It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
[online access cancelled due to budget cuts]
paper copies available: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- Z1219.C95
Book reviews from nearly 100 American and Canadian periodicals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, as well as library review media.
"Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books and digital resources of interest to scholars and students in higher education."
Web Exclusives highlight fascinating new publications as well as titles of enduring importance on topics relevant to academic audiences.
- Faculty Picks , compiled by Choice reviewers, lists five essential titles all libraries should own.
- Editors' Picks , compiled by the Choice subject editors, highlights a wide-ranging and impressive group of titles from each issue.
- Hot Topics , compiled by the Choice subject editors, features selected reviews from the Choice database on topics of current interest.
A unique working and teaching tool created by librarians for librarians, this database indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses.
offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together.
Enhanced and updated in August, 2019. Full list of enhancements here
Books in Print/Out of Print* (Bowker)
[subscription cancelled due to budget cuts]
Information on all U.S. books in print, Covers scholarly, technical, popular, adult, juvenile, and reprint titles.
For coverage of some of the information, see Books & Authors or one of H.W. Wilson's Core Collection databases.
Bowker's Publisher Authority Database*
A directory of over 200,000 book, audio, and videocassette publishers, distributors, agents, and wholesalers.
For coverage of some of the information, see the Publishers Directory in the Media Entities section of Gale Directory Library.
(Formerly Children's Catalog) "For collection development, readers’ advisory, curriculum support, and selection and purchasing, here is working data on fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers from preschool through sixth grade."
Credo Reference* [cancelled due to budget cuts]
Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
“This database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.”
See also Education Index Retrospective (1929-1983)
- American Broadsides & Ephemera, Series I
- American Civil War Collection 1860-1922
- American Pamphlets, Series I, 1820-1922
- American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement, 1670-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement, 1801-1819
a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- General Reference
- Information & Publishing
- Multicultural Studies
- Nation & World
- Social Science
"a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young people in grades five through nine, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists."
"a selective annotated list of nonfiction and reference works with analytical entries for anthologies, collections, and parts of books. Works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification."
"a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young adults in grades nine through twelve, along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. It consists of fiction titles, nonfiction titles, and short story collections."
directory of journals, magazines, newspapers, & other periodicals worldwide. Indicates available formats, intended audience, special features (e.g. reviews, whether a journal is refereed) & indexing/abstracting services coverage.
formerly "Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory"
designed for K-12 students to locate books, get recommendations based on some of your favorite titles or topics, or let our experts recommend books that capture the type of book you're looking for.
Includes over 134,300 recommended titles, more than 74,500 plot summaries, and awards information from 568 awards, all to help users uncover new reading adventures, find long-remembered favorites, and discover award-winning titles.
Full text of Pre-Victorian early modern women's writing. Currently has the electronic full text of over 200 texts from 1526 through 1850, a subset of which is Renaissance writers. The database will continue to grow in the coming years.