Databases: E-F

Canceled due to Budget Cuts. Consider using American Periodical Series Online or contact Ask a Librarian for assistance.

Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Available on the ProQuest platform. The Chadwyck Healey platform is no longer available.

provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation.

combined searching of:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
-Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) now accessible at the University of York Centre for Reviews and Dissemination

Full text ebooks covering specific areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy.

A collection of ebooks in full text, including both current and classic works.
For many of the eBooks in this collection only one person can view the book at a time

EBSCOhost is the platform for over 50 databases offering specialized subject coverage and search features, full text of books and articles, images, and video.

ECO is provided by the Florida Electronic Library service. You will need a library card from a Florida public library to access this database outside of Florida.

ECO provides full text for over 1,250 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.

Current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction.

EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.

Source for peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning

"The following characteristics for people contain educational attainment and years in school as cross tabulations in many of the tables:"

- Disability Characteristics
- Health Insurance Statistics
- Income
- Labor Force Statistics
- Population Profile: 1995 (includes updated data)
- Poverty
- 65+ in the United States
- Census Questionnaire Content, 1990 (responses to various questions)
- Statistical Abstracts
- Statistical Briefs
- We the Americans Series

“This database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.”
See also Education Index Retrospective (1929-1983)

Online access to all books, periodicals and online databases published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD) in the area of education. It includes the annual Education at a Glance and its related database, all of the PISA reports, the new TALIS reports, the journal Higher Education Management and Policy, and approximately 15 other new reports on education each year.
YouTube Tutorials

"includes hundreds of in-classroom videos on key teaching topics and themes from the most respected education publishers worldwide."

"Data are tabulated for people 15 years old and over. People are classified according to the highest level of school completed or the highest degree received."

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is a vast eighteenth-century library at your desktop—a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800. It currently contains over 180,000 titles amounting to over 32 million fully-searchable pages.*

ECCO is a digitization of the eighteenth-century section of the works catalogued in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC). The ESTC project has been recording all works published or printed in Britain, Ireland, territories under British colonial rule, and the United States. It also catalogues material printed elsewhere which contains significant text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic, as well as any book falsely claiming to have been printed in Britain or its territories.

OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide
NOTE: Full text access is only available at UCF to the specific titles included in UCF subscriptions.

tracks every relevant source of information necessary to keep abreast of this complex, highly competitive discipline.

See Science Direct. Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier.

Online journals and eBooks from Emerald which publishes in a broad range of disciplines.

UCF IT has reactivated the software license for EndNote, the reference management tool, for all UCF students, faculty and staff to use free of charge. EndNote is a valuable resource that propels UCF to reach its goal as a top research institution.

If you previously had EndNote installed and activated on your computer, you may access it as before. If you have not yet installed EndNote, submit this Service Now form for assistance with downloading the most current version.

If you need help with a previously downloaded version or need an administrator to help with a UCF-managed device, submit this request form

************************************************************************
For more citation management options, see our blog post or our EndNote guide

This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

The growing importance of polymers, ceramics, and composites in a variety of structural and other advanced applications requires the in-depth coverage provided by Engineered Materials Abstracts.

Information about materials printed in England and its dependencies, mainly, but not exclusively, in English

From the most ancient fossilized forms to newly-discovered species, Entomology Abstracts gathers and summarizes all the latest information on millions of insects and insect-like species, for truly global coverage of the field.

covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.

Provides detailed abstracts of environmental impact statements. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates.

Ergonomics Abstracts is a comprehensive and international database, spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. Due to the changing frames of reference in modern scientific research and application, the database is a source of information on ergonomics, but also on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, human-computer interaction, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport, and transport. Ergonomics Abstracts includes articles from over 400 leading journals plus book chapters and conference proceedings, covering more than 25 years of ergonomics research.

ERIC is available from several database vendors, including EBSCOhost and ProQuest. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

an alternative library subscription to the ERIC database via EBSCOhost.

a carefully selected list of education-related words and phrases assigned to ERIC records to organize them by subject and make them easier to retrieve through a search.

Essay and General Literature Index, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, is a unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications.
See also Essay & General Literature Index Retrospective (1900-1984)

*Full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published in the 20th century.
*Use "by type of work" limiter to find essays and essay collections.

an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

"brings together a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography"

An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 7,151 known living languages, with a large bibliography of language-related books and articles.
Free version provides limited access

Search library of over 20,000 tests & other measuring devices from the early 1990s to the present.

- American Broadsides & Ephemera, Series I
- American Civil War Collection 1860-1922
- American Pamphlets, Series I, 1820-1922
- American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement, 1670-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement, 1801-1819

"includes scientific and technical reports, natural history writings, educational and interpretive materials, datasets, maps, photos, and a directory of other Internet sites relating to the greater Everglades."

database of medical journals from Wolters Kluwer via Ovid interface.
See Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals and full-text for more than 2,800. Covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences plus vocational/technical titles.

Drug information and references. Also includes clinical calculators, warnings, codes & indexes, and medication guides.

Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government

the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages

Film & Television Literature Index™ with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

"provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more."

cross-search up to three databases:

- by agency
- by city or county
- by school, community college or university
- by subject
- by employee
- by phone number
"Should you need additional assistance finding state information, please call the State Information Center at 1-866-693-6748 or locally at 850-488-1234."

Indexes the University of Florida student newspaper from 1984-1991.

LAKEWATCH is now one of the largest lake monitoring programs in the nation with over 1800 trained citizens monitoring 600+ lakes.

By Florida law, campaigns and committees are required to disclose detailed financial records of campaign contributions and expenditures. Campaign documents include qualifying documents, correspondence, audits and Florida Elections Commission activity on file with the Division of Elections.

provides financial information about charitable organizations registered with the Division of Consumer Services, Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Use Florida public health statistics and community health data to track the health status of your community!

provides links to QuickFacts tables with summary profiles showing frequently requested data items about each county. Includes summary profiles for cities, towns & places through a list below the map.

Identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The UCF Libraries are likely to have the same publications.

Databases purchased by the State of Florida for public libraries. *Public library ID to access the databases from this link.* Most of the databases are available to the UCF community on the UCF Libraries database pages.

the first long-published, refereed, natural science journal on the Internet.

"contains both digital full text materials and research bibliographies about the ecology and environment of Florida."

"over 350 current and historic GIS layers in the FGDL, from over 35 local, state, federal, and private agencies. FGDL includes data on Land Use/ Land Cover, Hydrography, Soils, Transportation, Boundaries, Environmental Quality, Conservation, Census, and more. FGDL contains primarily vector GIS data layers."

Letters, business records, maps, photographs, and other materials that are unique and important for historical research.

provides labor market information, economic, & demographic data for the state.

Indexing is limited to Jacksonville and other Northeast Florida regional news.

Educational films viewable online.
Faculty: Contact your subject librarian to verify duration of availability for use with courses.

"The nation's only free, nonpartisan, verifiable archive of contributions to political campaigns in all 50 states."

Subscription canceled. Use Worldwide Political Science Abstracts or contact Ask a Librarian for assistance.

a composite of several ant literature databases. It contains citations for a large fraction of the world's ant literature (over 50,000 references).

FRANCIS is produced by Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS). The database indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, reports and conferences related to humanities and social sciences topics. FRANCIS content spans 1972-2015.

The PASCAL database shares space with FRANCIS. PASCAL contains indexing for science, technology, and medicine, especially European content. The content in PASCAL is from 1984 to 2015.

Neither FRANCIS nor PASCAL is being updated with new content.

- title
- author
- keyword(s)
- source(s)
- subject
- report no.
- topic area

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.