UCF Research Guides: Databases: Political Science

Remote Login

Two ways to login for off-campus access

>>> EZproxy login using your NID <<<

Log-in with Library ID
Library ID Number:
Password: Last 4 digits of your UCFID.
EZProxy Login Help Library ID Help Regional Campus Help

Best Databases for Political Science

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online (1991+) This link opens in a new window
Theory & research in international affairs, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) (1915+) This link opens in a new window
contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, & more.
The print index provides coverage for 1915-1974 - Main Library Reference H1.P8
"PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate."
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
"access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies."
ProQuest Congressional (1789+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
access to vast and varied information published by and about Congress, including full text of almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.
formerly called "LexisNexis Congressional"
Contents include:
- Legislative Histories, 1969+
- Bills & Laws, 1987+
- Committee Prints & Misc. Publications, 1789+
- Congressional Record & Predecessors, 1789+
- CRS Reports, 1916+
- Hearings, 1824+
- House & Senate Documents, 1789+
- House & Senate Reports, 1789+
- Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1939
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) (1975+) This link opens in a new window
provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Security Studies Databases

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Classified government document collections consisting of over 94,000 documents covering critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century
Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990
Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962
Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998
CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
CIA Family Jewels Indexed [free index]
Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection of Documents, From the Bay of Pigs to the Brink of Nuclear War
Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977–1992
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000)
U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989
U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991
U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968
U.S. Nuclear Non-Proliferation Policy, 1945–1991
U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968
U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975
Military & Government FullTEXT (EBSCOhost) (1975+) This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) (1980+) This link opens in a new window
A periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.
over 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals, including the following full-text, peer-reviewed journals:
Air Force Journal of Logistics
Air Force Law Review
Arab Studies Quarterly (ASQ)
Armed Forces & Society: An Interdisciplinary Journal
Biosecurity & Bioterrorism: Biodefense Strategy, Practice, & Science
Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists
Canadian-American Public Policy
Civil War History
Denver Journal of International Law & Policy
Ethics & International Affairs
Foreign Affairs
Foreign Policy
Harvard International Review
International Journal of Politics & Ethics
International Journal on World Peace
Israel Studies
Journal for the Study of Antisemitism
Journal of Homeland Security Education
Journal of International Affairs
Middle East Policy
Military Thought
Minerva: Quarterly Report on Women & the Military
Multinational Monitor
Naval War College Review
Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal
Perspectives on Political Science
Political Science Quarterly
Social Justice
Spectrum: the Journal of State Government
State Crime Journal
Urban History Review
U.S. Army Medical Department Journal
War, Literature & the Arts
White House Studies
World Affairs
World Policy Journal
-------------------------------
and various reports from the Strategic Studies Institute, including:
The 2006 Lebanon Campaign & the Future of Warfare: Implications for Army & Defense Policy
Accessing Talent: The Foundation of a U.S. Army Officer Corps Strategy
Affairs of State: The Interagency & National Security
The American Military Advisor: Dealing with Senior Foreign Officials in the Islamic World
Baloch Nationalism & the Geopolitics of Energy Resources: The Changing Context of Separatism in Pakistan
Dealing with Political Ferment in Latin America
Jordanian National Security & the Future of Middle East Stability
Short of a General War: Perspectives on the Use of Military Power in the 21st Century
World News Connection* (1990+)
World News Connection has ceased.

Access to some non-current content is available on microfiche and CD-ROMs in the UCF Library Government Documents area.

Other Databases for Political Science

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
Alternative Press Index (EBSCOhost) (1991+) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Print version - Reference AI 3.A27 (1969+)
American History in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries."
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core provides access to journals and eBooks on a broad range of subjects. The Cambridge University Press currently publishes over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market. Here are details about the Libraries' newly expanded collection of Cambridge eBooks
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (1637+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses."
For abstracts from 1938-1980 see the print volumes of Dissertation Abstracts International
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content."
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Multi-ethnic
- Native People
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of research journals and eBooks from numerous publishers. For most of the journal content, we can access all but the 3 to 5 most recent years of the journal.
Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides some full text & indexes all types of statistical publications:
- American Statistics Index (ASI) (1974+)
- Statistical Reference Index (SRI) (1980+)
- Index to International Statistics (IIS) (1983+)
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon Sage’s legacy of methods publishing, Sage Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.Full text of book, journal, and reference content to aid as students research design methodologies, understand and select methods, conduct research, and write findings.
Includes tools such as:
- Project Planner: find step-by-step guidance to complete your research project
- Which Stats Test: answer questions to see which statistical method is best for your data
includes the complete series of:
- Little Green Books -- Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences
- Little Blue Books -- Qualitative Research Methods
Social Sciences & Humanities (SAGE Journals) This link opens in a new window
Browse journals by discipline: Anthropology & Archaeology; Communication & Media Studies; Criminology & Criminal Justice; Cultural Studies; Economics & Development; Education; Ethnic Studies; Family Studies; Gender Studies; Geography; Gerontology & Aging; Group Studies; History; Information Science; Interpersonal Violence; Language & Linguistics; Law; Management & Organization Studies; Marketing & Hospitality; Peace Studies & Conflict Resolution; Philosophy; Politics & International Relations; Psychoanalysis; Psychology & Counseling; Public Administration; Regional Studies; Research Methods & Evaluation; Science & Society Studies; Social Work & Social Policy; Sociology; Special Education; Theology & Biblical Studies; Urban Studies & Planning
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (1965+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.
Taylor & Francis Journals (T&F) This link opens in a new window
a one-stop site hosting international journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge
You can search and browse the journals and reference works on Taylor & Francis Online for free. Use advanced search to restrict to "Only content I have full access to" unless you want to request articles through Interlibrary Loan since UCF's subscription only includes some journals, one reference work, and none of the abstract databases.
Journal subject coverage includes:
- Area Studies
- Arts
- Behavioral Sciences (includes Archive Collection)
- Bioscience
- Built Environment
- Communication Studies
- Computer Science (includes Archive Collection)
- Development Studies
- Earth Sciences
- Economics, Finance, Business & Industry
- Education (includes Archive Collection)
- Engineering & Technology (includes Archive Collection)
- Environment & Agriculture
- Environment & Sustainability
- Food Science & Technology
- Geography
- Health & Social Care
- Humanities
- Information Science
- Language & Literature
- Law
- Mathematics & Statistics
- Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing & Allied Health
- Museum & Heritage Studies
- Physical Sciences (includes Chemistry Archive Collection)
- Politics & International Relations
- Social Sciences
- Sports & Leisure
- Tourism, Hospitality & Events
- Urban Studies
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (NewsBank/Readex) (1817-1980) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, constituting a rich source of primary material on all aspects of American history.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (ProQuest) (1789-2003) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, constituting a rich source of primary material on all aspects of American history.
World Development Indicators (World Bank) (1960+) This link opens in a new window
"provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960."

eBook Databases

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
complete texts of the prestigious Oxford Handbooks in Business and Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over 4,000 Oxford monographs in Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, and Social Work