCFID.
EZProxy Login Help Library ID Help Regional Campus Help

Icon Key

	included in OneSearch results
	partially included in OneSearch results
no dot	not included in OneSearch results

	More information about OneSearch

Best Databases for Physics

Inspec and Inspec Archive (Ei Village) (1896+) This link opens in a new window
"Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics."

Includes the Inspec backfile.
Institute of Physics Journals (IoP) This link opens in a new window
Full text of IOP electronic journals, providing publications through which leading-edge scientific research is distributed worldwide.
Scitation (American Institute of Physics) (1893+) This link opens in a new window
Journals, conference proceedings and eBooks from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies such as American Association of Physics Teachers.
Topics:
- Acoustics
- Astronomy & Astrophysics
- Atomic & Molecular Physics
- Biological Physics
- Condensed Matter Physics
- Energy
- General Physics
- Geophysics
- Interdisciplinary Physics
- Materials Science
- Mathematical Physics
- Nanotechnology
- Nuclear Physics
- Optics & Optical Physics
- Particle Physics
- Physical Chemistry
- Plasma Physics
- Quantum Mechanics
- Rheology & Fluid Dynamics
- Society & Organization
- Statistical Physics

Other Databases for Physics

American Institute of Physics (AIP) This link opens in a new window
Journals, conference proceedings and eBooks from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies such as American Association of Physics Teachers.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
formerly called Applied Science & Technology (EBSCOhost/Wilson) (1983+)
Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) (1884+) This link opens in a new window
a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Engineered Materials Abstracts (ProQuest) (1986+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The growing importance of polymers, ceramics, and composites in a variety of structural and other advanced applications requires the in-depth coverage provided by Engineered Materials Abstracts.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text access to quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes most IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from:
- IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
- IEEE conference proceedings
- IET conference proceedings
- IEEE published standards
- IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
VDE VERLAG Conference Proceedings includes complimentary access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005
Bell Labs Technical Journal includes access to the AbstractPlus records and full text articles published from 1922
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library includes full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2013
Individual Online Journals includes access to all AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from:
- Systems Engineering and Electronics, Journal of
-IET journals are now largely Open Access at the IET Research Hub on Wiley Online Library
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over 4,000 Oxford monographs in Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, and Social Work
Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.
Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts (ProQuest) (1981+) This link opens in a new window
"provides global coverage on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology, now highlighted in every issue."
"Some of the topics covered are phase, crystal, and mechanical properties of solids, optical and dielectric properties, conductive and magnetic properties, exotic electronic structure and energy gaps, SQUIDs, impurity effects, flux structures and critical current, ceramics, twinning phenomena, and more. This database provides international coverage as well as coverage of numerous non-serial publications.

Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases."

19th & Early 20th Century Scientific Literature

Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900 (Royal Society of London) This link opens in a new window
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .R8813
An index by subject and author to scientific papers contained in the transactions of societies, journals and other periodical works.
Digitized copy of some volumes available in HathiTrust -- UCF Users log in after retrieval for enhanced access.
See also Science, Technology, & Medicine: 1780-1925 (Nineteenth Century Collections Online) which includes some full text periodicals from this Catalogue.
v.1-6, 1st Series, 1800-1863
v.7-8, 2nd Series, 1864-1873
v.9-11, 3rd Series, 1874-1883
v.12, Supplementary volume, 1800-1883
v.13-19, 4th Series 1884-1900
Catalogue of Scientific Papers. Subject Index
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .R8813 suppl.
v.1, Pure Mathematics
v.2, Mechanics
v.3, Physics
- pt.1, Generalities, Heat, Light, Sound
- pt.2, Electricity & Magnetism
International Catalogue of Scientific Literature (1901-1914) This link opens in a new window
Call Number: General Collection Z 7401 .I622
Digitized copy of some volumes available in HathiTrust -- UCF Users log in after retrieval for enhanced access.
A. Mathematics
B. Mechanics
C. Physics
D. Chemistry
E. Astronomy
F. Meteorology
G. Mineralogy
H. Geology
J. Geography, mathematical & physical
K. Paleontology
L. General biology
M. Botany
N. Zoology
O. Human anatomy
P. Anthropology
Q. Physiology
R. Bacteriology

World List of Scientific Periodicals Published in the Years 1900-1960
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .W923
World List of Scientific Periodicals: Scientific, Medical & Technical Entries from the British Union-Catalogue of Periodicals: New Periodical Titles (1960-1978)
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .W923 Suppl.
Bibliography of American Natural History: The Pioneer Century, 1769-1865
Call Number: General Collection Z 7408 .U5 M52
"The role played by the scientific societies; scientific journals; natural history museums & botanical gardens; state geological & natural history surveys; federal exploring expeditions in the rise & progress of American botany, geology, mineralogy, paleontology & zoology"