UCF Research Guides: Databases: Nursing

Related Health Databases

Remote Login

Two ways to login for off-campus access

>>> EZproxy login using your NID <<<

Log-in with Library ID
Library ID Number:
Password: Last 4 digits of your UCFID.
EZProxy Login Help Library ID Help Regional Campus Help

Best Databases for Nursing

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) (1937+)
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Indexes nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1946+)
"provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals."
Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
Nursing Education in Video (Alexander Street)
"Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS."

This collection has been upgraded to the 2nd edition and now has over 400 videos.

Other Databases for Nursing

AgeLine* (AARP)
No longer freely available. Detailed summaries of more than 90,000 publications about aging and the 50+ population. See also the AgeLine Thesaurus.
See also Abstracts in Social Gerontology
- Indexes journal content related to social, psychological, health-related, and economic aspects of aging.
- Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons. Abstracts, 1978+ with selected coverage back to 1966.
- Indexes the SCAN Microfiche Collection (1966-1982) in UCF Government Documents, which provides approximately 4,000 microfiche documents distributed by the U.S. Administration on Aging in the late 1970s and early 1980s.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley)
"contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare"
"Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually."
EBM Reviews* (EBSCOhost) (1991+) [not available]
combined searching of:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
-Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) now accessible at the University of York Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
Previously on Ovid and included ACP Journal Club. ACP Journal Club is available in 'Academic Search Premier'.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCOhost) (1985+)
Information about behavioral measurement instruments (such as questionnaires, interview schedules, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, and tests) gathered from hundreds of journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Health and Wellness (Gale) (1980+)
Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Health Sciences (SAGE Journals)
Browse journals by discipline: Allied Health; Cardiology & Cardiovascular Medicine; Dentistry; Emergency Medicine & Critical Care; Endocrinology & Metabolism; General Medicine; Geriatrics; Medico-legal; Neurology; Nursing; Nutrition; Oncology; Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine; Otolaryngology; Palliative Medicine & Chronic Care; Pediatrics; Pharmacology & Toxicology; Psychiatry & Psychology; Public Health; Pulmonary & Respiratory Medicine; Radiology; Research Methods & Evaluation; Surgery; Veterinary Medicine
Health Source: Nursing/Academic & Consumer Editions (EBSCOhost) (1984+)
Provides full text for nearly 540 scholarly health journals, and over 190 consumer journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 700 health-related journals and magazines.
Health Technology Assessments (HTA)
This database is available from the CRD database website."
Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. "The HTA database is produced by the NIHR Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK.
Medscape
"Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools. After a simple, 1-time, free registration, Medscape from WebMD automatically delivers to you a personalized specialty site that best fits your registration profile."
SPECIALTIES
Allergy & Immunology
Anesthesiology
Business of Medicine
Cardiology
Critical Care
Dermatology
Diabetes & Endocrinology
Emergency Medicine
Family Medicine
Gastroenterology
General Surgery
Hematology-Oncology
HIV/AIDS
Infectious Diseases
Internal Medicine
Multispecialty
Nephrology
Neurology
OB/GYN & Women's Health
Oncology
Ophthalmology
Orthopedics
Pathology & Lab Medicine
Pediatrics
Plastic Surgery
Psychiatry
Public Health
Pulmonary Medicine
Radiology
Rheumatology
Transplantation
Urology

Dental and Oral Health
Medical Students
Nurses
Pharmacists
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
the U.S. Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency
National Guideline Clearinghouse
"Clinical practice guidelines are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options."
Classification Scheme:
- Clinical Specialty
- Disease/Condition
- Guideline Category
- Health Services Administration
- Implementation Tools
- Institute of Medicine (IOM) Care Need
- Institute of Medicine (IOM) Domain
- Intended Users
- Method of Guideline Validation
- Methods Used to Analyze the Evidence
- Methods Used to Assess the Quality and Strength of the Evidence
- Methods Used to Collect/Select the Evidence
- Methods Used to Formulate the Recommendations
- Organization Type
- Target Population
- Treatment/Intervention
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+)
American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
"contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
PubMed (MEDLINE) (1948+)
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

To authenticate for full-text off-campus, log in
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Publishers of journals can submit their citations to NCBI and then provide access to the full-text of articles at journal web sites using LinkOut."
Thieme MedOne Education
Online access to the Flexibook Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)