UCF Research Guides: Databases: M-N

Databases - M

MABLE/Geocorr12: Geographic Correspondence Engine (Missouri Census Data Center) This link opens in a new window
"The MABLE/Geocorr geographic correspondence engine generates files and/or reports showing the relationships between a wide variety of geographic coverages for the United States."
It can, for example, tell you with which county or counties each ZIP code in the state of California shares population. It can tell you, for each of those ZIP/county intersections, what the size of that intersection is (based on 1990 population or other user-specifed variable) and what portion of the ZIP's total population is in that intersection.
The output files created by this application are referred to as "correlation lists". Other commonly used terms for such entities are "equivalency files", "crosswalk files", and "geographic correspondence files". A correlation list consists of a set of "source geocodes" specifying the geographic coverage to be related (i.e the "known" geographic coverage), and a set of "target geocodes" specifying the geographic coverage to which we want to relate the source areas."
MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MagillOnLiterature Plus, produced by Salem Press, is the premier literary database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.
- Censorship
- Critical Survey of Drama
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction
- Critical Survey of Mystery & Detective Fiction
- Critical Survey of Poetry
- Critical Survey of Short Fiction
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places
- Cyclopedia of World Authors
- Dictionary of World Biography (The Ancient World, The Middle Ages, The Renaissance, The 17th & 18th Centuries, The 19th Century, The 20th Century)
- Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
- Ethics
- Guide to Literary Masters & Their Works
- Identities & Issues in Literature
- Magill's Book Reviews
- Magill's Choice: Holocaust Literature
- Magill's Guide to Science Fiction & Fantasy Literature
- Magill's History Annual, 1983-1985
- Magill's Literary Annuals, 1977+
- Magill's Survey of American Literature
- Magill's Survey of World Literature
- Masterplots
- Masterplots II: African American Literature
- Masterplots II: American Fiction
- Masterplots II: British & Commonwealth Fiction
- Masterplots II: Christian Literature
- Masterplots II: Drama
- Masterplots II: European Fiction
- Masterplots II: Juvenile & Young Adult Biography
- Masterplots II: Juvenile & Young Adult Fiction
- Masterplots II: Juvenile & Young Adult Literature
- Masterplots II: Nonfiction
- Masterplots II: Poetry
- Masterplots II: Short Story
- Masterplots II: Women's Literature
- Masterplots II: World Fiction
- Sixties in America
Making of America (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
"a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."
Making of America (University of Michigan) This link opens in a new window
"a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."
Manatee County Water Atlas This link opens in a new window
designed to provide citizens, scientists, professionals, and planners with comprehensive and current water quality, hydrologic, and ecological data, as well as information about recreational opportunities and a library of scientific and educational materials on water resource issues.
MapLight -- revealing money's influence on politics This link opens in a new window
"a nonpartisan research organization that reveals money’s influence on politics in the U.S. Congress and in the California and Wisconsin state legislatures. We provide journalists and citizens with transparency tools that connect data on campaign contributions, politicians, legislative votes, industries, companies, and more to show patterns of influence never before possible to see. These tools allow users to gain unique insights into how campaign contributions affect policy so they can draw their own conclusions about how money influences our political system."
Mapping Arms Data (MAD) This link opens in a new window
"features over 35 000 records of the exports and imports of small arms and ammunition from more than 262 states and territories between 1992 and 2011"
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
International industry and company information, including SWOT profiles.
Additionally, some MarketLine reports are available via Business Source Premier.
To manually search MarketLine reports via EBSCOhost, connect to Business Source Premier, search for "Marketline" and then use the left column filter to limit Publisher to "Marketline"
MAS Ultra-School Edition (EBSCOhost) (1975+) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Materials Business File (ProQuest) (1985+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society) (1940+) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 70 years of of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 to the present.
"contains almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 550 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences."
Mathematics Subject Classification
- 00 General
- 01 History & Biography
- 03 Mathematical Logic & Foundations
- 05 Combinatorics
- 06 Order, Lattices, Ordered Algebraic Structures
- 08 General Algebraic Systems
- 11 Number Theory
- 12 Field Theory & Polynomials
- 13 Commutative Algebra
- 14 Algebraic Geometry
- 15 Linear & Multilinear Algebra; Matrix Theory
- 16 Associative Rings & Algebra
- 17 Nonassociative Rings & Algebra
- 18 Category Theory; Homological Algebra
- 19 $K$-Theory
- 20 Group Theory & Generalizations
- 22 Topological Groups, Lie Groups
- 26 Real Functions
- 28 Measure & Integration
- 30 Functions of a Complex Variable
- 31 Potential Theory
- 32 Several Complex Variables & Analytic Spaces
- 33 Special Functions
- 34 Ordinary Differential Equations
- 35 Partial Differential Equations
- 37 Dynamical Systems & Ergodic Theory
- 39 Difference & Functional Equations
- 40 Sequences, Series, Summability
- 41 Approximations & Expansions
- 42 Harmonic Analysis on Euclidean Spaces
- 43 Abstract Harmonic Analysis
- 44 Integral Transforms, Operational Calculus
- 45 Integral Equations
- 46 Functional Analysis
- 47 Operator Theory
- 49 Calculus of Variations & Optimal Control; Optimization
- 51 Geometry
- 52 Convex & Discrete Geometry
- 53 Differential Geometry
- 54 General Topology
- 55 Algebraic Topology
- 57 Manifolds & Cell Complexes
- 58 Global Analysis, Analysis on Manifolds
- 60 Probability Theory & Stochastic Processes
- 62 Statistics
- 65 Numerical Analysis
- 68 Computer Science
- 70 Mechanics of Particles & Systems
- 74 Mechanics of Deformable Solids
- 76 Fluid Mechanics
- 78 Optics, Electromagnetic Theory
- 80 Classical Thermodynamics, Heat Transfer
- 81 Quantum Theory
- 82 Statistical Mechanics, Structure of Matter
- 83 Relativity & Gravitational Theory
- 85 Astronomy & Astrophysics
- 86 Geophysics
- 90 Operations Research, Mathematical Programming
- 91 Game Theory, Economics, Social & Behavioral Sciences
- 92 Biology & Other Natural Sciences
- 93 Systems Theory; Control
- 94 Information & Communication, Circuits
- 97 Mathematics Education
Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest) (1966+) This link opens in a new window
abstracts of journals in mechanical & transportation engineering & complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management & marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics & dynamics and mathematics & computation.
Medical Letter (The Medical Letter) (1988+) This link opens in a new window
Critical appraisals of new drugs and comparative reviews of older drugs.
Provided by College of Medicine.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
MEDLINE (Ovid) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
Includes:
- MEDLINE (1946+)
- In-Process MEDLINE (& other non-indexed citations)
- Old MEDLINE (1946-1965)
"Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide."
"The Ovid MEDLINE ® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations database consists of In-Process and PubMed-not-MEDLINE records from NLM. The In-Process records are records that will be put into the Medline database after they have been enhanced with MeSH headings. PubMed-not-MEDLINE records are records from journals found in PubMed but not selected for MEDLINE. These records are constantly changing. PubMed-not-MEDLINE records will not be added to the Medline database. Ovid receives records from NLM on a daily basis, however we are dependent upon NLM's update schedule."
"Ovid OLDMEDLINE ® covers the international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences. The citations were originally printed in hard copy indexes published from 1946 through 1965."
MEDLINE (ProQuest) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
"MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations."
"MEDLINE on this service contains over 20 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine."
PubMed (MEDLINE) (1948+) This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

To authenticate for full-text off-campus, log in
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Publishers of journals can submit their citations to NCBI and then provide access to the full-text of articles at journal web sites using LinkOut."
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
The consumer health database from the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 800 diseases and conditions.
Medscape This link opens in a new window
"Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools. After a simple, 1-time, free registration, Medscape from WebMD automatically delivers to you a personalized specialty site that best fits your registration profile."
SPECIALTIES
Allergy & Immunology
Anesthesiology
Business of Medicine
Cardiology
Critical Care
Dermatology
Diabetes & Endocrinology
Emergency Medicine
Family Medicine
Gastroenterology
General Surgery
Hematology-Oncology
HIV/AIDS
Infectious Diseases
Internal Medicine
Multispecialty
Nephrology
Neurology
OB/GYN & Women's Health
Oncology
Ophthalmology
Orthopedics
Pathology & Lab Medicine
Pediatrics
Plastic Surgery
Psychiatry
Public Health
Pulmonary Medicine
Radiology
Rheumatology
Transplantation
Urology

Dental and Oral Health
Medical Students
Nurses
Pharmacists
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost) (1985+) This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print, produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Mergent Archives by FTSE Russell (1909-2013) This link opens in a new window
Company histories, business, properties, income statements, balance sheets, long-term debts, lines of credit
Corporate Manuals, 1909-2013
- Bank & Finance
- Industrial
- International
- OTC Industrial
- Public Utility
- Transportation
- OTC Unlisted
- Archives Supplement
- Archives Supplement International
Municipal Manuals, 1918-2013
Mergent InvestorEdge by FTSE Russell This link opens in a new window
Equity research reports, company documents and financial information, and industry reports with sector level analysis covering current environment, industry profiles, performance, market trends outlook. 5 Years of financial highlights and business summary information.
Company investment and financial information including annual, industry and equity reports as well as general contact information for each domestic and international company in the database
Mergent Online by FTSE Russell This link opens in a new window
NOTE: database will cease June 2025
Current business and industry financial information, including SEC filings, Executive Biographies, Ratios, and a rich report builder.
As of July 2017: also includes D&B Country RiskLine Reports, D&B Country Risk Profiles. and Mergent Country Profiles.
METADEX (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
the only comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.
indexing 1966+; abstracts 1979+
"METADEX contains over 1,425,000 references and is the database equivalent of Metals Abstracts, Metals Abstracts Index, and Alloys Index.
Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases."
Subject coverage:
- Steels
- Metals
- Alloys
- Compounds
- Metal matrix composites
- Nonferrous metals
- Processing
- Properties
- Testing
- Analysis
- Applications
- Microstructure
- Strength
- Refining
- Casting
- Coatings
- Heat treatment
- Corrosion
- Extracting and smelting
- Blast furnaces
- Machining
- Welding
- Environmental and safety issue
Middle and Junior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This Collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction books recommended for children and young adolescents (grades 5 through 9), along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists in library service to young people, listed books encompass a wide variety of topics for youth.
Middle Search Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags
Military & Government FullTEXT (EBSCOhost) (1975+) This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
All Minorities at Risk Project (AMAR) This link opens in a new window
"AMAR builds on MAR but uses a new set of selection criteria that is free from the selection issues known to plague other data on ethnic groups. These selection criteria are based on the concept of "socially relevant" ethnic groups, rather than groups that are "at risk", to identify an expanded list of 1,202 ethnic groups, more than 900 of which were not in the original MAR dataset. Based on this list, the project created a new database – the AMAR Phase I data – which is more representative of the universe of socially relevant ethnic groups."
"Minorities at Risk (MAR) tracks 284 politically-active ethnic groups throughout the world from 1945 to 2006, identifying where they are, what they do, and what happens to them. MAR focuses specifically on ethnopolitical groups, defined as non-state communal groups that have "political significance" in the contemporary world because of their status and political actions." The MAR project's last update was completed in February 2009 for the years 2004-2006. Information and data from MAR is available at:
- https://cidcm.umd.edu/research/mar
- http://www.mar.umd.edu/
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains full text market research reports covering U.S. and global consumer markets, with an emphasis on European and U.S. markets.
Each report analyzes market share, segmentation, and trends along with providing comprehensive demographic profiles and consumer patterns.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover publication details, contact information, submission requirements and editorial policies, subscription terms, electronic availability and advertising, and useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) (1926+) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Municipal Code Corporation This link opens in a new window
provides searchable regulations of over 2,000 local governments (including 50+ Florida counties and 250+ Florida cities) - most in AL, CA, CO, FL, GA, IL, LA, MI, MN, MO, NC, SC, TX, VA & WI
Other Local Government Codes & Ordinances
Music Index (EBSCOhost) (1976+) This link opens in a new window
Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present. Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. It covers more than 880 indexed and abstracted journals, more than 375 of which are peer-reviewed.

Databases - N

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) This link opens in a new window
"NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, and images and videos. The types of information include: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA."
- National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) (1915-1958)
- National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) (1958 to present)
- NASA Image eXchange (NIX) (1900 to present)
NASA Scope and Subject Category Guide
- Aeronautics: Includes aeronautics (general); aerodynamics; air transportation and safety; aircraft communications and navigation; aircraft design, testing and performance; avionics and aircraft instrumentation; aircraft propulsion and power; aircraft stability and control; and research and support facilities (air).
- Astronautics: Includes astronautics (general); astrodynamics; ground support systems and facilities (space); launch vehicles and launch operations; space transportation and safety; space communications, spacecraft communications, command, and tracking; spacecraft design, testing and performance; spacecraft instrumentation and astrionics; and spacecraft propulsion and power.
- Chemistry & Materials: Includes chemistry and materials (general); composite materials; inorganic, organic and physical chemistry; metals and metallic materials; nonmetallic materials; propellants and fuels; and space processing.
- Engineering: Includes engineering (general); communications and radar; electronics and electrical engineering; fluid mechanics and thermodynamics; instrumentation and photography; lasers and masers; mechanical engineering; quality assurance and reliability; and structural mechanics.
- Geosciences: Includes geosciences (general); earth resources and remote sensing; energy production and conversion; environment pollution; geophysics; meteorology and climatology; and oceanography.
- Life Sciences: Includes life sciences (general); aerospace medicine; behavioral sciences; man/system technology and life support; and exobiology.
- Mathematical & Computer Sciences: Includes mathematical and computer sciences (general); computer operations and hardware; computer programming and software; computer systems; cybernetics, artificial intelligence and robotics; numerical analysis; statistics and probability; systems analysis and operations research; and theoretical mathematics.
- Physics: Includes physics (general); acoustics; atomic and molecular physics; nuclear physics; optics; plasma physics; solid-state physics; and physics of elementary particles and fields.
- Social & Information Sciences: Includes social and information sciences (general); administration and management; documentation and information science; economics and cost analysis; law, political science, and space policy; and technology utilization and surface transportation.
- Space Sciences: Includes space sciences (general); astronomy; astrophysics; lunar and planetary science and exploration; solar physics; and space radiation.
- General: Includes aerospace related reports of a general or broad nature; histories, biographies, or overviews of aerospace programs.
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) This link opens in a new window
"acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research, processing as needed to promote effective research use, disseminates them to researchers, and facilitates their use"
"Publications: The Bibliography of Data-related Literature is a continuously-updated database of thousands of citations of works using data held in the ICPSR and NACDA archive. The works include journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine and newspaper articles, and audiovisual materials."
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) This link opens in a new window
"The mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data."
Publications - Online Bibliography of Data-related Literature: "contains over 37,000 citations of published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive. Publications include journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, and unpublished manuscripts."
National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers (1994+) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of the NBER's Working Papers back to 1994.
Browse papers by:
- Archive of Earlier Papers
- JEL Class
- NBER Program
- NBER Working Groups
- Recent Working Papers
JEL Class:
(A) General Economics and Teaching
(B) Methodology and History of Economics Thought
(C) Mathematical and Quantitative Methods
(D) Microeconomics
(E) Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics
(F) International Economics
(G) Financial Economics
(H) Public Economics
(I) Health, Education, and Welfare
(J) Labor and Demographic Economics
(K) Law and Economics
(L) Industrial Organization
(M) Business Administration and Business Economics; Marketing; Accounting
(N) Economic History
(O) Economic Development, Technological Change, and Growth
(P) Economic Systems
(Q) Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics
(R) Urban, Rural, and Regional Economics
(Z) Other Special Topics
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) This link opens in a new window
"the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) This link opens in a new window
the U.S. Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency
National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition & Language Instruction Educational Programs (NCELA) This link opens in a new window
collects, analyzes, synthesizes and disseminates information about language instruction education programs for English language learners and related programs.
As of July 2015, a new NCELA website is under construction.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (ProQuest) (1975+) This link opens in a new window
"The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of over 200,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research."
Subject coverage:
- Alternatives to incarceration
- Corrections
- Crime deterrence and prevention
- Criminal justice statistics
- Drug policy
- Juvenile justice
- Law enforcement
- Police training
- Probation and parole
- Victims of crime
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) (1970+) This link opens in a new window
an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.
Topics:
- Corrections
- Courts
- Crime
- Crime Prevention
- Drugs
- Justice System
- Juvenile Justice
- Law Enforcement
- Victims
National Guideline Clearinghouse This link opens in a new window
"Clinical practice guidelines are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options."
Classification Scheme:
- Clinical Specialty
- Disease/Condition
- Guideline Category
- Health Services Administration
- Implementation Tools
- Institute of Medicine (IOM) Care Need
- Institute of Medicine (IOM) Domain
- Intended Users
- Method of Guideline Validation
- Methods Used to Analyze the Evidence
- Methods Used to Assess the Quality and Strength of the Evidence
- Methods Used to Collect/Select the Evidence
- Methods Used to Formulate the Recommendations
- Organization Type
- Target Population
- Treatment/Intervention
National Trade Data Bank* (NTDB) in STAT-USA (U.S. Dept of Commerce)
STAT-USA was a single point of access to authoritative business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal Government which ceased in 2010. See a list of links to resources which were used for NTDB.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Information about herbs, supplements and other "natural" medicines.
Evidence-Based Monographs - "The core database contains the detailed, evidence-based monographs on individual natural ingredients (e.g., glucosamine, echinacea, etc). There are currently almost 1,100 monographs on these individual natural ingredients."
- Monograph Name, Also Known As, Scientific Names
- People Use This For
- Safety Rating
- Effectiveness Rating
- Mechanism of Action
- Adverse Reactions
- Interactions
- Drug Influences on Nutrient Levels & Depletion
- Dosage & Administration
Brand Name Products - "This Database contains information for over 90,000 brand name products. For each brand name product, the Database provides an ingredient listing. Each ingredient then links directly to the evidence-based ingredient monograph that provides detailed information on safety, effectiveness, interactions, dosing, and other practical information."
USP Verified Brands - "The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) verifies brand name products that meet rigorous quality standards."
Clinically Studied Brands - "The Database provides an Editor’s Comment and Effectiveness Rating for each commercial brand name product that has been studied in a clinical trial."
Canadian Licensed Natural Health Products - "In 2004, Canada began regulating natural medicines as a category of products separate from foods or drugs. These products are officially recognized as Natural Health Products. These products include vitamins, minerals, herbal preparations, homeopathic products, probiotics, fatty acids, amino acids, and other naturally derived supplements."
Herbal Fixed Combination Products - "Traditional Chinese medicines and Ayurvedic medicines often come in a “fixed combination” of herbal ingredients. The combinations represent standard herbal formulations with specific, unique names."
Nature Journals (Springer-Nature) This link opens in a new window
NPG publishes journals and online databases across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine.
NetAdvantage (S&P) This link opens in a new window
Database for searching information on stocks, companies, industries and mutual funds. Access to nine of the most popular S&P publications including Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, and The Outlook.
Neurosciences Abstracts (ProQuest) (1982+) This link opens in a new window
neurobiology, motor & sensory systems, memory, Alzheimer's disease - journal articles
"This database enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other medical specialties. The database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's."
New World Cinema: Independent Features & Shorts (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
"approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and the Global Films Initiative, along with approximately fifty award-winning shorts"
New York Times (1980+) This link opens in a new window
Full text from June 1, 1980 through current.
See also:
- New York Times, Historical (1851+)
- New York Times (ProQuest) (1980+)
New York Times (ProQuest) (1980+) This link opens in a new window
The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
See also:
- New York Times, Historical (1851+)
New York Times, Historical (ProQuest) (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Complete text and images of the New York Times.
See also:
- New York Times (ProQuest) (1980+)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
- Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange
- British Politics & Society
- British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture
- Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization & Conquest
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
- Photography: The World through the Lens
- Science, Technology & Medicine, 1780-1925
- Women: Transnational Networks
Theatre in Context Collection (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. "O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources included in the Theatre in Context Collection. Placed alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, users will be able to paint a more comprehensive picture of the life and evolution of dramatic works."
Includes full-text plays from:
- Black Drama
- Twentieth Century North American Drama
- Asian American Drama
- North American Women's Drama
- Latino Drama
Norwegian Initiative on Small Arms Transfer (NISAT) This link opens in a new window
-Small Arms Trade Database -- "the world's only on-line global database of small arms transfers. It contains over one million records detailing transfers between some 250 states and territories over the period 1962-2011."
-Due to a lack of funding, the NISAT database isn't being maintained as of October 2017.
NSCEP (National Service Center for Environmental Publications) This link opens in a new window
provides access to thousands of full-text, online EPA publications.
Nucleic Acids Abstracts (ProQuest) (1982+) This link opens in a new window
"Readers will find detailed perspectives on innovative cloning and sequencing strategies"
Nursing Education in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
"Nursing Education in Video is an up-to-date collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. This resource provides access to Medcom's complete collection of 300+ full-length training videos..."

This collection has been upgraded to the 3rd edition and now has over 400 videos.

Icon Key

	included in OneSearch results
	partially included in OneSearch results
no dot	not included in OneSearch results

	More information about OneSearch