Databases - R
- RAND Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents This link opens in a new window"a compilation of data from 1968 through 2009"
- Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) (1983+) This link opens in a new windowDesigned for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (H.W. Wilson - EBSCOhost) (1890-1982) This link opens in a new windowReaders’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
- RECOLECTA (Recolector de ciencia abierta) This link opens in a new windowa repository of open access publications from Spanish universities
- Record of American Democracy, 1984-1990 (ROAD) This link opens in a new window- "data include election returns, socioeconomic summaries, and demographic measures of the American public at unusually low levels of geographic aggregation."
- Redalyc (en Español) This link opens in a new windowAn open access resource containing full-text journal articles in scientific journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
Red de Revisitas Cientificas de America Latina, el Caribe, Espana y Portugal. Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico - Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowSearching the UCF library’s specialized subject encyclopedia collection helps refine your search; save time, and get to the book or journal you need more quickly and accurately.
Reference Universe contains over 35 million data elements to over 45,000 specialized reference works. The elements are matched to the UCF library's electronic or print holdings, offering you a customized view. - RefWorks*UCF access to RefWorks ceased on Dec. 31,2020 due to budget cuts.
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) This link opens in a new window"a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components"
- RIA CheckPoint is now called Checkpoint Edge This link opens in a new windowState and Federal tax law information.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowRILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.
- Risk Abstracts (ProQuest) (1990+) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk." - Rollins College Library Catalog - OLIN This link opens in a new windowRollins College in Winter Park, FL
Icon Key
 |
included in OneSearch results |
 |
partially included in OneSearch results |
| no dot | not included in OneSearch results |
| More information about OneSearch |
Databases - S
- Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926) (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 is drawn from Joseph Sabin's famed nineteenth century bibliography Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Book relating to America from its Discovery to the Present Time. This digital collection offers a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century. Covering more than 400 years and more than 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies, this collection highlights the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of the time through sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, and more.
- Safety Science & Risk* (CSA) (1981+)[subscription dropped]
provides comprehensive, timely information across the fields of public health, safety, and industrial hygiene, cited studies are geared to help researchers identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards from environmental and occupational
See Risk Abstracts and Health & Safety Science Abstracts - Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Knowledge is a cross-media platform, home to an expansive range of Sage book, business case, reference ad video titles within the social sciences. In addition, links to related to sage journals and sage research methods content. 2,500 titles SAGE eBook including scholarly and reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowOur portfolio of more than 1,100 journals, including over 200 gold open access journals, and 400 society partners, allows us to help researchers, educators, institutions, and our society partners, shape the future. As an independent organization, we are free to think long-term, free to do more, and free to work together to create lasting relationships that transform and advance knowledge.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon Sage’s legacy of methods publishing, Sage Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.Full text of book, journal, and reference content to aid as students research design methodologies, understand and select methods, conduct research, and write findings.
Includes tools such as:
- Project Planner: find step-by-step guidance to complete your research project
- Which Stats Test: answer questions to see which statistical method is best for your data - Sanborn Fire Insurance Company Maps of Florida (1884-1923) This link opens in a new windowillustrate the development of more than 130 Florida cities
- Sarasota County Water Atlas This link opens in a new windowdesigned to provide citizens, scientists, professionals, and planners with comprehensive and current water quality, hydrologic, and ecological data, as well as information about recreational opportunities and a library of scientific and educational materials on water resource issues.
- SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new windowStatistics, market research, and publications on sports business, sales, and participation.
- School District Poverty Estimates (U.S. Census) (1995+) This link opens in a new window"The population and poverty estimates for each estimate-year are produced for all school districts identified in the most recent boundary update."
- School Enrollment (U.S. Census) (1946+) This link opens in a new window"collected annually in the October Current Population Survey (CPS) for the Nation."
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. - Science Direct (1997+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier. - Scientific Electronic Library Online - SciELO This link opens in a new windowElectronic virtual library covering a collection of Spanish health scientific journals selected following pre-established quality criteria.
- SciFinder Scholar (CAS) (1907+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic, compound and reaction information. First-time users must register. - SCImago Journal Rank Indicators (1999+) This link opens in a new windowThe SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.).
- Scitation (American Institute of Physics) (1893+) This link opens in a new windowJournals, conference proceedings and eBooks from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies such as American Association of Physics Teachers.
- Seminole County Water Atlas This link opens in a new windowdesigned to provide citizens, scientists, professionals, and planners with comprehensive and current water quality, hydrologic, and ecological data, as well as information about recreational opportunities and a library of scientific and educational materials on water resource issues.
- Senior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson - EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowWilson's Senior High Core Collection is selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library. Senior High School Core Collection lists review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
- Short Story Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson - EBSCOhost) (1915-1983) This link opens in a new windowWilson's Senior High Core Collection is selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library. Senior High School Core Collection lists review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
- Show Music on Record (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window"provides a reference list for commercially-released show music recordings, starting with those captured on early cylinders in the late 19th century and continuing through compact disc productions of the early 21st century."
- SimplyAnalytics (Geographic Research) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics "enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data."
NOTE: Limited to 5 simultaneous users - Small Area Income & Poverty Estimates (SAIPE) This link opens in a new windoware produced for school districts, counties, and states.
You can view SAIPE estimates in tables or on a map online, or you can download Excel or text files to your computer. - Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window"Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites."
- Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS) This link opens in a new windowSearch 1.89 million records, with links to 178,800 images, video and sound files from dozens of Smithsonian libraries, archives, museums, and specialized research units.
- Social Conflict in Africa Database (SCAD) This link opens in a new window"includes protests, riots, strikes, inter-communal conflict, government violence against civilians, and other forms of social conflict not systematically tracked in other conflict datasets. SCAD currently includes information on over 7,900 social conflict events from 1990 to 2011."
produced by Climate Change & African Political Stability (CCAPS) - Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. content includes:
- Census, 1790-2020+
- Crime, 2010+
- Elections, 2012+
- Environmental Summaries, 2001, 2006, 2011
- Religion, 1850-1870; 1990-2020
See Research Guide for tips.
UCF subscription now allows for unlimited simultaneous access! - Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window"is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences"
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (1965+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. - Social Sciences Index (H.W. Wilson) (1974-2004)[online access cancelled due to budget cuts]
paper index available: UCF ARC Main General Collection -- AI3.R492
"Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more." - Social Security Programs Throughout the World (U.S. Social Security Administration) This link opens in a new window- Old age, disability, and survivors;
- Sickness and maternity;
- Work injury;
- Unemployment; and
- Family allowances - Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) (1979+) This link opens in a new windowResearch focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (1965+) This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) (1952+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. - Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts (ProQuest) (1981+) This link opens in a new window"provides global coverage on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology, now highlighted in every issue."
- Something About the Author Online (SATA) (Gale) This link opens in a new windowGale Literature: Something About the Author provides comprehensive access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 290 volumes, 20,000 entries, and nearly 30,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
- Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War (Gale) This link opens in a new window"contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches"
- Speech Finder in LitFinder (Gale) This link opens in a new windowGale Literature: LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
- SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering) This link opens in a new windowthe most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings.
- SPORTDiscus (EBSCOhost) (1975+) This link opens in a new windowProvided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
- Springer Book Series (1997+) This link opens in a new windowFull text of Springer Book Series, including Lecture Notes.
- Springer eBooks (2005+) This link opens in a new windowover 20,000 ebooks from science, technology, and medicine
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new windowProviding researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
- Springer Protocols This link opens in a new windowReproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.
On July 25, 2018, the Springer Protocols platform was deactivated. Springer Protocols are searchable on the new Springer Nature Experiments site. Click the title to be authenticated for access to full text of the protocols. SpringerProtocols can also be found on the Springer Nature Link site. - SpringerMaterials - The Landolt-Börnstein Database This link opens in a new windowis the world’s largest and most comprehensive research platform dedicated to information on materials, their properties and uses.
- STAT-USA* (U.S. Dept of Commerce)ceased existence after Sept. 30, 2010.
Links are provided to related content with statistics about the U.S. economy and international trade. - State & County Quick Facts (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new windowPeople QuickFacts
Business QuickFacts
Geographic QuickFacts (land area & density) - State & Local Government on the Net This link opens in a new window"provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments"
- State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States (GODORT) This link opens in a new windowIn every US State and the District of Columbia, agencies are creating databases of useful information - information on businesses, licensed professionals, plots of land, even dates of fish stocking. Some of this content is available on search engines, but much of it is part of the invisible web.
- State Blue Books & Encyclopedias (GODORT) This link opens in a new windowprovides links to State Blue Books, which usually describe the organizational structure of state government and provide basic facts about the state
- State Contracts and Agreements (FL Dept of Management Services) This link opens in a new window"The State of Florida, Department of Management Services, Division of State Purchasing administers statewide contracts and agreements for use by Florida State agencies, local governments, educational institutions, and other entities as defined in 60A-1.005, Florida Administrative Code. Statewide contracts and agreements enable eligible users to pool their buying power to lower total costs and reduce administrative burden while complying with Chapter 287 Florida Statutes governing the purchase of products and services."
- STATS America (Indiana University) This link opens in a new windowprovides data profiles for states, counties and metropolitan areas, along with calculations, graphs, comparisons of time or geography, time series and maps
- States in Profile
- Counties in Profile
- County-Metro Side-by-Side
- County Peer Finder
- City-to-County Finder
- Industry Clusters
- Innovation Index
- Mapping Innovation
- Measuring Distress
- Occupation Clusters - Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) This link opens in a new window- Multilateral Peace Operations Database
- Military Expenditure Database
- Arms Transfers Database
- Arms Embargoes Database
- National Reports Database - Story Finder in LitFinder (Gale) This link opens in a new windowGale Literature: LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
Full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more. To search Story Finder, Search in LitFinder and set the Type of Work to Short Story. - High School Edition (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowa variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
- Student Perception of Instruction (SPI) (University of Central Florida) This link opens in a new windowis administered near the end of each term at UCF to give students the opportunity to assess their instructor's performance.
- Subsidyscope (Pew Charitable Trusts) (Archived 2012 Project) This link opens in a new window"Subsidyscope presented data and analysis on federal spending and subsidies across nine broad economic sectors, including agriculture; education; energy; health; housing; national defense; natural resources and environment; science, space, and technology; and transportation. Subsidyscope made this information more accessible to policy makers and the public by aggregating information from multiple government data sources, creating searchable data sets, and providing sector-specific analyses."
- Sustainability Science Abstracts (ProQuest) (1995+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. - Synthesis Digital Library (Springer) This link opens in a new windowMorgan & Claypool's Synthesis Digital Library was acquired by Springer-Nature in 2022. These eBooks are now available on SpringerLink Each eBook is also in the Library's Primo Discovery service.
50- to 100-page electronic books that synthesize important research or development on topics related to engineering and computer science.
