Remote Login
Icon Key
 |
included in OneSearch results |
 |
partially included in OneSearch results |
| no dot | not included in OneSearch results |
| More information about OneSearch |
Best Databases for Biology
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new windowCovers all major areas in the life sciences, with broad coverage in molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) (1946+) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment."
Botany
- AGRICOLA (ProQuest) (1970+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Since 1985, the CAB Thesaurus has been used to select controlled vocabulary terms for subject indexing. Library of Congress Subject Headings are used as controlled vocabulary for cataloging records. - AGRICOLA (USDA) (1970+) This link opens in a new windowCovers every major agricultural subject, providing accessible agricultural information and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.
Entomology
- Entomology Abstracts (ProQuest) (1981+) This link opens in a new windowFrom the most ancient fossilized forms to newly-discovered species, Entomology Abstracts gathers and summarizes all the latest information on millions of insects and insect-like species, for truly global coverage of the field.
- Florida Entomologist (FCLA) (1917+) This link opens in a new windowthe first long-published, refereed, natural science journal on the Internet.
- FORMIS Ant Bibliography (FCLA) (1533+) This link opens in a new windowa composite of several ant literature databases. It contains citations for a large fraction of the world's ant literature (over 50,000 references).
Other Databases for Biology
- Algology Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) (ProQuest) (1982+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal separates out all the relevant studies in the literature and organizes them in one source for easy reference. - Annual Reviews (1932+) This link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in more than 45 focused disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.
- Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) (ProQuest) (1982+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
covers topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the journal provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. - Biochemistry Abstracts 1 (ProQuest) (1981-1993) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology. - Biochemistry Abstracts 3 (ProQuest) (1982-1993) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology. - Biology Digest* (CSA) (1989+)[subscription dropped]
A compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences.
See also Biological Sciences (ProQuest) - BioOne (2000+) This link opens in a new windowFull-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector.
- Biotechnology Research Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
For user help, see the ProQuest Science & Technology Training Materials guide and the ProQuest Biological Science Collection guide. - Endocrinology Abstracts (ProQuest) (1985-1986) This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
- Industrial & Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) (ProQuest) (1982+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries are assembled in this journal,an indispensable resource for research laboratories and academic libraries. - MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+) This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to the full text of over 4,000 Oxford monographs in Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, and Social Work
- Science Direct (1997+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier. - Virology and AIDS Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the world literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants is featured, with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology.
- Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window-Now linking to Wiley Online Homepage. For Publications, click link for Journals, Reference Works, or Online Books below search box
-Full text of Wiley's scholarly journals and many eBooks covering a variety of disciplines.
-See also Wiley-IEEE eBooks
19th & Early 20th Century Scientific Literature
- Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900 (Royal Society of London) This link opens in a new windowCall Number: General Collection Z 7403 .R8813
An index by subject and author to scientific papers contained in the transactions of societies, journals and other periodical works.
Digitized copy of some volumes available in HathiTrust -- UCF Users log in after retrieval for enhanced access.
See also Science, Technology, & Medicine: 1780-1925 (Nineteenth Century Collections Online) which includes some full text periodicals from this Catalogue. - International Catalogue of Scientific Literature (1901-1914) This link opens in a new windowCall Number: General Collection Z 7401 .I622
Digitized copy of some volumes available in HathiTrust -- UCF Users log in after retrieval for enhanced access.
- World List of Scientific Periodicals Published in the Years 1900-1960Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .W923
- World List of Scientific Periodicals: Scientific, Medical & Technical Entries from the British Union-Catalogue of Periodicals: New Periodical Titles (1960-1978)Call Number: General Collection Z 7403 .W923 Suppl.
- Bibliography of American Natural History: The Pioneer Century, 1769-1865Call Number: General Collection Z 7408 .U5 M52"The role played by the scientific societies; scientific journals; natural history museums & botanical gardens; state geological & natural history surveys; federal exploring expeditions in the rise & progress of American botany, geology, mineralogy, paleontology & zoology"