UCF Research Guides: Databases: Chemistry

Remote Login

Two ways to login for off-campus access

>>> EZproxy login using your NID <<<

Log-in with Library ID
Library ID Number:
Password: Last 4 digits of your UCFID.
EZProxy Login Help Library ID Help Regional Campus Help

Icon Key

	included in OneSearch results
	partially included in OneSearch results
no dot	not included in OneSearch results

	More information about OneSearch

Best Databases for Chemistry

American Chemical Society (ACS) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to the introduction of the Journal of the ACS in 1879, as well as the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication and the ACS In Focus eBooks.
Analytical Abstracts (RSC) (1980+) This link opens in a new window
(also known as Analytical WebBase)
(abstracts 1984+)
Index to more than 260 journals with comprehensive coverage of analytical chemistry.
- print index 1954-1983 - UCF ARC MAIN General Collection QD 71.A49
- print index 1984-2006 - UCF Index 2nd floor -- QD 71 .A49
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
SciFinder Scholar (CAS) (1907+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic, compound and reaction information. First-time users must register.
Get substances - Access substance information including chemical structures, chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers®, properties, commercial availability and regulatory information.
Get reactions - Find dependable and current chemical reaction information from our extensive databases including reaction schemes, experimental procedures, conditions, yields, solvents, catalysts, as well as commercial availability of substances with direct links to leading producer and supplier sites.
Get references – get the information you need when you need it with our unrivaled collection of the world’s most up-to-date chemistry and related science information found in journals, patents, dissertations and more."
SpringerMaterials - The Landolt-Börnstein Database This link opens in a new window
is the world’s largest and most comprehensive research platform dedicated to information on materials, their properties and uses.
The Landolt-Börnstein Database - 400 volumes, 250,000 substances and 1,200,000 citations
The complete Linus Pauling Files - A comprehensive database about the properties of inorganic solid phases, consisting of 255,000 documents
A subset of the Dortmund Database of Software and Separation Technology - Covering the Thermophysical Properties of pure liquids and binary mixtures, with 425,000 data points
An Adsorption database - covers over 1,000 reversible, equilibrium isotherms
A Polymer Thermodyamics database - that contains 140,000 datapoints about 150 polymers
44,000 Chemical Safety Documents
- REACH Registration, Evaluation, Authorization and Restriction of Chemicals
- GHS Globally Harmonized System
- RoHS Restriction of Hazardous Substances
- WEEE Waste from Electrical and Electronic Equipment
Provides options to search by elements, search by structure, or search the corrosion database by material name and/or environment.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

Other Databases for Chemistry

Annual Reviews (1932+) This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in more than 45 focused disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment."
Contains the following sub-databases:
Algology Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C)
Animal Behavior Abstracts
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Marine Biotechnology Abstracts
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
Biochemistry Abstracts 1
Biochemistry Abstracts 3
Biological Science Journals
Biotechnology Research Abstracts
Calcium & Calcified Tissue Abstracts
Chemoreception Abstracts
Conference Papers Index
Ecology Abstracts
Endocrinology Abstracts
Entomology Abstracts
Genetics Abstracts
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Human Genome Abstracts
Immunology Abstracts
Industrial & Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
MEDLINE®
Neurosciences Abstracts
Nucleic Acids Abstracts
Oncogenes & Growth Factors Abstracts
Plant Science
Toxicology Abstracts
TOXLINE®
Virology & AIDS Abstracts
Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) (1884+) This link opens in a new window
a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Inspec and Inspec Archive (Ei Village) (1896+) This link opens in a new window
"Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics."

Includes the Inspec backfile.
MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society) (1940+) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 70 years of of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 to the present.
"contains almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 550 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences."
Mathematics Subject Classification
- 00 General
- 01 History & Biography
- 03 Mathematical Logic & Foundations
- 05 Combinatorics
- 06 Order, Lattices, Ordered Algebraic Structures
- 08 General Algebraic Systems
- 11 Number Theory
- 12 Field Theory & Polynomials
- 13 Commutative Algebra
- 14 Algebraic Geometry
- 15 Linear & Multilinear Algebra; Matrix Theory
- 16 Associative Rings & Algebra
- 17 Nonassociative Rings & Algebra
- 18 Category Theory; Homological Algebra
- 19 $K$-Theory
- 20 Group Theory & Generalizations
- 22 Topological Groups, Lie Groups
- 26 Real Functions
- 28 Measure & Integration
- 30 Functions of a Complex Variable
- 31 Potential Theory
- 32 Several Complex Variables & Analytic Spaces
- 33 Special Functions
- 34 Ordinary Differential Equations
- 35 Partial Differential Equations
- 37 Dynamical Systems & Ergodic Theory
- 39 Difference & Functional Equations
- 40 Sequences, Series, Summability
- 41 Approximations & Expansions
- 42 Harmonic Analysis on Euclidean Spaces
- 43 Abstract Harmonic Analysis
- 44 Integral Transforms, Operational Calculus
- 45 Integral Equations
- 46 Functional Analysis
- 47 Operator Theory
- 49 Calculus of Variations & Optimal Control; Optimization
- 51 Geometry
- 52 Convex & Discrete Geometry
- 53 Differential Geometry
- 54 General Topology
- 55 Algebraic Topology
- 57 Manifolds & Cell Complexes
- 58 Global Analysis, Analysis on Manifolds
- 60 Probability Theory & Stochastic Processes
- 62 Statistics
- 65 Numerical Analysis
- 68 Computer Science
- 70 Mechanics of Particles & Systems
- 74 Mechanics of Deformable Solids
- 76 Fluid Mechanics
- 78 Optics, Electromagnetic Theory
- 80 Classical Thermodynamics, Heat Transfer
- 81 Quantum Theory
- 82 Statistical Mechanics, Structure of Matter
- 83 Relativity & Gravitational Theory
- 85 Astronomy & Astrophysics
- 86 Geophysics
- 90 Operations Research, Mathematical Programming
- 91 Game Theory, Economics, Social & Behavioral Sciences
- 92 Biology & Other Natural Sciences
- 93 Systems Theory; Control
- 94 Information & Communication, Circuits
- 97 Mathematics Education
OpenDOAR - The Directory of Open Access Repositories This link opens in a new window
a growing list of international institutional & subject-based repositories, as well as archives set up by funding agencies - like the National Institutes for Health in the USA or the Wellcome Trust in the UK and Europe.
The OpenDOAR service is being developed to support the rapidly emerging movement towards Open Access to research information. OpenDOAR is building a comprehensive and authoritative list of international institutional and subject-based repositories, as well as archives set up by funding agencies - like the National Institutes for Health in the USA or the Wellcome Trust in the UK and Europe. Users of the service are able to analyse repositories by location, type, the material they hold and other measures. This can be of use both to users wishing to find original research papers and for third-party "service providers", like search engines or alert services, which need easy to use tools for developing tailored search services to suit specific user communities.

19th & Early 20th Century Scientific Literature

Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900 (Royal Society of London) This link opens in a new window
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .R8813
An index by subject and author to scientific papers contained in the transactions of societies, journals and other periodical works.
Digitized copy of some volumes available in HathiTrust -- UCF Users log in after retrieval for enhanced access.
See also Science, Technology, & Medicine: 1780-1925 (Nineteenth Century Collections Online) which includes some full text periodicals from this Catalogue.
v.1-6, 1st Series, 1800-1863
v.7-8, 2nd Series, 1864-1873
v.9-11, 3rd Series, 1874-1883
v.12, Supplementary volume, 1800-1883
v.13-19, 4th Series 1884-1900
Catalogue of Scientific Papers. Subject Index
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .R8813 suppl.
v.1, Pure Mathematics
v.2, Mechanics
v.3, Physics
- pt.1, Generalities, Heat, Light, Sound
- pt.2, Electricity & Magnetism
International Catalogue of Scientific Literature (1901-1914) This link opens in a new window
Call Number: General Collection Z 7401 .I622
Digitized copy of some volumes available in HathiTrust -- UCF Users log in after retrieval for enhanced access.
A. Mathematics
B. Mechanics
C. Physics
D. Chemistry
E. Astronomy
F. Meteorology
G. Mineralogy
H. Geology
J. Geography, mathematical & physical
K. Paleontology
L. General biology
M. Botany
N. Zoology
O. Human anatomy
P. Anthropology
Q. Physiology
R. Bacteriology

World List of Scientific Periodicals Published in the Years 1900-1960
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .W923
World List of Scientific Periodicals: Scientific, Medical & Technical Entries from the British Union-Catalogue of Periodicals: New Periodical Titles (1960-1978)
Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .W923 Suppl.
Bibliography of American Natural History: The Pioneer Century, 1769-1865
Call Number: General Collection Z 7408 .U5 M52
"The role played by the scientific societies; scientific journals; natural history museums & botanical gardens; state geological & natural history surveys; federal exploring expeditions in the rise & progress of American botany, geology, mineralogy, paleontology & zoology"