Databases: History

Includes Congressional and Executive Department materials related to: Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs, Finance, Commerce and Navigation, Military Affairs, Naval Affairs, Post-office Department, Public Lands, Claims, and Various Other Topics.

Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990
Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962
Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998
CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
CIA Family Jewels Indexed [free index]
Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection of Documents, From the Bay of Pigs to the Brink of Nuclear War
Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977–1992
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000)
U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989
U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991
U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968
U.S. Nuclear Non-Proliferation Policy, 1945–1991
U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968
U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975

Print version -- UCF Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- E839.5.H57 (1972+) (Latest 5 YEARS in REFERENCE)

Population: Population Characteristics, Vital Statistics, Internal Migration, International Migration, Family & Household Composition, Cohorts, American Indians
Work & Welfare: Labor, Slavery, Education, Health, Economic Inequality & Poverty, Social Insurance & Public Assistance, Nonprofit, Voluntary & Religious Entities
Economic Structure & Performance: National Income & Product, Business Fluctuations & Cycles, Prices, Consumer Expenditures, Saving, Capital & Wealth, Geography & the Environment, Science, Technology & Productivity, Business Organization, Financial Markets & Institutions
Economic Sectors: Agriculture, Natural Resource Industries, Construction, Housing & Mortgages, Manufacturing, Distribution, Transportation, Communications, Services & Utilities
Governance & International Relations: Government Finance & Employment, Elections & Politics, Crime, Law Enforcement & Justice, National Defense, Wars, Armed Forces & Veterans, International Trade & Exchange Rates, Outlying Areas, Colonial Statistics, Confederate States of America

See also:
- New York Times (ProQuest) (1980+)

"History of Science, Technology and Medicine integrates four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology [HTE], the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza [BISS Italian Bibliography of the History of Science] and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine."

"Topics covered include communications & mass media, criminal justice, anthropology, economics, art, film, environmental studies, archaeology, international relations, law, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, planning & public administration, political science, sociology, religion & theology, gender studies, gerontology, psychiatry & psychology, addiction studies, urban studies, and much more."
See also Humanities Source
Print Indexes - UCF Main Library - 1st Floor:
- International Index to Periodicals (1907-1965) - General Collection AI3.R49
- Social Sciences & Humanities Index (1965-1974) - General Collection AI3.R49
- Social Sciences Index (1974-1984) - General Collection AI3.R492
- Humanities Index (1974-1984) - General Collection AI3.R493

Research Areas:
- Area & Ethnic Studies
- Art & Architecture
- Creative Writing
- Education
- Film, Theater, & Performing Arts
- History
- Language & Linguistics
- Library Science & Publishing
- Literature
- Medicine & Health
- Music
- Philosophy
- Religion
- Science, Technology, & Mathematics
- Social Sciences
- Studies by Time Period
- Women's Studies, Gender, & Sexuality

"includes full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
See also the print indexes, General Collection AI 3 .R492 (1907-2004) - International Index to Periodicals / Social Sciences & Humanities Index / Social Sciences Index -- and the online version: Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)

"indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.... BGMI indexes only reference works containing multiple biographies; it does not index periodical articles or books of biography about a single individual. Sources...are of several types:
- Biographical dictionaries and who's whos, which supply information on a number of individuals.
- Subject encyclopedias, which include some biographical entries.
- Volumes of literary criticism, which may contain only a limited amount of biographical information but give critical surveys of a writer's works.
- Indexes, which refer the user to a body of information found elsewhere."

"Besides biographies and autobiographies, you’ll find citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies and exhibition reviews. People covered range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities."

People included are from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Search by name, birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender.
- List of Sources included, such as the Dictionary of American Biography is available on the Gale Support - Title Lists for the database "Gale in Context: Biography"

"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content."

"includes full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
See also the print indexes, General Collection AI 3 .R492 (1907-2004) - International Index to Periodicals / Social Sciences & Humanities Index / Social Sciences Index -- and the online version: Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)

"Topics covered include communications & mass media, criminal justice, anthropology, economics, art, film, environmental studies, archaeology, international relations, law, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, planning & public administration, political science, sociology, religion & theology, gender studies, gerontology, psychiatry & psychology, addiction studies, urban studies, and much more."
See also Humanities Source
Print Indexes - UCF Main Library - 1st Floor:
- International Index to Periodicals (1907-1965) - General Collection AI3.R49
- Social Sciences & Humanities Index (1965-1974) - General Collection AI3.R49
- Social Sciences Index (1974-1984) - General Collection AI3.R492
- Humanities Index (1974-1984) - General Collection AI3.R493